We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extraordinary discovery!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An extraordinary discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Frustrated by staying at Highway Chains, i awoke one morning and drove to water. Found Higgins Beach-perhaps the most beautiful beach I have ever seen-and walked into this beachfront 120 year old property to discover one room had become available 15 mins earlier. The smallest worst room at the inn and we loved it. A grand old 14 bedroom all wood property (cash only) with home cooked breakfast, no restaurant, limited facilities, grand living room with wrap around enclosed veranda with spectacular views. Everyone there had been coming back for decades, family traditions, etc. We got an extra day, and it made our vacation. Like going to the big family beachhouse. Old and lived in feel-not Chain like!!! Yay!

Room Tip: go to their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I have a 6 month old daughter, and with her being our first child we decided we wanted to start a new family tradition of going to Maine every summer. Last summer, while still pregnant, we walked Higgins Beach and looked up at The Breakers Inn's tower and thought to ourselves "Wouldn't it be nice to stay there?".

Well, this year when it came time to book our summer getaway I contacted Rodney from The Breakers Inn. Rodney is the innkeeper and he is EXTREMELY easy to reach and deal with. I asked him if there were any dates available for The Tower Room and as luck would have it, the room was available for the weekend that worked perfectly with our schedule.

We arrived early at around 9:30 because we were checking in on a Saturday and we felt it would be better for our daughter to spend time on the beach rather than strapped into her car seat sitting in traffic. When we arrived, I did go inside to make sure it was alright with them if we parked in the parking lot even though we were not technically "checked in" yet. They were so sweet and said that would be fine, and that our room would be ready in 10 minutes if we wanted to head up to get changed for the beach.

First off, that pleasantly surprised me. Check in is at 12 anyway which is much earlier than the usual 3:00 check-ins other places have.

Once we got in our room we knew we made the right decision of staying here. All of the windows were open and the nice cool ocean breeze was a wonderful way to greet us.

This Tower Room ended up being perfect because we could hear, see and smell the ocean however we were still indoors so we didn't have to worry about the sun being too strong on our daughter's sensitive skin during the heat of the day. The constant breeze kept the room comfortable if not cool on the hot July days.

The sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks made for great sleeping. Even our 6 month old slept through the night!

I have stayed in other B&Bs and had the whole communal dining experience and I have to say that I much prefer how The Breakers Inn serves breakfast.

When we arrived to the dining area we sat at the table that was labeled with our last name and they even had a high chair waiting for us without us having to ask for one (so considerate!).

On the table is a menu and you can order as much or as little food for breakfast as you'd like. Fresh fruit, pancakes, and eggs with homemade muffins made our breakfast both days and both days we felt nice and full to last us until a late lunch / early dinner. So really we only had to buy 1 meal out each day.

We had such a lovely time, the people who work at the inn are a pleasure to deal with and so thoughtful and accommodating, and the room was amazing. My only complaint is that our getaway went by too fast and so I plan on rectifying that problem by staying for a full week next year - and if you stay the full week the rate is discounted, so why not?!

You cannot go wrong with The Breaker's Inn. I have no reason to "try out" the other area hotels and inns because this experience was affordable and superior.

Room Tip: Check out The Breakers Inn website, they have a diagram of the rooms so you get a feeling for how th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I live inland and try to get one night in every year at the Breakers during the shoulder season. We time our trip when there is swell to surf Higgin's beach, right in front of the Hotel. This works especially well to take advantage of morning and evening surf sessions as Higgin's is closed to surfing from 10-5. Friendly hosts, cozy rooms with a neat steep staircase up to them. Great breakfast and views from the dining hall also. We'll keep coming back.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkfromMaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here over the holiday break to visit family and friends in Maine. The Breakers Inn is the epitome of a bed and breakfast. Planted right on the coast of Higgin's Beach, the minute you step outside you are treated to the sounds and sights of the ocean. The calming sounds of waves crashing and birds soaring added to this delightful experience. In the morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast of champions, homemade oatmeal, eggs anyway we liked them, thick bacon, and a side of toast (among the many other items on the menu). The Innkeeper was very knowledgeable about local history and lore. The Breakers captures the essence of the seasons of Maine. The service was above excellent, all of our accommodations were met.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jettaragazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Mass USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have stayed here several times as it is about the only inn-hotel that is located at Higgins beach in Scarborough Maine. It is an old charming inn that sits on the main road overlooking the beach. It has the ideal location for proximity to the beach----beautiful grounds where you can just relax and enjoy the view if you wish and enjoy the beautiful sunsets at night. The owners are extremely friendly and will accomodate just about anything you need. They serve a hearty homemade breakfast every morning with fresh homemade muffins and jam. Sandwiches are availabe upon request if you would like them for lunch. Its a 15-20 minute drive into Portland which makes a nice excursion at night if you are looking for a little more to do especially for dining or nightlife activities. Every room has an ocean view and has nice sitting areas on the main level for all the guest to enjoy. The rest of the neighborhood is great for walking-riding bikes-rollerblading etc which makes it a great spot for families and couples alike. We would highly recommend it for anyone looking to get away for a relaxing vaction any time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

I took my wife to stay at Higgins Beach for our 1 year anniversary (we got married down the road a piece in Cape Elizabeth). We had rented a home for a week but didn't want to do that this time and found The Breakers Inn.

I will say that the Inn is beautiful but the rooms are oddly situated up a narrow/steep staircase in what seems to be the attic so it's not so handicap friendly. The room was very nice (and large!) and we had a great view. We were more than comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but it was not shared so that was a plus. We had a little table to eat dinner at (we got Amato's!) that was by the window.

The hotel sits as close to the ocean as it can without being *in* the ocean. The property is kept up well and the home cooked breakfast was yummy.

Remember to have cash! I had to pay the balance and was $2 short! But they let us go without a blink!

Overall, a great stay for a great price!

  • Liked — The large, clean rooms with views
  • Disliked — No handicap accessible
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#10 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Inn

Property: The Breakers Inn
Address: 2 Bayview Ave, Higgins Beach, Scarborough, ME 04074-9494
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Scarborough
The Breakers Inn Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing