We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresco Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Fresco Mexican Grill
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The food is great. More like the food you would eat in Mexico. Not drenched in cheese, fresh and well presented. I will go back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I always purchase Groupons to any restaurant in the area it gives us a reason to try new places. This place was wonderful! It has about 7 tables so it's small, but we went on a Thursday night so no wait. We had great service and 6.00 pitchers of margaritas! Can't beat that. We both got fajitas and they were yummy. We are always happy to find a place we will want to go back to again and again. It's nice to see a good restaurant in Sangord!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshiine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A secret that I hesitate to share ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

At the risk of not being able to get a table in the future (there are only 7), I'm going to let you in on a secret: Great food and service at Fresco Mexican Grill.

It's been open for a while, but I had not stopped by because I assumed it to be a tiny hole-in-the-wall in a nearly run-down building. Wrong!

First of all, the place is small and very nicely clean. There are only seven 4-top tables, but the service was prompt and fast. We were promptly greeted, served, and attended during the meal.
Once seated, chips and salsa arrived immediately, and we ordered a House Margarita and a Strawberry Basil Margarita. The Strawberry Basil Margarita was a bit amusing in that it arrived with a piece of dry ice suspended in what appeared to be a steel spice ball, so the drink was bubbling and foggy vapors were rising from the glass. Both were delicious and reasonably priced. All drinks arrive in small mason jars, and you pour your Margarita into a salt- or sugar-rimmed glass.

My Steak Quesadilla came with rice and choice of beans. It’s worth noting that the black beans tasted really good, with onion and spice done just right. It might seem like a small thing, but I appreciate well done sides. The rice was unremarkable – not recently prepared and only warm -- and was the only non-stellar item on the plate. Everything else was good enough; I’ll overlook the rice.

There were empty tables at 6:30 PM on a Thursday night, and we chided the server for not having a Web site to advertise the place.

So stop by and visit Fresco Mexican Grill, it’s the gem of the neighborhood. But, please, allow me to get there ahead of you and grab one of the few available tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulOfMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and amazing margaritas!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I went there for lunch today and it was fantastic. My boyfriend and I each tried the smoking flavored margaritas (yes they are actually smoking..wicked cool). The appetizer, entrees and dessert were also great. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maine_jen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food was great. The guacamole was fresh, poppers hot, and fajitas delicious. Only complaint: the restaurant is chilly - hope they get the heating system in order.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing