We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean rooms. Great view.”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice, large, clean rooms. It was great to have a refrigerator and a microwave. Also nice to have a large TV. Decent breakfast provided. Very friendly staff. Great views. Very close to Camden. Ideal for longer stays. Make sure you have a car and are willing to drive if you intend to leave the room or the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

After seeing the website, we reserved a room for overnight. At first glance, it looked like any other older motel, but what a pleasant surprise! The view of the bay was beautiful and the long lawn leading to the water offered a wonderful opportunity to walk and get some exercise. The room was huge and very comfortable. All the amenities including a computer in the room made it feel like we were truly "special." We plan to return and have already recommended it to several of our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view...although they all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 852Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

On our way from Acadia to Boston for our flight home, I decided we would spend 2 nights in the Camden area.After the reviews on TA, I decided on this hotel and am glad I did. The hotel is an older one, but the rooms have recently been remodeled. Large rooms, very clean and a nice balcony overlooking the bay. The room has a separate sink from the bathroom which is always a plus. The continental breakfast was good enough and is in a nice room with a nice view. The hotel is located so it was very easy to visit Rockport, Rockland and Camden and to drive back and forth to visit different areas at different times. Also considering the prices at other hotels we thought this hotel was an exceptional value for the amount we paid. We would have no problem recommending Ledges to anybody visiting this area that does not wish to stay at a B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbross50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have had the opportunity to stay in several places in the Camden, Me area. This was my second stay at Ledges by the Bay. My friend and I enjoyed our visit. The room was clean and comfortable. The view was lovely. We enjoyed sitting and relaxing and taking in the view from the breakfast area as well. My only suggestion would be to add a restroom for guests that are not able to occupy their rooms on arrival. I would enjoy being a guest here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel3or6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pictures on-line were inviting, especially the view, and the price was very competitive for time of year. So, we decided to give Ledges a try. What a pleasant surprise. No, not modern shiny steel and glass but thoroughly updated - or well maintained traditional. Our delux room included a microwave, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator-freezer, and a laptop computer with internet access. It even came with a pair of binoculars which came in handy for exploring the exceptional view.
Given the opportunity we will return to Ledges for a longer stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We came to Maine to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This was a lovely place to stay. The location is right on the bay and the view from our window was amazing. We had a little balcony and were able to watch the sunrise. The grounds were well taken care of and the room was comfortable and clean. It was located close to Camden and we enjoyed our dinner and shopping there. We would definitely stay here again if we make it back to Maine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very clean, updated, great personnel. But only give 5 stars to places like Aulani, The Grand Hyatt, etc.
No issues and would definitely recommend. Reasonable rates and easy drive to everal restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
20.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing