We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strawberry Hill...what a quaint place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

While traveling in Maine we were searching for a place to stay for a few days and we found Strawberry Hill. What a wonderful place to stay. They have a very friendly staff, the rooms are very nice. Strawberry Hill is situated on 23 acres of a beautifully maintained property. They thought of everything from a yellow rubber duck in the bathroom to binoculars to see the views. The property has an awesome view of Clam Cove. Take time to enjoy the sunrises. The Inn is family owned and operated. Pictures do not do it justice. We saw a fox, cute chipmunks, plenty of birds and we even saw porpoises in the Cove. If you are traveling in Maine and what a great place to stay Strawberry Hill is it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myjd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Maine. The first evening we stayed in a waterside property in East Boothbay which was totally disappointing (run down and dirty) and the room rate was much higher than Strawberry Hill. When we arrived at Strawberry Hill to stay for the next two nights, we were more than pleasantly surprised. The entire property is maintained with love and attention to the smallest detail. Our room (a corner room upstairs) looked like a page out of Coastal Living. Everything was fresh and new and every corner and ledge clean as a whistle. The details which we appreciated were giant comfy chairs, the sink area separate from the shower/tub and toilet, extra towels, extra tissues, handy outlets, plenty of seating and flat surfaces, a spectacular view of the water and grounds, private balcony, seating down the hill by the water, gourmet coffee in the lobby, binoculars in our room, an easy to get to location between Rockport and Camden, gorgeous gardens, and even a rubber duckie in the bathtub! We hated to leave this property and when we come back to Maine again, Strawberry Hill will be our home base for the entire trip!

Room Tip: The two corner rooms upstairs have an extra window on the side and a window for ventilation on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flute7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The view is exceptional. Sunrise over Clam Cove warms your soul.

Stroll down to the water's edge to really enjoy the view.

This was our 4th stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the price is right.

Our friends who have stayed here with us before, went to this area last year and stayed somewhere else. They were very disappointed and happy to be back at Strawberry Hill.

Room Tip: Stay on the office level for the best view and convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps103msm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for the second time while in the area for business. The views from the rooms are spectacular and the area is a hidden treasure to visit. The inn is owned by a family(I think). I recommend not arriving in the evening as the (grandmother) is working the front desk at this point and it takes quite a bit of time to checkin. My only other complaint would be the front desk is not occupied very late so if you have any issues (locked yourself out) you have to call several #s posted on the door. I do give the staff credit when I did call they were there within 5 minutes to let me in. There is no breakfast, only coffee, and the supplied cups are very small, bring your own. They have a heated pool and you can walk down to the water from the inn. I really recommend this over some of the other options in the area. Price is great and it has 5 star views. The rooms are very clean, beds aren't the greatest, but again you can't beat the view you wake up to from it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bryce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Labor Day weekend. The Inn itself is immaculate, but the gardens and lawns made our stay wonderful. It was so nice to be able to walk around the property and look at the garden beds and the wildflowers. When it was time to leave I wished that I had spent more time down at the beach area. The bed was very comfortable, and overall it was quiet even though it seemed like they were full. The pool was warm and clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jblb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent quite a bit of time pouring over reviews on Trip Advisor to find the right place for a couple of nights in the Camden area. The reviews and photos of Strawberry Hill, plus the very reasonable pricing, kept pulling me back. We found it to be a perfect place for our visit to the area. What no one has mentioned, is how "bird friendly" the property is, and since I am a birder, that was an added bonus. The unmowed area filled with wildflowers attracts many birds, and their full birdfeeders attracts even more birds. Rooms are supplied with binoculars for birding, and viewing boats going by.

The rooms are very comfortable, and decorated in a seaside theme, and feels like staying in a private condo, rather than a fairly large inn. Our room, Room 111, was perfect for us, since my husband was not able to do a lot of walking, or toting bags up or down stairs. Our room was on the parking lot level, and was on the second floor of the unit. We enjoyed our balcony and view.

The location is extremely convenient for exploring the Rockland, Rockport, Camden area. We will recommend this inn to all of our friends. We spent most of our days on the go, but would have loved to have spent another couple of days relaxing on the property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol01Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Strawberry Hill. The view from our second floor room of the bay and property down to the water was outstanding. The landscaping was impeccable and we loved all the colors and varieties of flowers. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed the little deck off from it with chairs and a table. The pool was lovely - we had it to ourselves and the surrounding gardens made it even more special. We enjoyed the chairs down near the beach one morning with our coffee and donuts from a local bakery. Wish we could have had a few more days there....
There isn't a breakfast offered - just coffee and tea - but there are many options in the nearby towns. Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor! Better view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpeet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.7 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
8.7 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn

Address: 886 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#4 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $86 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy all our ocean view rooms with direct ocean access. We are located half way between Camden and Rockland on US Route 1 in the town of Rockport. Our hotel/inn sets back from the road so if your looking for quiet relaxation we are your destination point. All rooms are decorated in a nautical theme with balconies and patios to enjoy the views of the ocean. We have two outdoor heated pools and direct ocean access with sitting and umbrellas next to ocean for you to relax and enjoy the schooners and lobster boats in the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Seaside Hotel Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Rockport
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing