We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly and convenient, nice beds, great view!”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay, the room was clean, bedding was updated, even had a fridge, microwave, and balcony, price was great for my budget, with today's economy I appreciate a reasonable room rate. Oh and did I mention a Keurig! I had purchased some donuts before check in because they do not offer complimentary breakfast in winter. Also, shower was powerful and hot. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, we had a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Traveler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was looking for a peaceful get-a-way to relax for a few days and I ended up staying at Ledges by the Bay for three nights in mid-November. The reservation process was easy and simple, the woman who greeted me upon my arrival at check-in was upbeat and friendly and the accomodations were excellent!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the ground-level Deluxe rooms and I'd recommend one of these to anyone! Acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second stay at Ledges By the Bay and it won't be our last. We have stayed here after the "season" in late October each time, so we do miss the continental breakfast that is offered prior to the off season. However, there is a Keurig coffee maker in the room as well as refrigerator and small micro-wave, so fixing something quick for ourselves was very convenient.

The rooms and facilities here are kept very clean and the grounds are beautifully landscaped and manicured. I think some of the rooms have recently been redone and housekeeping is immaculate.

Ledges is conveniently located mid-way between the Rockland and Camden areas and close to everything one could want to see in mid-coast Maine. Additionally, the views from the rooms have wonderful vistas of the bay and ocean beyond. We enjoy watching the extreme tide changes.

Staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. I would not hesitate to recommend 'Ledges' to friends who regularly travel to this part of Maine and you can be certain that we will plan to stay there on future trips.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay on the ground level, so that we have no upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The rooms have an amazing view over Penobscot Bay. The evening I stayed there, there's was amazing sunset over the bay. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent beds and linens. Front desk staff was helpful. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Maines coastal area. Our room here at 'Ledges by the Bay' was very clean & comfortable with lot's of room to move around and not be right on top of each other. The day we arrived the bay was covered in a deep fog that promised to be gone by the next morning & it was. We awoke to bright sunshine glistening off the water, it was beautiful. We had our own balcony which overlooked the bay and could watch the tides coming n and out, ships passing by out in the open water, sailboats moving to and fro. The hotel is easily located for the 'tommy tourist' n us and we were able to explore local areas, return to our room to freshen up and then go out for delicious fresh seafood dinners. There is a continental type breakfast served in the main house and each room had coffee pots and supplies. Since we have never been to this area so we had no idea about our room but it didn't disappoint in any way. We plan to return to Maine and we plan to return to Ledges by the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurselinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is truly a hidden gem. Large rooms all with a view of the ocean. Very clean, nice breakfast, personal service, and know the area. Front desk helped us out with both a drug store and restaurant with a map and concise directions. This is a family run operation that knows how to help there guests. I would stay with them again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: All the runs face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We received a complimentary bottle of wine but no corkscrew to open the bottle. We arrived with a Seeing Eye dog which seemed to fluster the young woman at the reception desk. After several phone calls we were "allowed" to keep the room we had reserved. This was the first time this young woman checked in guests with a service dog so it was a learning experience for her.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleM758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $74 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing