We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saco
maui
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We rented the 36 foot trailer for the night even though it was only two of us. It was an older model but amazingly spacious. It has room to sleep 6 comfortably with a living room, dining room, and full kitchen with regular sized refrigerator. It had one tv with dvd player and cable. Dvd selection is small at campstore but redbox down the street. The bathroom is nice sized with a full shower but the tank underneath fills up so you may be hoofin it down to the showers...very close though. This campground has the feeling of being deep in the woods with all the trees, but in reality you are right off the main thoroughfare. Friendly people and lots to do. Be sure to try the run of the mill restaurant down on the waterfront! And..use the trolley to get to the beach..parking down there is a nightmare!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauigirl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
76
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
553 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for the fourth time. It's very close the the ocean. We usually come up the weekend after Labor Day because the weather is still good, there are almost no crowds and the price is about half of normal rates. Each time, the staff have always been wonderful. The kabins are clean and the bathrooms are nice. The children enjoy the playground and swimming pool. We've stayed at alot of KOAs and this one is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family has been camping since I was a child. We have done the tent route, the pop-up route, and most recently the rental trailer route. I would say we are pretty experienced campers.

We found the Saco Old Orchard KOA 2 years ago when the campground we had stayed in Old Orchard went 100% seasonal, and I can't say enough good things about it.

We travelled with 6 adults and 2 children, and rented 2 of the rental trailers and one cabin. All of the accomodations were clean and very well maintained. We experienced a couple minor issues which were quickly remedied. Each campsite has a picnic table and fire ring, and the sites themselves were very spacious.

The public restrooms were spotless every time we used them. While we did have bathrooms in our units, with a number of adults and children, we often used the public restrooms and even the showers a couple times, and they were always clean.

The entire campground is very well maintained. The staff is very visable on a daily basis working on cleaning and upkeep of the sites. My sister and I walked the campground every day, and never did we see any trash or garbage, and the "roads" were kept clear.

The pool wasn't huge, but it was very clean and well maintained. I like that the "deep" end wasn't too deep, and it gave us more room to "play".

The playground for the kids was very cute, and my son loved it. While at first we were disappointed there were no swings, it quickly became a non issue as there was plenty to keep him busy. I love that the ground is covered with sand, great idea.

We enjoyed breakfast at the Merry Moose a few times, and it was wonderful. Especially loved the blueberry pancakes! Desserts there were great (and large) too.

The staff was wonderful. We never once had any issue with any member of the staff. By the end of our stay were knew many by first name, and were always greeted with a smile. My sister and (now) brother-in-law got engaged during our stay, and the staff helped us to put up signs and balloons at the entry way to congratulate them. While I never had the chance to meet or speak with Larry, Nancy (the co-owner) was a doll. She and I emailed back and forth several times in preparation for our trip. She was always willing and able to answers my questions, and did everything she was able to to help make our vacation just perfect.

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stays have been here. I am sorry some other reviewers didn't have a good experience, but in the 2 years we have been, we really have never had anything to complain about!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaLee812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I don't get the good reviews. This is a place to stay away from at all costs. If you go to campgrounds regularly this is one to avoid. Campground prides itself on poor service and less than perfect camp sites. The owner is not someone you want to meet. Deal with the staff if you can this guy is nasty even with small children around. He is a fowl man to meet!

Good luck!

Room Tip: Ask for a dry spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Koa is the best campground around! Clean, friendly and quiet. A must stay for any campers out there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieSkowheganKOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here 4 nights in August in a tent trailer with kids ages 7 and 10. Great central location for shopping and fun activities. Campground staff were very helpful and friendly, cleanest bathrooms and showers we've ever seen in a campground (and many hotels!). We loved the pool -- very warm and never crowded during our stay. Stayed in a premium site, and considered it worth the extra cost because of proximity to bathrooms and extra space/trees in site. Will absolutely return when travelling in Maine. Loved the pancakes!

Room Tip: Pick a premium site if you like a more wooded and private feel in campsites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp00kyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I'm not sure why our experience was not similar to some of the other posted reviews, but I can assure you that my friends and I will never return to this campground and will tell everyone we know not to do the same. The day before we arrived, we called to confirm that we would have six people staying at the site, and everything was fine by them. However, the second night we were there, the owner accused us of blatantly lying about the number of people we had, and charging us an extra 35 dollars. He then demanded we take one of our tents down. Not only that, the owner also said he had been eavesdropping on our conversation and accused us of talking about "demon worshipping," and that it wasn't allowed on his campsite. I have honestly no idea where the hell he got that from, and even if we were to be that ridiculous, last time I checked it is a free country and we can talk about whatever we want. The staff consisted of cranky people who literally have nothing else to do but to drive around and yell at people for nothing. We were shoved in to a small tent site that was basically the backyard of a cabin and charged a decent amount for it. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is if you are adults that are looking to stay somewhere and actually enjoy yourselves, the Saco KOA is not the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saco
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
1.8 mi away
Exit 5 Motel and Cottages
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Saco
Rodeway Inn Saco
#6 of 10 in Saco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campground
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campgr...
#7 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA

Property: Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA
Address: 814 Portland Rd, Saco, ME 04072-9788
Location: United States > Maine > Saco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Saco Portland Hotel Saco
Saco/Old Orchard Beach KOA Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing