We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maynard's in Maine

Maynard's in Maine
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Rockwood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: GREAT Dinner's in the woods of Maine as there are few good places in such remote areas! Thanks for putting them on the Tripadvisor Map.... we were so grateful to find this place and have a good and civilized meal!
new hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great food with a wonderful view of the river. The service was excellent. Fresh eggs in the morning and a picnic lunch each day. We had a picky 8 year old with us and they accommodated him with chicken strips. We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank e0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food & View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Maynard's is in Rockwood, Maine. It is definitely one of the better restaurants in this area. Each night there are only 2 entrées on the menu. We were told that the evening we planned on eating there, the choices were either scallops or pork roast. Of the four people in our party, 3 had the scallops and one had the pork. All agreed that the food was DELICIOUS! Since there are few really good restaurants in this area, I highly recommend Maynard's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss Maynard's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is always a highlight of trips to Maine. Very good food served in a Maine lodge. Reservations are a must and there are only two entree choices but the meals are big and well prepared. The prime rib is excellent. The restaurant is BYOB. We like to get there a little early and enjoy the view from the big deck.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home cooked food in a warm and friendly Maine lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The locals recommended Maynard's of Maine as the best restaurant in the Moosehead Lake region. The restaurant is located off of Rt 15 about 25 minutes from the center of Greenville. The ride to the restaurant is very scenic. Maynard's offers 2 main courses a day with a limited number of additional items. The food is home cooked and very tasty. The portions are large. Most of the diners are staying at the Maynard's cottages but they also accept a limited amount of other customers by reservation only.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LKSnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, simple, North Eastern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Maynard's has a really simple concept: limited choice, but hearty food delivered to your table promptly and with a smile. If you want haute cuisine look elsewhere. But if you want a good meal to re-fuel after a day hiking then Maynard's is perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maynard's in Maine also viewed

 

Been to Maynard's in Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing