We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an overpriced experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayley's Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Paid $73 for one night to camp here and it is amazing that the sites are literally on top of each other. I could have had a reasonably good hotel at $100 if I booked early enough. It is quite buggy too as there are a couple ponds that are practically standing water (which is a true breeding ground for bugs. Sure, the jacuzzis and the pools are nice, but the rest of it is quite overpriced. I felt that $10 for a bundle of firewood is absolutely an insane amount of money to ask, as I've gone to some campgrounds that only ask $5 nowadays, and there's still quite a few areas were it is only $3. The meal options were so underwhelming that we just ate dinner at Subway, as we weren't going to start cooking for one night's camping.

It is overall pretty sad I could go to Cape Cod and get better accomodations for less $$.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mlkrgr41530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bayleys is a great place for a family vacation. You can go there and stay at the campground or you can take their complimentary shuttle to Pine Point or Old Orchard Beach. Either way, you'll definitely have a blast. You can rent Kayaks and kayak the surrounding marsh, you can swim in one of their clean pools, participate in one of their many other activities. There always seems to be something to do at Bayleys. Also, if you want to just sit around and relax by the campfire, that's also an option. The food and drink right in the campground is good and is reasonably priced. The sites are a decent size and the people there are super friendly. I've stayed at many of the campgrounds in the OOB area and thus far, Bayleys is the only one that I have gone back to and I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Try to book a "Bayleys Best" site....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for a Saturday night after having just left a state park campground. Needless to say, we were surprised by how much there was to do! They placed us pretty far back in the CG at first, but when we mentioned we didn't have a car with us, they were happy to point us toward a few closer spots so we picked on with an empty spot next door. The pools are clean - so are the bathrooms. We had a pretty good breakfast buffet but missed the juggling/fire eating show on Saturday night. We didn't have any noise problems - and no one around us had a fire so nothing to complain about there. It is pretty big and lots of people - but the staff was really friendly. Lots of stuff to rent and a convenient shuttle to the beach. We would come back. Should probably mention that there wasn't any privacy between spots but we didn't have any issues, either. It was fairly pricey - $100 - and the store is well stocked but a rip-off. Pretty typical though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

First experience here and I used the great reviews here and decided to give it a shot.

If you have kids this campground is top notch. It s really clean, full of things to do and full of activities!

If the campground isn't enough, there is the beach and boardwalk 1 Mile away.

We hope to return next year for a full week. Wish we had more time.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this campground. The last time was 2 years ago. After camping in many places over the last 8 years this is one of our favorite. There are a lot of things to do inside & outside of the campground. There is very convenience free shuttles that take you to Old Orchard beach and Pine Point (Bayley's private shuttle will take you to this very nice local beach). There are a variety of sites both close together and others with more privacy. The staff is extremely helpful both while make reservations and during our stay. The only down side is that parts of the campground can be noisy, especially during the times while they have entertainment going on. But the quite time is well observed. We would come back again. We camped for 8 nights in a 26 travel trailer w/ a tent & full hookup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Bayley's is a great campground. It is very big and there is many things to do. Scarborough is great town and the beaches are nice. The trolleys go to Pine Point and Old Orchard beach. The pool is very nice and there is lots of family friendly activities. The restaurant is also very good. The food was very delicious. The camping spots are good, and it was spacious, well, where we were. We were close to a fishing pond. We also went kayaking in the salt marsh. That was very fun. There are lots of reviews saying how the staff and owner is mean, and how the staff will put your fire out with a bucket of water. Those reviews are ridiculous. Every staff member we talked to is nice and friendly. The people who got yelled at were probably making lots of noise. We were respectful to the other campers, and we had a wonderful time. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The back camp sites near the pond seems to be bigger then the ones near the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Alot of activities and entertainment for kids, three pools, two stores, courteous and professional staff...especially at registrations. Plenty of sites to choose from....the place is huge!! Plenty of shaded lots.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.2 mi away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Admiral Motel
The Admiral Motel
#12 of 13 in Scarborough
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayley's Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayley's Camping Resort

Address: 275 Pine Point Road, Scarborough, ME 04074
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayley's Camping Resort offers the ultimate experience in resort camping featuring activities, entertainment, beach trolleys, pools, hot tubs and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayleys Camping Hotel Scarborough
Bayley's Camping Resort Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing