We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable, excellent WiFi. I was fortunately able to book a last-minute reservation for a weekend night during the prime summer season, in the popular Rockport/Camden area.

Dayle and David were perfect and helpful hosts. The motel has rooms on 2 floors. Dayle considerately suggested a room on the ground floor since, as a woman traveling alone, I would not have to carry luggage up a flight myself.

The breakfast was more than adequate. The location on Rte 1 is very convenient. It is very close to a Hanneford supermarket and a Renys department store.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was booking a room last minute during the Lobster Festival and basically, this was the only place that had availability and was fairly affordable (given the season and the festival). Ended up being surprisingly nice. They had a very light breakfast (English muffins, cereals, fruit cup, juices and coffee), rooms were clean, the owners were very friendly, cable tv, and room was quite a bit bigger than I expected too. Also had a mini refrigerator in the room. Right on Route 1 and close to Rockland and Camden.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

a nice and clean place to stay
we had 2 rooms for 4 nights during the Lobster Festival
only drawback is the cont. bfsk. is at the home on top of the hill
while your rooms are at the bottom of the hill
not good when it rains in Maine, but really a nice clean place to stay
we spent a lot of money here and would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigknothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

For a budget conscious yet discerning traveler, this motel is a great find. While the rooms are very modest, they are exceptionally clean and well stocked. Especially impressive was the lighting which allowed reading without effort. Quaint and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bahm143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is the third year my wife and I have stayed here while attending a woodworking class in Rockport. The rooms are as clean and fresh as the first time we found this gem. Neat, clean, good price, convenient location....... what more could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Schooner Bay was perfect for us. If you want a quiet, clean and homey place to stay in the Rockland-Camden area, look no farther. On-site owners and hosts went the extra mile to assure a comfortable 3-night stay. Great location and breakfast room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERMESR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Cost-cutting construction and furnishings, a water-saver toilet that barely flushed, burned out lights, non-fuctional wi-fi, and unwelcoming hosts. Only for the very tired. I notice that all negative reviews are rebutted as I'm sure this one will be, but it was what it was...

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank georgia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bro248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

Very little this Reviewer has said is true. Only truth is we do have water-saving toilets.

This reviewer stayed with us 1 night and we had little contact with them. We greeted them when they checked-in and we made one request of them. One of the guests in this room was sitting on our deck with the windows open to their room as well as the windows next door to their room, smoking. We are a non-smoking facility but let guests smoke outside away from the building. Sometimes we don’t know the guest is a smoker and this is one of those times. We politely called the guests and asked them to smoke away from the building. Nothing was said in their review about the smoking. We feel the reviewer did not like this request and this review is the result.

All lights and light switches were working properly before & after the reviewer’s stay as was the Wi-Fi. A guest 2 rooms away used the Wi-Fi the same day as the Reviewer’s stay and had no problems.

When a light or light bulb goes out or the Wi-Fi doesn’t work or there’s a problem with a toilet, guests contact the front desk and have the problem taken care of. This reviewer never called, never spoke to us about any problems. As we said, the review is a result of the smoking request and nothing to do with these alleged problems. This is a poor use of Trip Adviser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.5 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Lodge at Seven Mountains
3.2 mi away
Claddagh Motel & Suites
Claddagh Motel & Suites
#6 of 10 in Rockport
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Address: 337 Commercial St, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856-4403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $59 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Bay Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing