We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff upon arrival. Upon entering our room, we saw a portable crib that I had requested for my infant. They already had the crib assembled for us, which was great as it was one less thing for us to do. The bed was extremely comfy, the room was very large. Breakfast was top notch! I am picky about how my eggs must be done and they were perfect! You had selection of waffles, pancakes, sausage, eggs, home fries, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, pastries, etc. Two things I was not impressed with was the noisy fridge and the mold on parts of the caulk around the seams for the shower/tun ensemble. Other than that, our room was great. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dream530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

Stayed here 1 night traveling with family on a coastal Maine vacation. This is an older Residence Inn. It has had some renovation but unfortunately the area with the nicest renovation was the lobby and breakfast area. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. I really like these when traveling with family as the 2 bed/2 bath option helps when everyone is trying to get ready in the mornings and it allows privacy. I am a clean freak and will only stay in either new hotels or ones that have been recently renovated. Our suite was clean, thankfully, but the renovations that were done (must have been at least a couple of years) were beginning to need more. Wallpaper was peeling in some areas and there were scuff marks on several walls and the hallway carpeting in the corridors was very stained and dirty. One of the bedrooms in our suite faced I-95 and not only could you hear freeway noise, whenever a semi-truck passed (what seemed like every 3 minutes) you could feel the building shake a little. This did not make for a restful night's sleep.
The young staff were not friendly. Only gave yes, no and blanket answers to our questions.
The hotel is located in a good area and a shopping mall and many eating options were within 5 minutes from the hotel. I would stay here again but would ask for a suite that does not face I-95.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Very comfortable, relaxed, laid-back hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful and went out of their way for us when assistance was needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyBunny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I LOVE Residence Inn properties. I have a 2 yr. old son and having space for him to roam is crucial. This was my first time staying at the Residence Inn Portland/Scarborough and I'm sad to say I was a little disappointed with the accomodations. I am used to Marriott properties being top of the line and this property was outdated. Residence Inns now offer a free dinner in addition to their free breakfast and both of these are great, but not good enough to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiahbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

This is a solid hotel at a great deal. Our suite was a good size with everything working nicely. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was solid if not top notch, and the free continental dinner was a nice surprise and well-made and well-staffed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

The negative reviews must be before renovations have been done. There will be more but then we went with no construction going on. There was nothing shabby about the place We wanted a visit with value. It was terrific. We had a one bedroom suite with all the comforts of home. Kitchen was fully supplied. Separate sitting area and bedroom were convenient. The daily breakfast was above standards with lots of choices each morning. Staff were very friendly. We didn't have kids with us but I noticed how the staff went out of their way to treat children kindly. It had a pool and hot tub and fitness room. Very close to Portland with all its quaint shops and restaurants. It also is around the corner from any chain store or restaurant imaginable. True the outdoor ambiance is not the greatest but it does have tennis courts and a basketball courts and a grill. For the money we spent it was truly a great place. Granted at the moment no flat screen tv in your room but it did have one in the cozy breakfast area where you had free access to a computer and free connection in your room. There was a tv in the sitting room and the bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cheryl230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This hotel is in a quiet part of Scarborough (South Portland) close to all the shopping but far enough away from the hustle of a busy area. The accommodations were what we expected being a Residence Inn. Comfortable and clean with all the items to make it feel like "home"....dishwasher, full fridge with ice maker, large TV etc. The only thing that didn't work for us was that the plug in the tub would not keep the water in.....no worries...just shower.

The staff were very nice, especially the "breakfast lady" who was a true gem! The breakfast room/lobby is a friendly meeting place with a large plasma TV, fireplace, computers and great coffee. People seem to gather there to visit. The breakfast was hot and a full variety to choose from it is certainly a step up from a normal con't breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, a variety of breads/muffins/bagels, fruit, yogurt, waffles etc.There is fresh, hot coffee 24/7 in the lobby.

We got a great deal on Priceline and just went to Christams shop so we were not looking for the Ritz. It was a fair value, clean, comfortable and a pleasant stay. We would return to that location.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PMFHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
224 reviews
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Address: 800 Roundwood Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-8219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $96 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland/Scarborough hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when visiting the greater Portland Maine area. Our suites are designed to keep you comfortable and connected to all of the fun things to do in Portland, Maine. Whether you are here for business or pleasure or a fine mix of both, we can help you go exploring. Our luxury apartment hotel is conveniently located near Maine’s scenic beaches, breathtaking state parks, historic lighthouses, or destination shopping areas including World Famous Outfitter Cabela’s or Maine’s own L.L. Bean. For a truly unique experience, enjoy harness racing at Scarborough Downs or auto racing at Beechridge Motor Speedway. Our Portland/Scarborough hotel is just minutes away from Portland’s downtown district and historic old port area. Whether you are looking for a uniquely Maine dining experience or a national chain restaurant, there is something nearby to satisfy even the most selective palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Residence Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Residence Inn
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing