We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loc - Close to tourist areas but keeps the locals close too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Florida
Level Contributor
245 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Loc - Close to tourist areas but keeps the locals close too!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Decided to visit the Portland area and had some hotel points expiring so picked this hotel for a two nights stay. Great choice to visit this area – well located off the highway and close to all the major tourist sites and local flavors. Had read that hotel rooms next to the highway could be noisy so asked at check-in for a quieter room. We were re-located to a first floor room with a view of the air conditioner units but that was fine since we were not there for the hotel view. The pool and hot tub were great – clean and just right temperatures. Bit disappointing and small work out area, one treadmill, which was broken. Room was clean and adequate. We had to call for a luggage rack and then again for drainage for the shower. Maintenance was quick and efficient resolving. Breakfast was basic and good selection - both mornings had to wait for eggs for more than 5 minutes. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Always luv the extras of having the refrigerator, microwaves, etc – value cannot be beat. Couple snags but would definitely recommend if in the area – great spot and close to everything.

Room Tip: Go early for breakfast to avoid waiting for hot foods (ex eggs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    50
    13
    11
See reviews for
111
85
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Short stay so short review.

We made a quick trip to Portland and reserved a two bedroom suite as another couple was also traveling with us. I often stay at Residence Inns and this one didn't disappoint. The room was clean and functional and worked perfect for two couples as we each had our own bathroom and a full kitchen. The complementary breakfast was perfect for a quick bite before heading out to the airport which is only 3 miles from the property.

The staff was welcoming, friendly and efficient so we were very pleased. Next time you are in Portland consider the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Residence Inn/Portland-Scarborough Maine was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. I have traveled the last 15 years continuosly, for both business and pleasure, on a weekly basis. I have stayed in Residence Inns across 14 states. This is by far one of the best Residence Inns in the USA. The staff, Bruce, Di, Nancy, Cindy and Cindy, Terrence, Dennis, Sigita made the extra effort to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Residence is immaculate: the rooms well stocked for creature comforts, the decor bright, yet homey, the food both breakfast and the managers' evening get-together by far one of the best, the grounds somewhat secluded and well maintained, the 'sports' facilities great, the quiet of the halls and rooms was nice - even though the hotel was booked full the entire week we were there. The access to the highways and freeways was convenient. Touring information was provided - and the staff knew the area and provided many suggestions for our leisure time. Thank You for making my first trip to Maine most enjoyable.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom/two bath suites are spacious, well-stocked, fireplace! large living room and kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and helpful from management to front desk... Rooms were very clean and well maintained. Nice location, close to everything. Fresh Breakfast with faire number of choices served. We were a group of three families and all agreed to come back everytime we visit Portland....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinan003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pros and cons seem to balance each other out but overall we were disappointed and won't return.
Pleasant check in and upgraded on arrival to a one bed suite but the catch was we then ended up with a queen bed rather than the king we'd originally booked. We decided not to switch back to original room as we intended to drop our bags and head out quickly but later regretted that decision.

On our late night return we noticed a distinct unpleasant smell of stale cigarette smoke. It had been masked by the ac earlier as we'd arrived to find it set at max and at a chilly 60F.

Too tired to pack and switch rooms we stuck it out (opened windows).

Rooms are dated but clean (apart from smoke smell)

Breakfast was the usual basic fare. There were little cups of cut up fruit but they must have been prepared a day or two ahead.

Room Tip: ask for one that doesn't smell of smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterfly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is 2nd home for me !!! a very courteous and caring staff, clean rooms and excellent services makes it easy choice for me everytime I travel to Portland either for long business trips or family vacations. Hot & cold breakfast and snakes in evening and my kids specially wait for cookies baked every evening. You have plenty of parking and lot of space around for morning or evening walk. I simply love this place and location of this hotel, very close to Maine Mall and Airport, specially staff is very helpful in suggesting places to go, restaurents to dine out etc. I would suggest to check it out yourself when you visit Portland, Maine. - Rajeev

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are very sunny, two bed rooms are very spacious !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Overall an ok hotel but nothing spectacular. Service from the front desk was good, quick, friendly check-in and a great recommendation for dinner (which included a discount!) They had also just freshly baked cookies at reception which were delicious (and still warm) which was a very nice touch. ;The room was spacious and well appointed (full size fridge, cook top stove, microwave). While it looked clean on first glance, quickly noticed signs of lack of attention to detail by the cleaning staff. There was a bottle cap on the floor in pretty plain sight, pet hair on various surfaces and an empty toilet paper roll in the bathroon (well not quite empty - maybe a a couple of sheets left but it had the nice fold in it nevertheless). The bed was not comfortable. They had a good breakfast available in the morning and the coffee was good (key point!). Overall, not a bad hotel but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiNut02760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
758 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Property: Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Address: 800 Roundwood Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-8219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland/Scarborough hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when visiting the greater Portland Maine area. Our suites are designed to keep you comfortable and connected to all of the fun things to do in Portland, Maine. Whether you are here for business or pleasure or a fine mix of both, we can help you go exploring. Our luxury apartment hotel is conveniently located near Maine’s scenic beaches, breathtaking state parks, historic lighthouses, or destination shopping areas including World Famous Outfitter Cabela’s or Maine’s own L.L. Bean. For a truly unique experience, enjoy harness racing at Scarborough Downs or auto racing at Beechridge Motor Speedway. Our Portland/Scarborough hotel is just minutes away from Portland’s downtown district and historic old port area. Whether you are looking for a uniquely Maine dining experience or a national chain restaurant, there is something nearby to satisfy even the most selective palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Residence Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Residence Inn
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing