We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOOSE COUNTRY SAFARIS”

Moose Country Safaris
Attraction details
Portland, Maine
1 review
“MOOSE COUNTRY SAFARIS”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great day and what a great Guide.
We really enjoyed ourselves and saw lots of moose and
other wildlife.
Course, there is nothing you can do about the bugs
but we brought bug spray and our guide had some too.
Worked well.
Am planning on going again. Can't wait.
I would live in Greenville if I could.
Just breathtakingly beautiful.

Donna

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DONNA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Moose watching at its finest”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went out with Ed in the middle of the afternoon and he took us to three different ponds. We canoed in two of them and saw moose in each, for a total of nine. It was an absolutely thrilling afternoon and Ed was a very nice guide. Be sure to take insect repellent (Ed has some if you forget) but what is a million black flies when you can enjoy seeing moose in their own habitat. We felt extremely lucky.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank topat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ed does a great job!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We did a 4 hour moose tour with Ed. He's funny and knowledgeable. We had a great time. I should also mention that he found a large bull moose on a pond. We sat mesmerized, watching it feed for about an hour. On our way back to our campsite we saw a female moose with a white tailed deer. The moose was just fine with our approach till the deer got spooked. We watched as they bolted down a trail, deer following moose. Ed said that's very rare for the 2 species to be so together! LOL. Boy do moose look funny when they run. Thanks for a great time Ed. He also does different kinds of tours - star gazing, birding, canoe and ice caving.

P.S. Talk about great customer service - he brought coffee and delicious blueberry muffins.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Unfortunately I can't comment or review the actual moose safari as we had to cancel due to inclement weather - however I can say that Ed provided an excellent level of customer service in the lead up to our planned tour. He was helpful, accommodating and very communicative. When it became apparent that weather might be an issue he pro-actively suggested alternatives to the canoes. We ended up canceling but based on my experience I would have no hesitation in booking with Ed again or recommending Moose Country Safaris.

Helpful?
Thank Fflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Maine Moose”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Moose Country Safaris is run by Ed Mathieu. He will pick you up in his jeep, which is great, since we were staying in Greenville. You can pick different options with canoe or the jeep. We went on a jeep tour after Labor Day. He knows the area well, and will take you to remote places to look for moose. The scenery itself was worth the trip, but we did see a moose close up despite going at a time of year that is not the best.

Helpful?
2 Thank buckeye500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Country Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Moose Country Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing