We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Seafood Heaven”

Lobster Claw Pound & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Saco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fried Seafood Heaven”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've been going there for years and were there again last week.

The fried seafood is well prepared,not greasy and super tasty.

We got the Fisherman's platter, a lobster roll and a fish sandwhich. All were delicious!

Our waitress was friendly and attentive. I love sitting outside at a picnic table with my feet in gravel and the wind from the fan in my hair eating fried clams!

That is what a vacation is all about! I can't wait to go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missvonlipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    55
    18
    5
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Funky little set up...pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to play tourist the other night, and stopped at this local joint to check it out. Same fare that all the summer tourist places serve - lobster rolls overpriced, and fried any-kind-of-seafood-you -can-think-of. But the fries were unusual and very good, and the clam cakes were good. Servings looked generous around us. VERY unusual interior - kind of outdoors, but inside. Crushed rock floors with picnic tables and fans. Comfortable, casual, happy place. Reminded us of what the Clambake was years ago... my lobster roll was not impressive, but honestly? Its rare to find one that is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zacsmimi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Classic New England Seafood”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The service is friendly, the portions are huge, and the food is classic New England fried seafood. All of the seafood was fresh, tasty, and well prepared. We will definitely stop in here again on our next Maine trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If your in Maine !!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Every time I'm in Maine I have to make this one of my first stops. Battered whole bellies !!! You can't find them better!! They have been there for 45 years!! Must be doing something right!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delishfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“YES!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Did you know that Maine restaurants do not dilute their chowders or stews with flour???
YES!!

I arrived here on the suggestion of my AAA Tourbook.
When I arrived in late afternoon - after hugging the coast of Maine with my car and seeing all the little ocean resorts, I got hungry and needed my lobster fix.
This place DID NOT disappoint.

Jessica was good to me.. She was my waitress and I explained that flour would put me in the hospital so could she please guide me through the menu.
I chose the Haddock chowder, the 1.5 pound steamed lobster (EXTRA butter please), cole slaw and pickled beets.. Everything was delicious, hot, fresh, delicious...
My haddock chowder had bits of potato and onion in it.. Lots of cream and butter.
It was delicious and my first time having this fish chowder.
My lobster was delicious and hot, I ate everything I could suck out of the body.
Cole slaw was fresh, not too sweet and delicious.

I also had their 2 for 1 margarita which was pretty decent.. They use a sweet mix, and only pour 1 ounce per drink.. Still for $7 I got 2 ounces of tequila..

I would suggest this place, for sure!
Reasonable, friendly, all homemade food..
You cannot go wrong.

And..... drive along the beach in Saco and check out how the pine trees go all the way up to the sand on the beach.. It's a beautiful little town, full of pine trees and friendly people.
Reminded me of New Haven, CT with the row houses..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank LynneDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Claw Pound & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Claw Pound & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing