We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it.”
Review of Ken's Place

Ken's Place
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ken’s Place was packed the day we decided to go. Even though it was close to 7pm the line was still out the door. The line did move quickly and the staff was very friendly. The place was clean and neat. The seafood was very good. You can get things fried or baked. My wife got the scallops again and I got the fried haddock. Both were cooked very nicely. We will be back in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmocjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    150
    83
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant because every time we drove by there was a line to get in. Sounds like a good sign, right? The staff was friendly and the place was clean. The food was okay. We tried the fried haddock and fried clams. They both could have used some seasoning. Have no plans of returning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank daniellefsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great Fried Clams, Diner Style.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a simple road-side diner/restaurant, with lot's of parking, and a quick (mass produced) approach to servicing clients. Not fancy, but oh so good fried clams!! These are as good as they get, with plump juicy clams in a crispy batter. Not greasy. Not soggy. Not cheap. But worth a drive to find them...and to pass by others to get to them.
For tradition sake, I also ordered a clam cake, but this was rather bland and not so worth it compared to the real things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable Atmosphere with Fast Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The baked scallops were unbelievably fresh and sweet. The portions were more than enough and great value. Everyone at our table enjoyed the food.

Only negative aspect was that there is only one washroom per gender and in a restaurant that seems to seat over one hundred people at a time, the wait can be long.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchellb
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slightly above average at best”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is easy to get in and out of in a decent time. Seating is a little close together. One side room area of seating was kind of dirty and not kept up as well as the main dining area. This is a little pricey compared to others like it. The ordering paying pick up process was a little bit annoying compared to other places. I would come back again but not as a top choice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitchellb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Place also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing