We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More insight for Bayleys” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayleys Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayleys Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“More insight for Bayleys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I visited Bayleys a year ago and submitted a very complimentary review at that time,, giving very high marks for this campground. Following my own advice we returned this year. Some of the other reviewers talk about crowding and I want to comment on this important aspect. Bayleys is a very large RV campground, with more than 700 sites listed on their brochure, so if you reserve a site in the C areas versus the Large Rig area where we stay, you will find it VERY tight with adjacent sites very close by. So like so many things in life, beware and carefully review the planned location/site before making a reservation. Other than that, everything about Bayleys is great, as long as you plan ahead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSHCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
105
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is our third year at Bayley's we love it. As soon as we pull in we feel like we are home our house at the beach!!!. Tom the owner and the staff are very nice and the improvements they have made this year are great!!!!! We bought the two semi seasonal pkgs such a good deal... My 3 year old love it there so much she talks about Bayley's all year long as do me and my wife..... going to be said pulling out this weekend after being there since april 3rd but will be back in Aug!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdaley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Rented a trailer for the second time, for one night, and we had a great time. It was 50% off because it was off season. The trailer was a 40 foot, and was clean and comfortable- our bed was a little uncomfortable, but we were kind of camping, after all. The campground is well run and very family friendly. The grounds were, as always, beautiful- the kids loved the park, just walking around, and lighting a fire. We were very close to Old Orchard Beach. Overall, just a really fun time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilyMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

easy check-in & allowed to extend stay easily.
We rented a 40 foot trailer for 1 week & fairly spacious for 2 adults, 2 teen agers.
The campground had it all- 3 pools, hot tubs, restaurant, kayak & bike rentals +...

The best part was the free trolley to Old Orchard Beach & Pine Point Beach.

Would prefer cabin & the good news was that next year they will be renting cabins!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMargaretL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

What a joke of a campground. The sites were so tiny, no privacy. The camp store over charges for basics $5.00 for a roll of toilet paper). The owner is rude, obnoxious and greedy. He searches each vehicle entering the campground, looking for extra children or adults in your vehicle in order to charge entry fees. Our visiting adult friends had to pay $10.00 each plus $10.00 to park! Stay away from this place, it's not a fun experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sumnertrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Per the recommendation of a fellow RV'er, we booked and were more than pleased. The campground is large, RV sites are spacious, level (important for an RV) and very clean. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. We plan to return soon, time and money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSHCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascoag, RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband and I and our 10 year old son stayed at Bayley's Campground for 5 nights in a tent and it was GREAT! This was our first visit to Bayleys and will not be our last. In fact we loved it so much that we will be back every year going forward. It was the cleanest campground we have ever been to. The owner Thom, is a hands on type of owner. He makes sure that things run well. He is always around and very friendly. The bathrooms are always clean. The pools are prestine! The entertainment for the adults, teens and young kids is superb! My son loved it. There was an issue with tenters who thought that they were above the rules of the campground and soon found out that they were not. Thom threw them out! What we liked was the fact that the owner threated us (a tenter and the least expensive site) like he would treat the most expensive site visitors. That was very important to us because we perfer to tent over RV and pop ups. We will definitely be back! Oh I forgot to mention the free trolly rides to Old Orchard Beach from 10 am to 6 pm everyday! TERRIFIC!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jootsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
9.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayleys Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayleys Camping Resort

Property: Bayleys Camping Resort
Address: 275 Pine Point Road, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayley's Camping Resort offers the ultimate experience in resort camping featuring activities, entertainment, beach shuttles, pools, hot tubs and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayleys Camping Hotel Scarborough
Bayleys Camping Resort Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing