We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Map is wrong - fantastic place”

Pine Tree Seafood and Produce
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Map is wrong - fantastic place”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great assortment of local foods. Best lobster roll I've ever had. Reasonable prices, too. Cheap, even.

Be aware as of sept 29 2013 this place is on google maps wrong. It is about 5 miles south of the mapped location. Just south of pine point road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Vonalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at Pine Tree Seafood and Produce, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your review...we're thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Your review must have set off alarms over at GoogleMaps...after over a year of trying, our store is finally located correctly just south of Dunstan Corner at 655 US Route 1 in Scarborough. Woo hoo!!! We owe you a free lobster roll on your next visit!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our last night in Scarborough we planned a steak and lobster dinner. We went to the Pine Tree and had them steam lobster for us. We picked them live and fresh out of the tank and they did the rest. Jim the owner was very knowledgeable and told us how he went about procuring the freshest seafood and produce. We left with our steamed lobster, took it back to our campers and had a super meal. The whoopee pies for desert were delicious as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank 9059842504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
260 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“dellllicious food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were traveling on Rte 1 and thought we'd check this place out. The place is more like a gourmet country store than restaurant. It has a variety of Fresh fish, frozen prepared foods (ie clam cakes), and yummy desserts--pies, whoopee pies,--All the prepared homemade and delicious. Definitely worth a side trip on Rte 1 to check out this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Argusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beats the "Best"”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lobster roll! After reading the reviews here on tripadvisor we had to check this place out. But first we had to go to the Clamshack in Kennebunk (or Kennebunkport, I forget which side of the bridge it was on), as it boasts numerous awards in magazine and TV cooking shows, including "best lobster roll in America's Clamshacks". It was very good (see my separate review) but this place beats it hands down. A much larger serving of lobster for $5 cheaper. And the owner could not have been more friendly or conversant. It takes about 10 minutes to put it together (they even trim the edges of the roll so it toasts better) but that allows plenty of time to peruse the very interesting shop.

As noted this is a small grocery store, not a restaurant, but there are picnic tables outside to eat on, which suffice. It's not located in the middle of a tourist trap like the Clamshack, but rather right in your face on Rt. 1 in Scarborough.

I expect in time this will become THE place to get a lobster roll in Maine, at a reasonable price, and maybe pick up some other odds and ends while you wait.

Definitely worth the stop, which we did on our last day on the way home.

It made the ride much more enjoyable, and we'll be back again next year (my dining partner has proclaimed this as the "best lobster roll she's ever eaten", and I concur (sorry Clamshack).

Thanks to all of the tripadvisors for their spot on reviews. Would never have tried this place without you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll in the state”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you've never been to Maine and were picking where to go for a lobster roll strictly from reviews on tripadvisor, you'd probably head to Red's Eats in Wiscasset. I'm not going to bite the hand that feeds the great state of Maine (people from 'away' are always welcome - if they come with stuffed wallets and leave by Labor Day), so I'll try to be nice and won't use words like "clueless" and "ignorant".

I'll put it this way: You can either line up with the tourists at Red's or follow the locals to Pine Tree Seafood and get THE BEST lobster roll around from The Coach and the rest of the crew.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Tree Seafood and Produce also viewed

 

Been to Pine Tree Seafood and Produce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing