We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place to stay, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As a Marriott platinum elite member, I have stayed at many Marriott properties and this one has room for improvement. Would not choose to return here because of location near highway (traffic noise) and the need for updates. The overall decor seemed heavy, dark and outdated, especially the bathroom. The lighting in the tub/shower was dim, closet door kept going off the track when trying to open the door and there was no luggage rack. But room was reasonably clean and adequate for a 2 night stay.
I was not satisfied with the room location. Our room was on I-95 side and the noise was audible and annoying. Opening the window for outdoor air is not an option because of the noise. But the A/C keeps the room temp comfortable. The pillows need replacing; very lumpy and uncomfortable.
The breakfast was adequate with good choices to start the day. Light dinner was standard stuff, reminded me of school cafeteria food, nothing remarkable but it is free. Perhaps some cookies for dessert would be nice....Free parking is a plus. The staff are friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for room on lobby side to avoid the highway traffic noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyNorwichCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Back in the Portland area after some time in Boothbay Harbor and wanted something near the airport. Good TA rating got us here.
Very near the Maine Mall. Lots of food choices nearby. A Shaw's grocery right across the street. Easy, non freeway drive to PWM.
Dennis at check in was very personable. He gladly got us ice to carry us over until the in room icemaker kicked cubes out.
Room fairly typical RI. Plenty of room. We love the kitchen.
We got the side of the hotel facing the highway (forgot to ask for the other side). Tried to sleep with windows open on a cool night but it was too loud. Fine with windows closed unless you are a very light sleeper.
Returning next month with no fears but will ask for non highway room. A solid choice in the area.

Room Tip: Room away from highway.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As parents with a 1 year old baby, we always check-in early to be sure to have a quiet room. So we did at 2:00 the day of arrival. We were checked in and asked to come back at 4:00. Guess what, no more room available at 4:00.We still ask ourselves, how can this still happens.The lady even took our credit card.. But fortunatly a wonderfull Cindy upgraded us so that we could have a room. Yes we were upgraded but the room had many black stains on the floor, the bathroom was not clean at all and we had to ask the housekeeping team to do a complete clean-up. And we were close to the elevator (not so quiet as we first asked). So a mixed review. Some great staff, part of the room ok, breakfast area not so clean (sticky highchair and table) but good choices of food. The location was good (about 15 minutes to Scarborough beach, 10 to Portland, 15 to Cape Elizabeth and Cresent beach) and 1 minute from shopping and grocery)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The rooms are great - sizable, with kitchenette and pull-out sofa. The staff is very friendly - directed us to Pine Point Beach for a sunset walk. Gave us names of place to go to for great lobster rolls. The dinner (lasagna) and the breakfast was plentiful but the quality was average - lot of starchy stuff cooked in heavy butter, cheese and oil. Wish there was more fruit and juice available. Location - though in a mall type area - is well located to easily explore the coastline of a wonderful part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I decided to book this hotel since it gave a discount for AAA or AARP holders. It was one of the least expensive suites in the area since it was not in the city. Would have loved to be on the water but way too expensive for what you might get. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, needed updating as someone else said here. Since people actually "live" in these rooms at times it really did need a paint job in the bathroom vanity area. The room's temperature was great and we could control it. There were no lights outside so the rooms were dark forgood sleeping and it was very quiet. Over all an 8 out of 10. The only problem for me was since it was said it's a "non smoking" residence, we came back from dinner to the stinky smell of someone smoking a big cigar on the patio!!!! This is a NO NO!!!! The breakfast was very good and lots of choices. Over all a 7 out of 10 for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiserkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night while traveling in Maine. The room was good and comfortable and the staff were all excellent, but the hotel could use some updating. It is an older property with bathrooms and room size reflecting this. For instance, the shower handle was very loose and pulled away from the wall, and there don't seem to be king beds (we had a queen room). But it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. There were a lot families with young children at breakfast, so it seems especially well-suited to vacationing families. The breakfast was okay, though it would have been nice to have more fresh fruit.
But overall, it was a pleasant stay and a good option for visiting Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed there six days with my family on vacation; room was spacious and besides the bathrooms which are run down and require refurbishment, very nice;
the big plus of this Residence Inn was the friendly and very helpful staff which gave us the feeling being in a small family owned hotel with a personal touch;
unfortunately the hotel is next to the I-95 and we had rooms directly watching the highway; the noise was clearly audible and quite disturbing in the night, this room definitely needs better, noise-absorbing windows;
room service was ok, however some chips from previous guests remained on the floor all over our stay;
Breakfast comparable to other Residence Inn's we stayed before.
Would stay there again but only in a room not facing the I-95.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing I-95
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
809 reviews
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Address: 800 Roundwood Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-8219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $127 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland/Scarborough hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when visiting the greater Portland Maine area. Our suites are designed to keep you comfortable and connected to all of the fun things to do in Portland, Maine. Whether you are here for business or pleasure or a fine mix of both, we can help you go exploring. Our luxury apartment hotel is conveniently located near Maine’s scenic beaches, breathtaking state parks, historic lighthouses, or destination shopping areas including World Famous Outfitter Cabela’s or Maine’s own L.L. Bean. For a truly unique experience, enjoy harness racing at Scarborough Downs or auto racing at Beechridge Motor Speedway. Our Portland/Scarborough hotel is just minutes away from Portland’s downtown district and historic old port area. Whether you are looking for a uniquely Maine dining experience or a national chain restaurant, there is something nearby to satisfy even the most selective palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Residence Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Residence Inn
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing