We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mind and body recharge”
Sunrise over the Penobscot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below. The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below.
The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
First floor family room.
Oz is a downward dog. Namaste.
When it's time to nap the beach shack waits you.
local granite walls line to entryway to the home.
Your own private beach.
One of a kind hand made pine table tat seats 24.
Oz loves visiting everyone staying here.
Welcoming path.
Light house bedroom with half bath and 4 beds.
Deck off second floor bedrooms
Bedroom with deck looking onto the water. June of 2017 this room will have 2 bunk beds installed.
No words needed. You've worked all year, it's time to relax.
Livingroom with working fireplace.
Reading, resting or simply taking in the beauty of our meadow.
One of the paths to our front door.
The view out to The Penobscot never grows old.
Open living, dining and sunroom with a wall of glass facing the ocean and trees.
Beautiful plantings and gardens.
With walls of glass on both ends of the main living room the house is alway filled with sunlight.
Twisting and turning your way back from your beach.
Cookout on your own beach
Relaxing Sunroom with skylights and windows onto the water and beautiful trees. 2 twin daybeds.
First floor King size bedroom with large windows and ceiling fan.
Follow the coast to Sandy Point Park and Steamboat Wharf.
Your 300 foot private beach. Swim, play, cook out explore.
On our beach you can walk for miles on sand and through forest trails,
Sandy Point beach is all yours.
View from the bunk house.
Beautiful peaceful surroundings. Not your average cook cutter home.
Follow the sign you can't go wrong.
Great places to food shop and 2 Farmers markets near by.
Queen bed and twin beds share this cozy room with full bath attached.
Cozy bedroom everywhere property sleeps over 25.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queens different angle.
See more photos at:
Light House Loft with skylight half bath with four beds.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queen beds.
Sunrise yoga on the deck.
second floor library with beautiful with of our meadow.
1st floor queen bedroom with adjoining full bath.
Handrails and steps to second floor from a locally harvested tree.
Construction (eft) of our new two story bunkhouse is underway.
Peaceful Comfortable sofa that can turn into a sleeper sofa.
Water facing deck with bbq grill, lobster cooker and seating for 20
Owners favor place to fall asleep in front of a roaring fire.
Odem's Ledge just off  our beach. 1700's ship wreck artifacts still left uncovered.
Your own Funky Beach shack.
Large colorful artwork from a national know local artist.
Down Steamboat Wharf until you see the ocean turn onto Hersey Retreat Rd and your vacation has begun
Water facing deck with bbq grill, Lobster cooker and seating for 20.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Sandy Point, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
artisticb...
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
“Mind and body recharge”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family had lots of space, comfortable and very beautiful. The owners were very helpful in coordinating our trip and meeting our needs. Area is beautiful, lots of different things to see and do. Campfires in beach especially fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you Bonnie,
We so happy the week here with your extended family was unrivaled and everyone had fun. I hope you send us some photos of your group so we can share them on our Facebook page.
Thanks for treating our home like it was your home, you are all welcome back anytime to recharge again.
Sincerely,
Shankari & Paul
The Retreat House
SandyPoint, ME
207-385-1092
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickikins...
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Trying to find accommodations for a large group of guests can be difficult at best, but we consider ourselves extremely lucky that we came upon The Retreat House in Stockton Springs Maine, overlooking beautiful Penobscot Bay. Not only were the accommodations perfect for our groomsmen and their partners, all 18 of them, but the owners went above and beyond to see that we had everything we needed for our special Weekend.
The house speaks for it self with multiple rooms and bathrooms decorated to match the beauty of the woodsy setting and the calming effect of the ocean's Bay below. I couldn't imagine anything less for our gracious guests.
If you are planning a wedding or any other large gathering in the area, I would highly recommend you contact the owners and book The Retreat House and I guarantee you will be pleased.

Sincerely,
Vicki Kinsman

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you Vicki for that beautiful review. We are so glad everyone had a good time and that the weather was perfect for Jaclyn's wedding. We have been fortunate enough to be selected as one of the rental homes in Sandy Point recommended by French's Point Wedding Center.
It was a pleasure working with you on the arrangements & details to coordinate your Bridal Party you were a joy. Our Best wishes to Jaclyn & Ryan.
Sincerely,
Shankari & Paul
The Retreat House
Sandy Point, ME
207-385-1092
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearless6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, intimate yet spacious, scenic venue for a large gathering”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed a magnificent week at the Retreat House - I award five stars for the pleasure of our experience. What a great venue for a family reunion! Owner Paul Barclay was extremely welcoming, warm and sincere in his efforts to accommodate us, which meant a lot to us. Our rental took place shortly after ownership transition and he and crew had clearly put in a lot of work in a short period of time to be as ready as possible our challenging panoply of people.
Our group tested the limits of the space in a variety of ways – two wheelchairs, toddlers and children, and sheer number of people (28) stretching through four generations. After being turned down from numerous large rental houses, I was grateful (or maybe even incredulous) to even find a venue that could accommodate us all, let alone also fulfilling our need for two wheelchair-accessible bedrooms on the main level, as well as being by the water in a beautiful Maine environment worthy of distant travel for family members! The delightful bonus was the atmosphere at Retreat House. Warm and intimate, yet spacious enough for us to move around, share a meal, relax, and enjoy the spacious deck and lovely view. The spaces enable a feeling of togetherness but not crowded, yet also with getaway nooks. I loved the way we could comfortably socialize in the spaces. Interior details like the extra-long, live-edge table, benches and stairs and the welcoming fireplace contributed a cozy “Maine” interior - a casual hominess, rather than 5-star but sterile elegance. Just what we wanted!
The beach is PERFECT for kid play, with a safe shallow “wading pool” indent enabling kids to play in the water and adults to watch them without safety fears. Lots of hammocks, the little fort, easy chairs and fire ring extend a comfortable and fun beach experience. We loved how it connects all the way to Sandy Point, making long loop walks down the beach and along the quiet lane to Sandy Point a real pleasure.
It was really important for us to research the house’s layout and features ahead of time so that we could determine what adaptations we would need for our group – and how WE would need to adapt. The deck, interior stairs and 2nd floor loft can be made safe for toddlers with the aid of safety netting; we brought our own netting and three child gates. Paul kindly provided ramps at the doorways for the wheelchairs. Guests learned ahead of time that they would be sharing bedrooms and bathrooms, and what degree of privacy to expect; expect to be flexible here. The 72-step wood stairway with railing leading down to the beach was rickety; I expect with the speed and conscientiousness with which Paul attends to things, it will be more secure soon. Adults always accompanied kids going down to the beach. We enjoyed kayak and bicycle outings with our own boats and bikes.

We all really enjoyed a relaxing and fun week in an environment, inside and out, that fulfilled our hopes for a real Maine retreat. I was proud to share my state with my extended family at this special spot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank Anita,
You have been my favorite guest this year. I admire the time and energy you put into making your families retreat perfect in every way. From the floor plans and preparation I witnessed you were amazing. Boats, trailer, netting and everything you coordinated was very impressive. Thank you for the great photos of your family in action we loved them. And finally thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful 5 star review of our property. Much thanks, Paul & Shankari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K6584WPda...
Ipswich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach house for large family gathering!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

For years we have rented many houses along the coast of Maine from Orgs Island to Deer Island. The Retreat House is by far the very best we have rented. We are a family of 13 adults and 8 grandchildren so we need lots of varied sleeping space. Paul's house has it. We love to grill and eat outside and did this frequently on the expansive deck overlooking the ocean. But, what separates this house from all others we have considered or rented is the beach. We didn't need to get in our car to provide safe and fun swimming and other waterfront activities. It was just down some steps from the house. In the mornings we took walks along the shore to the park or visited the nearby lighthouse or fort and every afternoon we enjoyed the beach. We even did a lobster and clam bake on the beach. Just fantastic!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thanks Dale for the review and the great photos of your families cook outs and beach parties. Thank you for treating our home as you would treat your own. It was our pleasure having you here.
Respectfully,
Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsquared...
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place and fantastic host!”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Amazing place to stay, especially if you've got a large crowd. We booked this house for a family reunion and, since we had the family together, a wedding. The beautiful and private sandy(!) beach was perfect for a lobster fest the day before the wedding and a bonfire that night. The field across from the house was abloom in lupines and full of color, just perfect for the wedding ceremony. The house easily accompanied our large clan, with a huge wooden table for meals and lots of nooks and crannies for people to mingle. The house itself is unique and charming, with a variety of sleeping quarters throughout. And the huge decks were great for watching the sunrises.

And our hosts couldn't be beat. We actually rented the house in February (for June), just before Paul and Shankari bought the property. Not only did they fully honor our rental agreement, but they did an amazing job of upgrading the place from stem to stern, so we ended up with a much nicer place than what we originally saw. They kept us totally in the loop as the work progressed and went out of their way to make our wedding and our week perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Much Thanks Amy & Larry,
We are so happy your wedding ceremony here on the property and your stay at The Retreat House was everything and more than you expected. The photos you shared are truly beautiful. We are so happy that everyone enjoyed their week here. Wishing you a happy life together, It was a very nice to have met you.
Best,
Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramyakulk...
White Plains, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Location/Views”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have been to this place in Jul 2017.Are you guys looking over to spend some time away from busy office schedule? Definitely consider Maine,and in Maine plan ur stay in "RetreatHouse Maine" .We were a group of 14people and we stayed here for 3 nights - quick access go beach, morning walks in towards beach,campfire in the evenings, quick drive to near by super market,considerable drive to Barharbour and Acadia what else would you not love about this Stay? The house had any and every small thing that we could think off, great view from the patio, lawn in the front porch! We were able to manage with with 2 restrooms but seems like there are considering expanding so I won't mind you going back to this place again. Thanks to Paul who was always helpful and was available with quick updates and timely response !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Thanks Ramya,
You guys were the best. From the first email to the beautiful group photo you sent us as you departed it was a pleasure having you at The Retreat House. As I posted on our FB page about you group. It is so wonderful when strangers become friends, that is the way I feel about you, Sai and everyone in your group. Peace and Best Wishes. Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vladb
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“One of the best weekends of my life”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A gathering of friends (around 20 people, including 5 kids) stayed over Memorial day weekend, for a birthday celebration. My wife and I thought carefully about our rental selection when planning the trip - the private beach, large communal table, gorgeous deck, and the artsy ambiance of the house tipped the balance in this "retreat's" favor .

Not only did we explore the area for 4 days (trips to Belfast, Deer Isle, Blue Hill, and Acadia), but we also took full advantage of what the house had to offer. Even though it wasn't warm, we spent time on the beach and lit a bonfire at night. The beach is relatively secluded, so whatever noise we made did not appear to bother any of the neighbors.

We also used the lobster pot and the grill on one of the nights, and cooked several delicious meals in the kitchen. A Hannafords supermarket is within a 10-minute drive in Buckstport, and there is also a co-op store in Belfast specializing in organic fare.

We happened to be the first group to stay after renovations, and the friendly property manager was close at hand to make a few last-minute changes on our request. The owners even installed a larger TV and a blu-ray player in the "media corner" before our arrival.

The main house indeed sleeps 20-22 if all the cots and futons are used. Some perhaps may find the sleeping arrangements on the 2nd floor a bit tight, but a close-knit extended family or group of friends shouldn't have a problem. I haven't heard complaints from anyone in our group, and all agreed that this was a highly memorable weekend (and this comes from people who've been to plenty of unique events!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you kindly Vlad and Mallory for a very informative 5 star review. We were delighted having you and your friends launch our new Retreat House. The most rewarding part was the photo you send us featuring all 20+ of you sitting around the dining table enjoying a huge Lobster Feast. Your smiles light up the room and I could almost hear the laughter and good moments that you were sharing. You were wonderful to work with and we are so happy your stay was very enjoyable. Best, Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing