We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Homewood Suites by Hilton Scarborough offers true value for money.
Based on TripAdvisor reviews and an attractive rate we booked this hotel for a stopover in Portland on the way to Acadia National Park. After a quick and friendly check-in we were very pleased to find a very comfortable, spacious and clean suite with a nice, huge bed and a well-equipped kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast is a lot better than the usual sugary US motel/hotel morning snacks and you can even use china instead of all the throw-away stuff. Employees were very friendly and tried to make our stay a comfortable one.
There is a business-centre with free internet access.
There are restaurants in the vicinity and one is actually just opposite the entrance. A 10-15 minute drive takes you into Portland where you will find many more food options. For an outstanding, but reasonably priced dinner, the Back Bay Grill in downtown Portland is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contrail330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 730 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

Breakfast was outstanding. Hot items that were better then most hotel chain breakfasts. Room was large (suite with kitchen and living area but no divider to the bed area). Bathroom area was large. Lobby was in good shape. They have light dinner/snacks in the late afternoon which we missed due to our 9:00pm check-in. Quiet and clean. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at this Homewood Suites for 2 nights as a rest stop on the way to Acadia. Hotel is just off the interstate and right next to the Maine Mall. It is probably a 20 minute drive to downtown Portland.

Check-in was fine, reservations were correct and we were directed to the 4th floor of the hotel. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon so the hotel was still quiet. Plenty of parking spots outside the hotel (free).

Our 1 bedroom suite was nicely sized as most Homewood Suites. Dishwasher was running as we came in and the a/c was blasting. Room was clean and very comfortable. Plenty of nice, fluffy towels. Flat panel televisions (but not HD channels) in both the living and bedroom. Free wifi was fine, I could connect my iphone in the room.

One evening, my wife used the small gym and my son and I used their swimming pool. Both were clean. Pool is indoors and a bit cold but fine.

Breakfast was ok, eggs, cereal, muffins, etc. We got up early so no problems getting a table but some folk that arrived later had to wait. Lot of large families with kids staying that weekend.

Overall, fine hotel for the area. If you were spending your time in downtown, you might want a closer hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We could hardly wait to check out of the hotel to write a review. This place was GREAT! Unbelievably clean, quiet, staff very friendly and accommodating. Front desk was helpful and very pleasant upon check-in. Whenever you see a staff person, you are greeted with "hello, good morning." A nice, unexpected perk was the "light dinner" which actually consisted of tortellini, garlic bread and salad. Not an extravagant meal but definitely a nice perk considering it was free of charge. Also of note, beer and wine only $2.00 --- only reason it wasn't free is due to Maine regulations (they apparently can't "give" away alcohol). Breakfast this morning was wonderful ... breakfast sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, three dry cereals, oatmeal, three different coffeees, juice, hash browns .. just a great value. The dining area has a wonderful atmosphere, large fireplace in the center of the room. The room was equipped with a king sized bed with the most comfortable bedding ever ... our 4 year old (who is usually up at the crack of dawn) slept in until 7:30. Very little noise, no unncessary hallway business. The only thing that could have been better is the hallways a little cooler. It has been 90+ degrees here and the hallways not A/C'd. However, minor considering all the other wonderful attributes. We will definitely be returning. Consider this place if you need to stay in South Portland, Maine. Christmas Tree shop is across the street, Wal-Mart within a mile and the Maine Mall (Macy's, Best Buy, Armani, etc) is also within a mile. Sebago Brewery is across the parking lot but you don't get rif-raf from it. Consider the Homewood. If you have never stayed in one, it's worth it. We will now be staying in these. I believe they are geared more towards extended stay situations and have bedrooms off the kitchen/living area with a door that closes off ... perfect if you have small children who are in bed early. Perfect, excellent experience for a family night away.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
Thank dammish30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed here for two months while working across the bridge in Portland, ME. It is very convenient to downtown Portland but quieter.

It was a wonderful home away from home. The staff was unanimously eager to help, and knowledgeable about the area. Their free dinners (M -Th) and breakfasts (daily) were ample and healthful.

I can't say enough good about the place! They made it easy for me to do my job by taking care of all the other details! I met a lot of other nice people there too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Very pleasant hotel in a location convenient to the highway to downtown Portland, about a 10 minute drive away. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Spacious suite with a separate bedroom and living room with a kitchenette and full size refrigerator. Two TV's and two A/C & heating zones. We would return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Papa_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

For the money, this is an excellent location for Portland and southern Maine . You may not have the view of the coast but you'll pay at least $100 less per night and be there within 30 minutes. Location by the mall & local chain restaurants and less than 20 minutes to the great restaurants on/near wharf.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Address: 200 Southborough Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-5904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $102 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Homewood Suites
Portland Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing