We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been going for years and still love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wormwood's Restaurant - CLOSED

Wormwood's Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Been going for years and still love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I used to come here every summer with my family. We haven't been able to make it to Saco every year for the past few years, but I still sometimes make the 2 hour trek just to dine here annually. Their garlic bread is undoubtedly my all time favorite. So garlicy, buttery, and juicy, I just wish I had the recipe so I could make it on my own. Sometimes, not even kidding, I fill myself up on the bread alone. They have pretty decent garden salad but my all time favorite dish of theirs is the lobster alfredo. I can't explain it that well, but the sauce is so creamy and delicious and the mix of fresh lobster, a generous portion of it at that, just creates a flavor explosion in my mouth. I alos like their shrimp scampi and it's great that they offer small and large portions because the large ones are definitely huge. My family orders fried haddock and they have not yet been disappointed. Escargot isn't my thing but my dad really likes it here so it's probably worth a try if you're into that. Service is sometimes slow but for a great meal at a great price, it's definitely the least of my concerns. Even when it's crowded though, there's usually little to no wait. This place is a must if you are in Saco. Much better than mediocre Huot's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lona exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Walk in on a Monday night had to wait. Walked around outside. Seated when we returned placed an order for a martini. Quickly retuned place our order. Escargot, fish and chips, surf and turf (med rare)with lobster. Escargots very good could have used a crusty bread. Otherwise good. Dinner arrived lona waited for me to make sure my steak was done correctly. It was medium not Med rare as ordered. She returned it to the kitchen immediately. She told me you will get your steak as you asked. It didn't take long. I received a new lobster tail with it. All was perfect and hot. She took off some of the price. We were thrilled. Excellent service and food. The atmosphere was fine.
And the restaurant full. We will be back. Thank you Lona

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momisnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Petersburg, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A not to return to dining experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wormwoods has been in Camp Ells for what seems to be forever and I doubt it has ever been decorated in the past 25 years! The food is very average, service was poor and the place is dirty and in dire need of renovations. The restaurant had a musty odor to it which was off putting. Having lived in Camp Ellis for 10 years I tried Wormwoods several times but every time thought why do I return, this time I will not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food! Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

this is one of our favorite places to eat in Maine. It's been there forever but the food is still great. You must try the broccoli salad, sounds strange but it's excellent. The usual lobster and seafood dishes are great and the strawberry shortcake was the best all year. Go for a stroll on the breakwater for the views after dinner. Excellent

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, ME, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Run. Run away fast.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

New to the area. Friends took us to this restaurant. I thought we were going to Huet's where we have always had fabulous food. Walked into Wormwoods. Smelled like pee. This place is way past time for a complete remodel. No air conditioning so it was hot. Our waitress who works as a social worker during the day was less than pleased to be there I think. Not very friendly. When I asked for a fork she took one from another table and actually threw it at me. Nice. She perked up a bit when she brought the check but was very curt. The food. Just go somewhere else. Two of us ordered stuffed haddock. The stuffing (which is on top of the fish) was nasty and dry. The fish was dry. This was for both of our orders. Run away fast. Do not even stop to read the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Glynis407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing