We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond beautiful!!!”
Review of The Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beyond beautiful!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time on higgens beach and it will not be our last!! We beyond loved this place. First off the breakfast served every morning is outstanding and the staff at the breakers inn are amazing they made our stay beyond enjoyable!! We plan on going back for vac next yr.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Breakers is a charming, old fashioned style family hotel, on the beach at Higgins Beach. What a lovely to way to wake up in the morning, to the sound of the waves and the seagulls. The rooms although not luxurious are comfortable and very clean, and the bathroom though small was absolutly fine. Views..spectacular !!
Carolyn and Rodney (the Innkeepers) are lovely people, super friendly and very helpful with advice and suggestions. The breakfast was always freshly prepared and plentiful...certainly not like the run of the mill breakfast in the chain hotels.
We will definitly stay here again when visiting family nearby, and one of the great things for us, is that the hotel is open all year round. The wonderful location and the friendly staff members absolutly make this place.

Room Tip: try for Rooms 1 or 2 on the beach side of the hotel. Also the "tower rooms" looked very ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisewoman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have come to the Breakers the first week of May for the last 10 years. Built in 1900, it is a classic New England Inn. Unpretentious, it sits almost right on the ocean, so you go to sleep every night with the sound of the waves. The views are inspiring and the rooms are simple and comfortable. The second generation innkeeper Rodney, makes fantastic breakfasts (which are included with the room cost), and is a font of knowledge on the history of the area. Higgins Beach is a charming beach town that is not commercial. You can walk for a long ways on the beach and up and down the streets. Close to Portland. You can't get a better deal on the beach.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best ocean views, but every room has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Breakers is a wonderful hidden gem on the Maine coast, located in the cottage community of Higgins Beach in Scarborough. Located across the street from the ocean - the views are spectacular, the breakfasts are very good and the rooms are very comfortable. A true Maine coast Inn. If you are looking for rustic pleasure on the Maine coast - the Breakers is for you. No AC, no elevators, just down home hospitality second to none!!! Have stayed here numerous times over the years and am never disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stay here every summer with my wife and her family. My wife's Grandparents have been coming here for 40+ years and 2012 marked our 12th consecutive year coming as a couple and now with our kids. We love Higgins Beach and the residential feel that allows us to let our kids play with little worry. The Breakers Inn and the staff are wonderful and really do feel like family to us. Rodney always treats us right and his breakfast is amazing! While the Inn is a little rustic and isn't high luxury the beach and the staff keep us coming back every year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. In the summer the basement rooms provide space for a larger family. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Breakers inn Sept 2012. I absolutely loved this place. I had the best room at the Inn. Rodney the owner makes outstanding breakfest. I would get up every morning and would walk on the beach, watch the surfers, and i met some really nice folks. I would highly recommend The Breakers Inn.

Room Tip: Go on line and look at the rooms. My room was 1st floor ocean view. I will share photos soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frazierobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrreal,Quebec
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Breakers Inn is so relaxing, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful views. I love it. I wish I could spend my whole summer there. Just looking out the windows and seeing the ocean is so peaceful.I look forward to going back as soon as I leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#8 of 13 in Scarborough
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
194 reviews
6.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,259 reviews
3.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Inn

Property: The Breakers Inn
Address: 2 Bayview Ave, Higgins Beach, Scarborough, ME 04074-9494
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Scarborough
The Breakers Inn Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing