We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claddagh Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claddagh Motel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is one of those road side motels that meets your needs for a fair price. If you are looking for a clean, safe and comfortable night's stay without all the extras this is the place for you. The owner is charming and he was more than happy to show us the room. Our room was small, but so clean you eat off the floor. It was all we needed and we were glad to have it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    52
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
114
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a motel you see on the side of the road and wonder can I spend 2 nights here before I get onto the rest of my vacation and the answer was "yes" for us. Alex is delightful, his property is clean, neat, had a comfy bed, decent shower, nice continental breakfast and wonderfully located in Mid-coast Maine. We were heading for 7 days up the coast in Eastport and he provided a great stop on the way. I took a chance based on Trip Advisor's reviews, good job, guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNormanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped there on our way to Mt. Desert Island. The Irish owner was very friendly and showed us the way to the beach. The view is interesting, but the bay is probably not suited for swimming. The breakfast was very good with Irish bakery and fesk fruits. The rooms are Motel style, but nevertheless very good and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The owners of this roadside motel are very nice, but the property is pretty dated. I thought the hotel was a tad expensive for the tired decor. It's an OK place, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying with us but am rather shocked by your review. The particular room you were in was completely done over in the last year or so. The carpet was replaced two years ago and the room was newly painted last year.We also put in a 32 inch flat screen T.V. this year. I have a difficult time understanding what you mean by "Tired Decor" when virtually everything in the room is new. The room comes equipped with a refrigerator and coffee maker. You have two wing back arm chairs for comfort. All the wall hangings ( pictures) on the walls are also new along with all the bed linens, comforter and throw cushions. I would really love to know what exactly you mean. While I understand it may not be your choice of color or decor for that matter it certainly does not qualify for the term "Tired Decor".Fortunately, there are many people that like our rooms and color schemes and appreciate all the hard work we put into it.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
522 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy our stay, primarily due to its location and the wonderful owners who make you feel like family. The rooms are old, but comfortable. They are definitely on the small side, and the cost is more than I like to pay for this type of place. However, lodging in this area in the summer is high everywhere. The breakfast is super!

Room Tip: I have not heard any road noise here, no matter which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacks, Owner at Claddagh Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I want to thank you for staying at the Claddagh and for your kind words about us (the owners). You mentioned you were a repeat customer of ours so you probably are aware that we are constantly doing up our rooms. This year we have replaced 60% of our T.V.s to flat screens and the remainder we will do next year. We also replaced many of our bathroom floor coverings this year and replaced most of the room carpets two/three years ago. We are always updating our rooms, we added refrigerators and coffee makers some years back.We are always painting both the interior and exterior every Spring and Fall. Delighted you enjoyed the continental breakfast, we do offer quite an assortment of goodies.We are an older motel thus the room sizes are smaller than the newer more modern lodgings today. However, we have larger rooms with two beds and also two bedroomed units and suites. For a small motel like ours we have quite a variety of units, all shapes and sizes. We certainly have taken all this into consideration and that's why we are one of the most reasonable lodgings in the area especially for what we have to offer. I hope you had a chance to walk down to the ocean (cove) via our private access and get some treasures for yourself, sea glass etc! We hope you will come back to see us again in the future and see all the changes we have made between your visits. Once again, Thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Claddagh Motel after reading all of the great reviews on tripadvisor. I'm glad we did! Our stay was especially nice because of the owners. Alex greeted us at check in with friendly conversation and suggestions of things in the area to see. Our room was basic but very clean and cozy. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. While we were there we visited Owl's Head Light State Park (at Alex's suggestion) and Birch Point Beach State Park which were both great and close by. After we had checked out and were eating breakfast in town, we got a call from Alex letting us know that we had forgotten a few things in the room and he was putting them aside for us. We were so happy they called us! We were still close by so we went back to collect our forgotten belongings and thank them. If you want a clean room at a reasonable rate and super friendly owners then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tj2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have visited the Claddagh for years, so when we were coming up for a wedding nearby, this is the only place we considered. The motel itself, is an older property with relatively small rooms. The ground are spacious and there is private access to a very pretty cove on the bay. The décor can be a little (or more than a little) over-the-top, but it is a lot of fun in a very Irish way. What sets this place apart is the owners, Alex and Siobhan. They are Irish to the core and the nicest people in the world. There is nothing they won't do to make your stay more pleasant, from steering you to area gems you would never find, to helping out in all kinds of emergencies. Siobhan is responsible for the décor and the cleanliness of the rooms. By this, I mean there is not a surface in the place you couldn't eat off. It's nothing short of amazing. Alex presides over the front desk and breakfast room. Allow extra time in the morning, because he can talk the ear off a brass monkey and you wouldn't want to miss a word. This is a very special place. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't it. The kind of people who run this motel are much rarer than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
1.9 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
3.2 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claddagh Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claddagh Motel & Suites

Property: Claddagh Motel & Suites
Address: 1044 Commercial St, P.O. Box 988 Rockport ME 04856, Rockport, ME 04856-3801
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockport
#5 Family Hotel in Rockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Claddagh Motel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cozy Irish-owned motel set on 3 plus acres of well manicured grounds with white picket fences scattered throughout. In room coffee,refrigerators,free local & long distance phone calls US & Canada & wi-fi. All rooms decorated in an Irish cottage style with painted beams, lace linens & tablecloths. Continental breakfast every morning serving Irish Tea & Scones just to name a few. Heated outdoor pool on site & private access to Clam Cove Beach only a two minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Claddagh Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claddagh Motel And Suites
Claddagh Hotel Rockport
Claddagh Motel Rockport
Claddagh Motel & Suites Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing