We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly peaceful”
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazingly peaceful”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Such a beautiful little place. Very clear and nicely decorated with a view that brings peace and tranquility. Close to Camden and Rockport. The rooms are so clean and comfortable, the infinity pool is heated and overlooks the cove. A true gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    35
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
54
201
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. Our room was on the ground floor in the house between the inn and it's sister property. I liked that it felt more private and was right next to the pool. There was also a large patio right in front of our room. Besides checking-in, we had no other interaction with staff, which I prefer. The room was very spacious with lots of storage spaces and even a mini fridge in the closet, which we put to good use.There was an electric fireplace which we loved! I fell in love with all the cute nautical decor and the plush shag carpet. We could hear some noise above us but overall it was very quiet. The windows looked out to the bay and it was such a serene view. Bring your bug spray if you walk down to the water though. The inn is located right on a main road and about 10 minutes away from Rockport and Camden in either direction. My only quibble was I noticed the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly as there was some hair and dust in the bathroom. Other than that minor issue this was such a comfortable place to stay and I didn't mind just relaxing in our room when it rained.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are more private and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were on a girls trip and needed a place for all three of us to be in the same room. Camden is really designed more for couples. We were so happy to find the Island View. Our room had a king bed and then a little nook with a twin bed. I was perfect for us.

The interior design in the room was very well done. Fashionably Coastal and we loved the view from the room. Long grassy yard down to the water.

It is a very short car ride into Rockport, Rockland and Camden.

We all said we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the two on the ground floor. I think we got one there because it had the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The view from our room was spectacular. Easy access to Rockport, Rockland and Camden. They gave us great recommendations for places to eat and we visited many of them and agreed with every one. The room was very nicely decorated and had lots of room. Very relaxing. We plan to visit again!

Room Tip: All the rooms had spectacular views of the bay. If you are unable to climb stair opt for a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in Rockport, and found this location online. The room was clean, comfortable and what a view! The small balcony looked out over an inlet with a few boats in the harbor, birds flitting by, and a resident groundhog/gopher wandering the property. So clean, quaint....not overly frilly like some places, more of a seaside cottage feel that was very pleasing. If we need to stay in Rockport again, we would stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTravel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Attractive, pleasing, totally up to date decor. Super comfortable. Immaculately clean. Doesnt feel commercial.nWe're seasoned, frequent travelers staying in alot of hotels. This is one of the nicest accommodations I've had in some time. Not one negative thing to say. The property is conveniently located with easy parking. We had a beautiful view, nice balcony porch, really comfortable bed with high quality bedding. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice coffee in the morning. They obviously take pride in the property and comfort of their guests. Great value!

Room Tip: We loved the water view with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tl0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend. Great place - reasonable rates, super clean room, amazing views (especially from 2nd floor room!). Up on a hill, overlooking the bay.

Very friendly staff, nice cup of coffee in the morning, lots of great stuff nearby (restaurants, beautiful scenery, shops, etc.)

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor for awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.6 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
168 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Property: Island View Inn
Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing