We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites stay in Portland Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United States
1 review
“Homewood Suites stay in Portland Maine”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel was very clean and beautiful. The staff very friendly and helpful. Made us feel right at home. The meals were plentiful and delicious. The suite room was large and clean. Loved having the kitchenette. The room we were in was quiet we heard no street noise or neighbor noise. This hotel was in an excellent part of town close to mall, shops and the beach. Just loved it would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello Shelley B,
Thanks so much for the great words about our Homewood on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you found the location perfect for your visit, and you're right...the kitchenette is such a help for a family trip. We hope you will come back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    142
    35
    13
    2
See reviews for
251
205
22
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel enables your vacation in every way! Great breakfast, very clean, and light meals Monday thru Thursday! Location is key as well great access to Old Orchard Beach, the Maine Mall, 15 minutes from LL Bean in Freeport, or catch a Sea Dogs game just up the street. The staff is always ready to help as well, very well versed with area.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Michael G,
We love what you said about us on TripAdvisor...and definately consider ourselves Vacation Enablers!! Thanks for the great review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, you certainly deserve a little pampering. Come back soon!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week while doing contract work in Portland and was very impressed. The room - a King studio - was spacious and clean, the tv was high definition, and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. I always had fresh towels, a crisply-made bed, and coffee for the mornings. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear James K,
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Our Homewood Team takes pride in providing a clean suite for our guests while extending warm hospitality, We hope you choose our hotel again when needing a spot to call home while on a business trip in the Portland area.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family stayed at Homewood Suites on a recent Friday night. It was a very hot night and we were delighted to find lemon infused water in the lobby. It is just what we all needed. The staff was wonderful from check in, pool, breakfast to checkout. My grandsons were thrilled to be able to swim and play basketball on the outside court. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We had a two bedroom suite which allowed plenty of room for the five of us. All in all our experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarborough04074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for writing a review about our hotel and naming it " Wonderful Hotel"! We are happy that you enjoyed the two bedroom suite while visiting our hotel with your family. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and we sure hope you make it back here in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed a nice stay here. The lobby offered complimentary newspaper and water (with lemon, lime and on Day 3 - cucumber) Guests got their use of the gym, indoor pool and outdoor basketball court. The hotel in general was quiet, but common areas (in our experience, on the first and second floors) smelled bad, as did the elevator. This did not change over the course of our 3-night stay. The room was spacious and clean with no foul odor. Sink and mirror area are separate from toilet and bath, which is great except that you don't realize that soap and shampoo/conditioner were in the sink area until you're IN the shower ... would be nice for staff to keep shower toiletries IN the shower. We usually stay downtown by the bay, and I was a little concerned that this would be distant from everything, but a short drive took us to all the sights quickly and easily. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi lmcoyle,
We thank you for taking time to review our hotel and so glad you had a pleasant stay at our Homewood. We strive to keep our hotel clean for our guests and thank you for your comments. They are important to our success and I will be sure to share them with our staff. We are pleased that you found our location was overall good, and hope you rested well in our quiet hotel.
Please come back again!
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. I notified the desk at 2:10 pm, 5:20 pm, and 7:30 pm that housekeeping had not come to our room and that we needed fresh towels and tissues. The first two times, I was assured that they would be coming and that housekeeping was short staffed. At 7:30 pm we contacted the front desk again, still no maid, and I was told that the shuttle driver would be sent up when he got back to give us fresh towels, and that he would bring all the other supplies for the room and take out our garbage. When he arrived he knocked on the door and handed my son a large bag of towels and shampoo, soap, and lotion. We bagged up our garbage, put it and all of our soiled towels in the hall and called the front desk to let them know that we put them there since the maid had not come and the shuttle driver did not do as she said he would. She said, no problem. The garbage and soiled towels remained in the hall all evening and overnight. Unacceptable, and we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi David C,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and apologize for this experience. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and aplogize that we were unable to meet that expectiation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future and I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, that you will consider staying with us again.
Thank you,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here on our last leg of our Upstate NY/New England trip. This was a great place. We had originally booked a 2 bedroom suite but when we checked in, the suite was unavailable so instead, the staff gave us two 1 bedroom adjoining suites. For a weary family of 5, it was the best thing that could have happened because it allowed us to have even more space to roam around in the room. We enjoyed the hot breakfasts and the hot dinners (our kids loved the dinners that were being served!). Note that the dinners are offered Monday-Thursday only. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating and we received great ideas from them on where the locals eat, go and play.

The property is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Purple Lady K!
We are so glad you enjoyed spreading out in our spacious comfy suites! We loved that you took the time to tell about your visit at Homewood on TripAdvisor and our Homewood Team hopes you'll visit us again when you are on the coast of Maine! Warmest Regards, Kim Dennis-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
4.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Address: 200 Southborough Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-5904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Homewood Suites
Portland Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing