We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful room with a Fantastic view!”
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Our deluxe ocean view room was beautifully decorated in yellow ,blues and white. The bed faced the ocean, so waking to the sunrise was divine. The water sparkled like diamonds as the schooners sailed by. The room entrance was on the first floor( super convenient), but the balcony was elevated over the sloping property, and the view could not have been more beautiful.
Before dinner, we enjoyed prosecco down by the Bay. Four wonderful days! Convenient to restaurants in area. The local lady who worked at the front desk was very friendly . A resident cat with a colorful history on site, with it's very own story book.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMBFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

We have stayed in many motels in the area and have found the Island View Inn a super choice. It is extremely clean, which is number one priority, and the view and price can't be beat. I would recommend this Inn to anyone and everyone. I am sure people have had their issues with the Inn but that can be said about any hotel/Inn. It is located between Camden and Rockland which makes it convenient to both towns. Though you can't walk to either town from the Inn, you are away from the hustle and bustle of town. We have stayed twice and will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This was the cutest inn. The beds were so comfy and we had a balcony with a gorgeous view. The rooms were spotless. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay for one night. My one negative is that the container for the hot water for tea had previously had coffee in it, and you could taste it in your tea, which I hate. Not a big deal, and I would defnitely recommend this inn. We also thought the room rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAP1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

If you're looking for a place to stay in or close to Camden, but don't want to pay for an expensive room in Camden...this is the place to stay! We were so happy when we checked into our room and ended up sitting on the patio the rest of the afternoon! The pictures are spot on and the view out or patio is absolutely beautiful. Our only regret about staying here is that we're here just one night.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cedar_shake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was just like the picture. It may have been small but it was just the two of us. The view was lovely, as were the grounds. I couldn't say enough to describe how nicely the rooms and grounds were taken care of with TLC.
My only complaint was the people at the front desk could bra little more welcoming. However, this was only our second trip to the New England area and perhaps that is common. We would definitely return or recommend! The pictures are accurate!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wjhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed for four nights and paid top dollar. Two days into our stay we lost wireless internet in our room. We repeatedly called the front desk, visited front desk twice and it was implied that it was our laptop. Laptop did not work in our room but did in office. Finally they rebooted router and service was restored in our room for a small amount of time and then did not work again. I wanted to checkout at 11 am to find a hotel with working internet but they would not refund the night to come and refused to comp any amount for the inconvenience of two days without internet. I lost a fair amount of business time due to this and was disappointed with the blatant disregard with this problem, Finally,while the room was clean with spectacular views, the mattress was
one of the most uncomfortable mattress we have slept on.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danarockportmaine, Owner at Island View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2010

We are sorry that we could not solve your situation while staying at Island View Inn.
The WIFI is not something we can totally control. We have to rely on our internet provider, Fairpoint. If their service is down, not only will the wifi be down but our own system will not work.
Also, all laptops have different signal ranges, so some get great reception and other do not. We
have checked the signal with our own laptop throughout the building and we have found a strong
signal everywhere. We did offer the customer space in the lobby to work on the computer but they refused our suggestion. Again, our Wifi works and we do our very best to keep it that way.
As for the comment regarding the mattress, the customer never said a word to us about it not being comfortable. As you can see from our reviews, this is never a complaint. Customers even ask us where we bought them because they want to get one for themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here in September 2010 for the first time. Our room was immaculate, breathtaking views, amazing landscaping, excellent service, and close to shopping and restaurants. Can't wait to reserve our room again for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowshoe005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
20.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing