We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much to do, that a week wasn't enough...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Birches Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Birches Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rockwood
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much to do, that a week wasn't enough...”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a great time in one of the cabins. Two adults and three kids fit perfectly.

Probably the smartest thing we did was to rent a boat from the owner (he has probably 4 or so to choose from) to enjoy the beautiful lake including water skiing and exploring. I was amazed at how warm the water was and how close our place was to what was essentially our own private beach.

Taking the boat across the lake to one of three different coves meant that we could choose our secluded spot, even though it was in the beginning of August. My daughters inner tubed and knee boarded which was a huge hit. We decided to keep the boat for the week and used it every day. You just can't believe how clear the fresh water lake is. I wish I had brought my snorkel, mask and fins. I've had visibility in the Caribbean that can't compare to this.

At night, we used a canoe to go out after dinner, at 9:30 when it was completely dark to look at the stars. This is a must do. For three nights in a row we went out on the glass calm water just a hundred feet from the cabin and managed to see the space station and satellites fly overhead. By 10:30 the moon had come up and it wasn't nearly as dark, but it was fun to catch the moonrise.

We grilled dinner almost every night outside in front of the cabin and finished off with s'mores. On the last night we decided to try the restaurant. The portions were huge and very inexpensive. We were just too full to take advantage of the pies. They had all my favorite beers on tap, which was a surprise.

The cabins were built in the 1930s, so it's not the Hilton. But we were interested in staying at a cabin on a lake. With wildlife. And that's exactly what we got. And the price was great.

While canoeing we came across a bald eagle flying from one tree to another. It happened to fly directly over us and then dropped a large white feather. The perfect souvenir.

At the end of the week, we realized there were so many other things we didn't fit in. A hike up Kineo mountain is reason enough for us to want to come back next year. Wish we could have done that. Next year the kids will be ready for water skiing, and I would love to try the 'Air Chair' which is another form of water skiing that uses a hydrofoil.

We're definitely coming back.

Room Tip: All cabins have access to the shoreline, but some have their own 'pebble beach.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
26
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed a couple of days in a cabin by the lake. Wonderful location, relaxing and very scenic. Swimming was great. As another guest mentioned, we also had mice in our cabin (I didn't mention them to the others staying with us until after we left) but I only saw them once. Perhaps they were frightened by us and moved out for a few days. We ate in the restaurant, even made reservations, but they kept running out of food and having to change our order. The waitress was as helpful as she could be but the kitchen did not seem to be well organized. The beds were pretty lumpy and the decor is accurately described as rustic. We did have a stove (that we didn't use) and a refrigerator. I would stay again simply because of the location but next time I'd stock up on groceries and prepare my own meals and only eat in the dining room once or twice. The management did tolerate a bunch of drunks sitting on the porch one evening who verged on rudeness to other guests but we simply left and sat on our own porch. Enjoyed the hot tub, too. I rated them very good because of the location - with a little work, this could be a great property. It may be that there real season is winter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IlliniTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

in our cabin at least. We stayed three nights, found the location perfect - idyllic in fact, right on the lake. Lovely rustic cabin with sufficient furniture and kitchen equipment to make most meals work, a fire pit, picnic tables etc. We'd brought a BBQ and charcoal, so we were set.

However, virtually every light switch/lamp in the place had faulty (dangerous) fittings and there needed to be more central light generally. This made for a very dark cabin.

When leaving, I thought I'd give the housecleaning staff a hand and stripped the beds - wish I hadn't. The pillows... reminded me of the quote by Bill Bryson from A SHORT HISTORY OF NEARLY EVERYTHING..: "Your pillow alone may be home to 40 million bed mites. (To them your head is just one large oily bon-bon). And don't think a clean pillow-case will make a difference... Indeed, if your pillow is six years old--which is apparently about the average age for a pillow--it has been estimated that one-tenth of its weight will be made up of sloughed skin, living mites, dead mites and mite dung.” So if visiting, bring your own pillow!

A plus was a receptionist who went above and beyond to get us on a moose safari by boat which was very enjoyable, quite thorough and informative, but alas - through no fault of theirs - no moose. Still provided a lovely 3 hours on the lake.

Such a pity - prime location, very romantic, just attention to detail...
Former B&B Owner

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The good news is that The Birches has a beautiful panoramic location on the edge of Moosehead Lake. We had a nice deck right over the water with comfortable Adirondack chairs. The convenient fire pits offered an easy cooking area and a great spot to hang out in the evening. The office staff and wait staff, Donna, MaryAnn, Holly and Marsha, were super friendly and helpful and always offered interesting conversations. The main lodge was very nice and offered a friendly bar and a dining room with terrific food and huge portions. They also offered outdoor dining in pleasant areas next to the lake. My wife said the fitness center was new and up to date. The rustic cabins are as advertised - rustic, very rustic. So the bad news is the cabin included lots of spider webs in the inside window frames and outside porch. The windows had flimsy curtains and only two windows could be opened. The bathroom is cramped, one low wattage bulb, no shelf space and the small shower stall walls flopped in and out if you touched them. The cabin lighting is sparse and we had to move lamps in the bedroom to read at night. Granted it is a rustic cabin and it was almost cozy if we overlooked the details above. I just didn’t think it was worth the $207 per night for a log cabin. For that price we should have at least received some amenities like free breakfast (like a B&B), daily towel service or maybe free use of the kayaks. See my review of the Wave Walker in Surry, ME near Acadia for model accommodations at a lower price. I would have given a higher rating if the prices were lower.

The morning pontoon moose tour was excellent and Tony was a great tour guide. The evening jeep tour was disappointing.

Try to visit Pittston Farms. If you have kids they'll love it. it's a huge working farm with cows, horses and goats. They serve big meals and home made ice cream and milk shakes. The adults will like their museum. it's a little far from The Birches but you'll probably see moose and maybe bear along the way. Jen, the chef, was a delight as was her husband and owner Gus.

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon cabin with a deck over the lake and a little private beach. It was the furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in cabin VIII last October and had a great time. It was very cozy, with it's own wood stove. We loved the living area with a large table where we played cards. It was right on the water so we could sit on our picnic table and watch the ducks. We loved it and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stace44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. My family and I have been coming to the Birches for the past 11 years. The cabins are rustic, cozy and right on the water. The views are spectacular. The staff is very friendly. Now when we come we feel like family. The lodge has a feel of warmth and relaxation. Two big fireplaces and comfy couches beckon you to sit and sip a drink. Food is yummy, home cooked taste and great pies ! Great place to take the family and enjoy a week of relaxation and connect with nature.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Staff is accommodating and friendly. Place is rustic log cabin awesome. Can't wait for summer. They have boat rentals too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockwood
17.5 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
39 reviews
19.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Resort

Property: The Birches Resort
Address: Off Rte. 6/15, On Moosehead Lake, 281 Birches Rd., Rockwood, ME 04478
Location: United States > Maine > Rockwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rockwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shores of Moosehead Lake, The Birches Resort features the best in north-woods style accommodations, dining, and family fun. Our lodging options right on the lake and with a close up view of Mt. Kineo range from our famous Rustic Cabins, Kozy Cabins, Private Homes, Lodge Rooms, Camp/RV sites, Suites, and more. With so many summer and winter activities to offer you can see why our satisfied guests have come back year after year for generations! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Birches Hotel Rockwood
Birches Hotel Rockwood
The Birches Resort Rockwood, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing