We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB~View~Fabulous lobster, crab and lobster rolls”

Muscongus Bay Lobster
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Round Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat local seafood on our spacious deck overlooking Round Pond Harbor. Causal outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. Open Mother's Day until Columbus Day, seven days a week.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BYOB~View~Fabulous lobster, crab and lobster rolls”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is my husbands absolute favorite crab roll. The offer whole wheat bread also and they must fry it on the griddle, since it is nice and crispy with the 1/4 pound of crab or 1/4 pound of lobster if you rather have a lobster roll. The oysters are very good also, raw and local. I love their larger lobsters and I go for the hard shell one here when we go for dinner.. Bring a table cloth and wine or beer and just stare at the lovely cove. This is a low key, Maine experience that we enjoy so so much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    22
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a great place.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family came here to celebrate my brother's 29th birthday. We brought extra food for myself and mother (which they encourage) because neither of us eat seafood. Lo and behold, they have expanded their menu with pasta options and a kid's menu, which was never there before! We ate what we brought but also got some pasta which we were pleased with. My brother got his twin lobster special which he loved. Attentive, happy people, gorgeous views, all around a wonderful day.
I love that they encourage you to bring extras. Most places would balk at that! Also excellent prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lobster-- and a vegetarian daughter!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

With beer and sides in hand we landed here for dinner, 13 years after our first visit. Now we brought two kids -- one who is a lobster fanatic at 9 yrs old; one who is vegetarian. We were able to make both happy with the lobster, steamers and corn AND the expanded menu that offered pasta for the non-lobster crowd. The fog settled in and cleared as we ate. We went later on a Sunday night, avoided the crowds. Cannot imagine a trip to this region without a meal here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZuMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster on the water”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Everything thing served here is boiled - just so you know. The clams, lobster, and corn were deliciously sweet. We went late afternoon on a Sunday and walked right up to the counter - no waiting at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pure Maine Atmosphere but Inefficient Kitchen- a mixed bag-”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Staff training is poor- be prepared to tolerate mediocre staff in exchange for fresh lobster and great harbor views. With low expectations you will love it- I, on the other hand, had numerous issues which I tried to overlook. Great: the view, the BYOB, the fresh quality of the lobster, the clientele who wisely adorn their picnic tables with their own linens, stemware, acoutrements, candles and add-ons like salads and apps. Poor: kitchen chaos, the long line to one staff member to place an order; being overcharged for more expensive sized lobster than what we ordered; food delivered piecemeal, not all at once, and the garlic-and-onion sauced pasta was both burnt garlic and brought out ice cold. Butter is a separate charge, and one was forgotten as well. Although appetizers such as fresh steamer clams and bacon wrapped scallops were delicious, one cannot order them to precede the main course! Restaurant prices without the love and attention to the guests! They'd do better to reengineer the staff training and simplfy the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stocktonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muscongus Bay Lobster also viewed

New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Round Pond, Mid Coast Maine
 
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Muscongus Bay Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing