We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saco
Reviewed December 1, 2013

To start, I've never given anything a terrible score before this. I've never even given a poor review, but they deserve it.

Here's what happened. I arrive and they acknowledge the reservations which were made through hotwire. They say, "For an extra $20 we will upgrade you to a room with two beds." I said, "we should already have two beds, the room was reserved for four people. How are we going to sleep with four people in one bed." Anyway, I very quickly became angry - which just doesn't happen. After going back and forth for a bit, I asked to speak with the manager. Same thing all over again, they blamed it on hotwire not being a reliable company. (I've booked dozens of hotels through hotwire and I've never had any problems with any of my bookings before this one)

I believe the problems here goes all the way to the top. The head manager or owner has, obviously, decided that it would be a good idea to rip off travelers, whom they will never see again. I own my own business and if there is a problem, we will always fix it. They need to do the same. They had rooms with two beds. They should have given us one instead of charging extra for it. PERIOD

Don't go here, unless you like throwing away twenty dollar bills.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCairns, Manager at Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Clint M, I would like to apologize to you for your stay here at the Ramada Saco and that your were not completely satisfied with your stay.

At no time do we try to "Bait and switch" as you mentioned in your review. When guests buy a room on the third party sites, like hotwire as you did, the reservation gets generated to us and put into a king bed room since its our lowest priced room. Our rooms with two beds, or king rooms with fridge/microwave cost $20.00 more during the summer.

Once again I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 763 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Andrea Woodbury D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank hollyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saco
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Biddeford
1.7 mi away
Exit 5 Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Saco
Rodeway Inn Saco
#6 of 10 in Saco
53 reviews
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area

Address: 352 North St, Saco, ME 04072-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Saco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saco
Price Range: $71 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Saco, Maine. Our hotel is in Southern Maine and 5 mile from Old Orchard Beach. We are Saco's only Hotel & Conference Center featuring 4,000 square feet of meeting & conference space. Ramada Saco invites you to enjoy our beautifully decorated and spacious guestrooms. Enjoy our deluxe full hot continental breakfast, seasonal outdoor heated pool, free in-room wired high speed Internet access, on site laundry facilities, free local calls, free daily newspaper, Wyndham Rewards and so much more! Traveling on business or pleasure? Our hotel is located next door to Southern Maine Sportszone and across the street from Maine Hockey Group Ice Arena, home of the Portland Jr. Pirates. We are minutes away from the Biddeford Crossing Shopping Center along with University of New England. The Maine Mall located in Portland is 10 miles North, and the World famous L.L. Bean Flagship Store & Freeport Outlets is 30 miles North, don t forget about the Kittery Outlets just 35 miles South of the hotel. While visiting the beautiful Southern Maine Coast enjoy some of our local Festivals throughout the season. Saco/Old Orchard/Biddeford offers Beaches, Golf, Ice Skating, X-Country Skiing, Amusement Parks, & Saco Museum. Visit Walker Point in Kennebunkport enjoying more shopping & fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Saco Hotel Saco
Holiday Inn Saco
Saco Holiday Inn Express
Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing