We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ledges by the Bay”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stay in more than 100 motels, hotels, resorts, etc per year. Ledges By the Bay is one we will not forget. The room was wonderful, the price was right, the service was outstanding, and the views were simply spactacular and we were not there during terrific weather. I would highly recommend Ledges to anybody who wants to have a special time in Maine. Many places we stay are fine, but unremarkable. Ledges By the Bay will stay in our minds for a very long time.
Carole K

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolek54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

A terrific value with a beautiful view (even on a misty, chilly afternoon). Very comfortable room with EVERYTHING you could want: a gas fireplace (surprise!), desktop computer(!), reefer, coffee machine, luggage racks, real wine glasses, iron and board, comfortable bed. We didn't need or use all of these things for our one night stay but it sure gives you a good feeling that the
managers THOUGHT about all of my potential needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngirlMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This motel is a great bargain and an extremely pleasant place to stay. The room was modern and spotless and included a balcony with a great view of the ocean. Along with the expected (free Wi-Fi, fridge, microwave and Keurig coffeemaker) there were several surprising extras: an Apple computer, a DVD player with several movies to watch, board games, a heated swimming pool (closed in winter) and free continental breakfast in a small, sunny dining room. The grounds were beautiful and everything was well maintained. I liked the motel so much that I backtracked from my itinerary to stay there a second night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a king sized superior room. It was large,and very clean. It had a fridge, microwave, an electric fireplace, and a computer; none of which we used, but would have if we stayed more than one night. It was very quiet.The most exceptional part was the view from the balcony! We spent a leisurely morning drinking coffee made from the keureg coffee maker that was in the room,and eating scones and fruit from the coffee room. Our room didn't have binoculars, but our friends room did. We could have sat on the balcony all day! We will definitely go back! I highly recommend Ledges by the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the bay. We liked the king superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful view extra clean room, very pleasant staff, great coffee room, Grounds included apple tree with good apples, relaxing , quite &comfy, only drawback was stairs to coffee room a little steep, but who cares, all in all great place comfortable,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great place to spend four nights. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The balcony was a wonderful place to start the day by watching the sunrise while enjoying a cup of Green Mountain coffee. It was also a good place to relax in the evening after a day of touring the area. The staff was very friendly and had suggestions on what to see and where to eat. We would highly recommend Ledges by The Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great place to stay! Beautiful view, comfortable beds, lovely grounds, nice breakfast and all at a very affordable price. The location, between Rockland and Camden, is very convenient for sightseeing on Midcoast Maine, but one of the loveliest views was right off our private deck. We stayed in the cottage and had the convenience of a kitchen, dining room and living room and two bedrooms, as well as a gas grill on the deck. Perfect for a family!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
237 reviews
2.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $89 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing