We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Great!!!”

Rising Tide Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
“Great Great Great!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am a local and I have heard allot about this restaurant. I didn't think it could live up to the hype, but let me tell you it did! Great fresh lobsters and steamers for myself, my wife got a 1/2 and 1/2 plate with shrimp and scallops that was absolutely delicious and not to mention huge she took allot home with her ( which was great for me). I could go on and on the prices are great and the location is second to none. I will certainly make this place a stop for the rest of my summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    70
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Another Lobster Place”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate at the Rising Tide on 5/31/13. We were told that this restaurant had some good reviews did not realize it was #1 on trip advisor until after we ate. They were understaffed that night. The staff was great even as they were working double tables. The food left something to be desired. My wife’s scallops were overcooked and her clam strips undercooked. You could still taste wet batter in them. My Maine shrimp was so over cooked it was dry. By the way they only fry the seafood. People rave about the lobster. Just about anyone can cook a lobster and melt butter. If you want good seafood go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmocjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh Lobster, Butter and a Bottle of Wine”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This cozy cottage is the best place to eat lobster.

The decor is no-frills: "things that one might use while catching lobster".
The service is speedy and great.
The specials are on a whiteboard and the prices are amazingly low.

Oilclothed tables and large windows overlook the boats bobbing the lobster strewn waters.

Many couples sit romantically next to eachother so they can watch the sunset together and avoid direct eye contact during the buttery carnage.

We had 3 lobsters between the two of us and a great chilled bottle of Sauvignon Blanc.

Huge Value!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obaminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best keep secret”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Do not spread it to much lol

Great food and inexpensive

A real lobster shack don not expect nothing fancy

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank French155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster at a good price”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a super little restaurant on the coast and not only is the lobster really good, but you do not get ripped off with the cost.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Tide Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rising Tide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing