We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Country Inn at Camden/Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
$315
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Crest Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
$164
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
335
68
14
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
68
14
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecorated for halloweenchairs and umbrellasbeautiful viewpenobscot baynautical themethe ground floorthoroughly enjoyed our staymorning coffeeheated poolwould definitely stay here againgreat place to staystayed longersmall refrigeratorgreat roomshort drivethe location is perfectnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 431 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When arrived the front staff was not very knowledgeable about our reservation. My son had booked the room and paid with a credit card for both nights as it was a birthday gift for his mother. The front staff had the credit card number but stated that they only charge for one night in advance and we would need to produce a credit card for the second night as she did not want to punch in all those numbers. We wanted to make sure that both nights were not originally charged, while we were waiting one of the owners came in and was very upset that we were questioning the front staff and that we should know that they only take payment for the first night in advance and the second night is paid at arrival. I tried to explain that usually the second night is charged to the original credit card unless othe wise state but he kept talking loudly and asked if I had ever stayed at motel before. He said that I should know all this. We could not explain that we only wanted to make sure that the second room had not already been paid for he just wouldn't listen. We paid for the second night ourselfs. This totally ruined our week-end. He just gave us the key did not explain anything about the inn. We had to hunt for the ice machine, no coffee in the room finally found out they do have coffee for a couple of hrs in the morning. Room and view are nice. Would recommend due to the treatment by the owner. I told him that I could not beleive his attitude toward a paying guest who only wanted an explanation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radar445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad97, Owner at Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

We are sorry the customer was not happy but the statements made in the review are not correct.
The reservation was booked on our "online reservation system" and we had no phone conversation with the customer prior to arrival. When the customer arrived they insisted that both nights had been charged to the card already. The front desk checked and advised the customer that only one night had been charged, which is our policy ONLY to charge the first night, and the balance is due upon check-in time. The customer had the computer printout in his hand, and stated that we should put in our policy that we only charge for the first night. I showed him on the printout that he had where it said "only the first night is charge to your card at the time you make the reservation". He proceed to read it and then stated "it should be in bold print plus it was too long for him to read". Once he agreed that the second night had not been charged, we asked to see the credit card to charge the second night. He said to punch in the numbers we already had but we stated that we are required by the credit card company to verify the credit card by seeing it and swiping it, which not only is a safety feature for us but also for the customer and is own security. We always require to see the card at check-in which is a security feature we provide to all customers and to make sure that their credit information is secure. It has nothing to do with punching in the numbers.
As for the ice machine, it was located just outside his room and the coffee was located just inside the front door of the office. Just check our reviews for being "courteous".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

From "check in" to"check ou" the experience of staying at Strawberry Hill was exceptional. The view is breath taking and the facility is so very clean. Pelple and the cat ( Pumpkin) are there to greet you and make sure that your stay is "like home" No ordinary rooms here. Each is warm, cozy and quiet. We were going to stay only one night, and we "wanted" to come back for a second night of pleasure. Don't pass by this chance to relax. and enjoy the sunrise over the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights with my husband on a week long tour of Maine coast.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - charming seaside decor in rooms, very comfortable & clean,
enjoyed the beautiful ocean view in the adirondack chairs outside our room, lovely pool area. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank katnh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

There are not enough adjectives to describe this hotel,and staff. They are truly great! The views are spectacular, the rooms large and super clean and nice. The staff is wonderful. Cheryl helped me with a minor emergency, calling 911, giving me support and even offering to help with the luggage! They also gave great tips on restaurants in the area. This is a great location as a base to see the mid-coast region of Maine. The hotel is so beautiful, the gardens are so lovely. To wake up each morning with views of Glen Cove and the incredible gardens is enough to make you want to stay longer. I cannot find one flaw in this hotel , the rooms are cleaned early and well done, it is quiet. Stay here!! They should be #1 in Maine , period!!! By the way they are not expensive considering the prices of hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turlyMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was my third trip to Maine and my second stay at Strawberry Hill. The location is outstanding and the view of the water is amazing. The room was clean and decorated so nicely that it felt like home, there was even a quilt on the bed. The management was helpful and polite (a refreshing change from chain hotels). This Inn is close to Camden, which is a beautiful small town and a nice place to shop. When I go back to Maine, I will definitely stay there again. Kudos to the owners for paying attention to the details that make this a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warmways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews