We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just had a great winter weekend at Tomhegan! Very cold and lots of snow but the cabin was warm and toasty along with being very clean. We brought our grandkids who enjoyed the snowmobiles we rented and the Lake Trout we caught. This place is a winter wonderland! It is a great place for family outings. The managers are great people also.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Tomhegan Camps. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks for bringing your grandkids. We are sure that you created memories for the that will stay with them for their whole lifetime Please do consider staying with us again. Please follow us on Facebook and never hesitate to give us a call at 207-534-7712 if we can be of service to you again. Stay well and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

My first trip to Tomhegan was in August of 1998. I had two children at the time ... ages 5 and 2 ... and they thought we were someplace magical. We all did. The deer ate from our hands and wandered gracefully around the property. My shoulders relaxed a little bit more with each deep breath of air that smelled of the lake and the woods. Our cabin had everything we needed and the managers went out of their way to make sure we felt like the only guests there. The kids are now much older, but they still love looking at our old pictures of Tomhegan, and they continue to ask "can we going back there again this year?" What a special place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a kind review. We work real hard to make our guest experiences memorable and it is nice to hear your compliments. We certainly appreciate it. We especially like it when we hear from our guests who introduced children to the wonders of Tomhegan. We can only hope that you and they will come visit us again, and again, and again. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My 5 year old son had requested a safari or camping for his 5th birthday. The month was May. A safari in Maine, well that was out. Camping in May, could be cold. So Tomhegan Camp was the ticket for our family of 4. We stayed in a wonderful cabin called Spinney. When we checked in the owners asked what brought us there. My kids piped up a birthday. They surprised our son with candy and a few bags of grain to feed the dear for his birthday. This all took place 5 years ago. My kids then 5 & 8, now 9 & 12 still talk about our "best birthday get away ever." This summer we are going back with some friends. My kids can't wait to go fishing, feed the wildlife, and have campfires at night, go on some needed long walks on the many trails right from camp! So my oldest son's advise for you, "take a load off your shoulders and go to Tomhegan Camps for a lot of surprising fun!" My youngest son advise, "You have to go because it's AWSOME!" Spinney was a very clean and cozy cabin with a beautiful rock fireplace in the kitchen/living room area. The covered deck is large with comfortable seating and a gas grill for cooking. Each cabin has its own private lakefront spot with a fire pit. You roast marshmallows watching the stars listening to the water splashing the shore line. We can't say enough about this wonderful Maine get away. The care takers are just as wonderful as the setting around you. Do yourself a favor and go visit. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are a little more secluded then others. Depending on if you want to be surrounde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie and J... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your flattering review. Lots of great memories are created at Tomhegan Camps and it is certainly a heaven for kids. Thanks so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Stay well. Tomehgan Camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have been going to Tomhegan Camps for 30 years. We have been in a few different cabins but #7 Flagg is home to us. The grounds are beautiful, Norm & Leona take care of everything you need. They are the best thing going up there. My hubby gets up early and is out fishing almost everyday. Sometimes we have salmon or Brook trout for dinner, you never know the lake is willing to give up. If you are looking for a beautiful relaxing vacation give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your stay with us and the flattering review. We welcome all comments, suggestions and compliments too :-). We know that our guests have limited time to stay with us so our goal is to make that time the best experience that they can possibly have. Stay well and please come stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have been going to Tomhegan camps in the winter time sence the middle 1980's. Back then there was no bath room's in the camps, you had to go to the lodge. There was also only wood heat. Fast forward to today the camps are all remodeled and are so very nice. The fishing is great in front of the camps. I would never consider going any where else. The folks that run the camp's bend over backwards for the guest that stay there. Do your self a favor an stay at Tomhegan camps.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray2014476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for the kind review of Tomhegan Camps. We love to hear from our guests, especially those who have been coming for years and see all the improvements we have made. Thanks for your long-time friendship and we look forward to serving you again, and again, and again....for many years to come. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Tomhegan is the place to go when you need a 'mental health' week! I just wish it was closer to home. Many years ago (the 1970s) our little family of 3 discovered this bit of Heaven on Earth and returned several times. The fabulous fishing, feeding every animal that came to the door and evenings playing Monopoly are memories that we have carried throughout the years. Mostly, we remember it as a together- time. The years have passed but the memories were fresh...I wanted to spend one more week at Tomhegan and I was not disappointed. The new managers are as wonderful as the original and my two cabin-mates agreed that it was just as I had described it... the immaculate cabins and grounds and constant sightings of wildlife brings immediate peace and tranquility for those who just need to get away. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Owner at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a positive review and for staying with us again recently, Linda. We will always remember the great photos that you folks provided. The bobcat series was amazing. Thank you. Please do stay in touch with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in "Moosewood", cabin#9. Everything about our time there was perdect. The cabin was comfortable, clean and thecview of Moosehead Lake was unbeatable. The wildlife on the grounds was phenomenal. We literally hand fed whitetail deer. It was truly a magical experience. The property managers were so friendly and personable, like old friends. The entire region is spectacular. Hike Mt. Kineo if you can, breathtaking.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschidlovsky, Manager at Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such a favorable review and for your recent stay with us. We are really, really blessed to have the wildlife that we do for our guests to enjoy. Hope you come back again real soon. Stay well and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins

Address: 832 Spinney Road, Rockwood, ME 04478
Location: United States > Maine > Rockwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rockwood
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tomhegan Wilderness Camps, featuring private four-season cabin rentals and a lodge on Moosehead Lake Maine. Guest comfort is our number one priority! Year-round family, and sportsman activities abound. All rental options are clean, well maintained and well equipped for your comfort. Call today and speak to our caretakers to select a private cabin or comfortable room in the lodge that is right for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tomhegan Wilderness Cabins Rockwood, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing