We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Black Point Inn -- A Special Place With Special Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Point Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Point Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Black Point Inn -- A Special Place With Special Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

We, a family of five with three boys (ages 6, 8 and 1/2, and 12), have just returned from a 12-day stay at the Black Point Inn. All five of us had a fabulous time. The Black Point Inn has many, many attributes.

Foremost among them is its excellent management and efficient operation. John Maibach, the General Manager of the Black Point Inn, represents the best in hotel management, offering both genuine hospitality and a resort that runs flawlessly.

Mr. Maibach and the Black Point Inn have recruited a staff that is as pleasant as it is efficient. From reservations to the front desk and from the concierge to the elegant dining room, guests are greeted with a smile and served with expertise and enthusiasm. And to this guest's taste, the menu and servings were excellent, offering delectable Mained lobster and seafood as well as a variety of turf alternatives on a nightly basis. And the blueberry pie is just awesome.

The view and location of the Inn are fabulous. The Inn sits atop Black Point on Prouts Neck, offering stunning ocean views and a Cliff Walk that attracts artists and butterflies in equal numbers. Our boys swam in the ocean, built elaborate sand castles, played baseball and kickball endlessly on the Inn's fields, and rode the Inn's bicycles on nearby quiet roads (speed limit is 25 mph, and enforced!). We lunched poolside, ordering from a delightful casual menu, and enjoyed more formal dinners in the old tradition. At the Black Point Inn, evening dining is an event to be savored, not a task to be achieved on "short order."

The Black Point Inn is a special place, maintains and presents itself as a special place, offers a special resort experience, and delivers very special hospitality. Never stuffy, always friendly, smiling, and efficient. And special in a timeless way. Stay there and be glad you did!

Helpful?
8 Thank WAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    45
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
48
87
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed at the Inn for four nights in July. It was very easy to get to / from Portland airport; it took about thirty minutes. It is an old rambling inn located on the water. The views and the sunsets are wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottages - room 434. It contained a large livingroom with a large bedroom and a bath. We had a deck to watch the water and sunsets. As several have commented, the furniture has seen better days, but the bed was comfortable and the place was spotless. The breakfasts were plentiful and the dinner was the best of any we ate during our stay. The clam chowder was to die for. I understand the place is undergoing a total renovation when it closes at the end of this year. The inn will return to its original size. The cottages will be torn down and the rooms actually located inside the inn will undergo a makeover. I'm glad I got to see it before the cottages are torn down. As for dinner, every man who was in the dining room, had a jacket on. We were told you could not enter without one, and quite frankly, it was enjoyable to eat with everyone dressed for dinner. As for the two men who were told to leave because they were not wearing jackets, they happened to be the governors of Maine and I believe Connecticut. The country club is next to the inn and you are allowed to utilize its facilities. We didn't do so but did use its private beach. Our room had two tvs, a CD player, rocking chairs on the deck, and towel changes two times per day. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Close by are several dining establishments recommended by tripadvisor members. The clam shack at two lights is ten minutes away. LL Beans was about thirty minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lippincottfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2006

We have just returned from a 4 day luxury link stay. Prior to bidding on this property we had reviewed trip advisor and comments were either positive or negative. The location of the Inn was the deciding factor and went ahead and bid on the hotel which included Ocean View Suite and MAP.

The Grand old hotel is getting very tired and radiates snob appeal and that Old Country Club mentality. Hopefully if the new owners are successful in getting municipal approval they will be making major changes at the Inn. Not sure if they will change the Old Country Club mentality though as their claim to fame is not allowing two high powered elected officials to eat in the dining room without jackets after 6:00. We belong to a Country Club that has had to change with the times especially to keep and attract the next generation.

Service is an issue especially at Dinner. Two out of four meals served in the dining room were understaffed. The food itself is plentiful, well cooked and tastefully presented. The Lobster tempura and crab cakes were well done. The tasty calamari salad was absolutely huge, and really could be halved.

The Ocean View Suite consisted of two rooms with a small balcony. The views of the ocean from the balcony were outstanding but then you had to return to the drab interiors. The rooms furnishings and bathrooms need major updates stains are evident on the chairs and sofa and storage almost non existent in the bathrooms. The rooms compare to a two star hotel. The hotel staff working with what they had kept the rooms clean in a very timely manner.

The front desk staff were attentive to our needs and the bell boys charming.

Would we return, if the inn was within a two hour drive maybe......for dinner, but unless they make major changes to the rooms I think we'll pass especially at the current prices.

Helpful?
8 Thank calexand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

The man who runs this place should find a new Job.....Good staff poor leadership.......

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

My husband and I recently attended a wedding at this beautiful New England Inn and had a terrific time. We arrived early evening on Friday and the young lady at the front desk was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Our bags were delivered to our room before we even got upstairs and the room was very simple, very nice, very clean with exceptional views of the Ocean. The location of this hotel is exceptional. My husband and I kept saying we couldn't understand why we had never heard of it before. Friday night we got something to eat in the lounge and enjoyed the spectacular views, a pleasant "hotel lounge" atmosphere and friendly service. The food was simple but just right for a late night
bite to eat.
The next day we woke and called for room service.They answered promptly and it took about a half an hour to get our breakfast but it was hot and delivered with a smile.
We left and took a trip to Portland which is not even a half hour away and has great places to shop and brouse. A lot of the shops have local artisans represented. We bought some interesting pottery at reasonable prices.
Saturday night we attended the wedding reception which was hosted in one of their private rooms and the lounge where we had eaten the night before. Fire places were keeping us warm as a pianist played at a beautiful grand piano. The food and service during the cocktail hour was exceptional and there was a LOT of it. We then went into another huge room that I hadn't even realized was there!! It was beautifully decorated, and the view was again, superb!! The meal was excellent (which is rare at weddings) and the service was very good for such a young crew. Everyone enjoyed themselves. It was one of the nicest weddings we have had the pleasure to attend.
Sunday morning we had a breakfast buffet in their Dining Room which is a beautiful room with another fantastic view of the ocean.
Check out was relatively smooth considering the large group of people checking out all at once. Admist all of that activity the Front desk personelle were friendly and efficient.
Over all this was a fantastic weekend away. My husband and I plan to visit the Black Point Inn again and again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tripwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
9.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
8.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inn By the Sea
Inn By the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Point Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Point Inn Resort

Property: Black Point Inn Resort
Address: 510 Black Point Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8624
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Point Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1878 and surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on three sides, with 18 holes of links golf, hiking and running trails (including an Oceanside Cliff Walk past the studio of renowned Prouts Neck painter Winslow Homer), literally miles of sandy beaches, tennis, a swimming pool and beach club, Black Point Inn is legendary for its location, guest facilities, and unpretentious downeast hospitality. Prepare to be captivated by the unhurried pace, gracious charm, and attentive service of Maine's most beautiful and historic oceanfront Inn and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Black Point Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Point Hotel Scarborough
Black Point Scarborough
Black Point Inn Resort Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing