We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with a great view”
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, and love the rooms and the view. The rooms are immaculate and well appointed. It was great having a bathroom with lots of space, and the extra sink. I was traveling with my sister, so we had two of us to get ready in the morning. I only wish they took dogs. If they did, I would return with my husband for a week.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

View was spectacular. Everything was clean and it was quiet, The Continental breakfast included homemade pastries. Fireworks for the 50th anniversary were really impressive lasting close to an hour. The location was good for exploring Rockland museums and Owl Point Lighthouse,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ledges by the Bay is our yearly stop for Labor Day weekend. We've been going to the Windjammer Festval in Camden for years and love staying at the Ledges. Every year it appears they add something new. The rooms are clean and comfortable with fantastic views. It is so quiet we often sleep with our sliding glass door open at night and hear the fog horn from Owls Head light. Breakfast always includes warm home made muffins and this year warm cinnamon coffee cake on Sunday among many delicious items and pastries and a variety of coffee's, teas, and juices. The staff is friendly and welcoming and actually remember us year to year. We met several lovely people during breakfast this year which shows the friendly caliber of people who stay here. We have and will continue to recommend Ledges to friends and family. Everyone we've sent has been very pleased and are also regulars.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building since the rooms are larger and more modern, however even in the older build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moemsw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved it. Quiet, clean, efficient, nice folks, great view, convenient to shops restaurants and activities in both Rockland and Rockport/Camden. Since we were on a motorcycle, it would have been better if there had been a restaurant on the premises, but we found many good ones in Rockland just ten minutes away, so no matter (Archers, Rustica, Black Compass Cafe, and the Atlantic Baking Company were our favorites). We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights this month in a Superior King room. Private balcony to enjoy the views of the bay-ask for the 2nd floor. The room was very good size and comfortable. It was nice having a second sink out of the bathroom area. Our room had a gas fireplace which I'm sure would be a nice addition in cooler weather. As other reviewers have mentioned, check in was very quick and the the lady who checked us in was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Provided us with a map and several suggestions on things to do in the area. The grounds are lovely with many places to sit and enjoy the views. The pool is great-comfortable and plentiful loungers and tables with umbrellas. Big pool towels are available from the office. We ate breakfast twice at the hotel--the blueberry scones are a must! Also homemade blueberry muffins. The hotel is close to both Rockland and Camden. Very easy drive to both places. Specials are available through their Facebook page. I had already made our reservation when I saw that and contacted them to see if I could get the discount-no problem. Got an email confirmation within minutes. My only suggestion would be to have a microwave in addition to the frig.

Room Tip: Second floor for great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmps59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ledges by the Bay is the perfect base for visiting the Camden / Rockland area. We stayed in a Superior King Room and could not have been more satisfied with our choice. The accommodations are spotless and very affordable for the area.

Some tips that we can pass on that will help reassure you:
- Check in/out is a breeze. Upon arrival take a minute to chat with the lovely woman at the front desk who will provide you with an easy to use map of the area. All of her suggestions were perfect for us and definitly helped make our trip memorable.
- There is a taxi service in the area for those who do not want to have to take the car into town. 7$ one way into either Rockland or Rockport and 15$ cab into Camden ( although we did not have any trouble finding parking in either town, we always appreciate having the option to take a cab to dinner if we will be enjoying a bottle of wine or a few beers.) the drive into camden is about 12 minutes and Rockland is a short 5-7 minute drive.
- There is a breakfast included at Ledges that was perfect for us every morning. Bagels, englsh muffins, fruit, yogurt, and delicious homemade scones and muffins. (7am-10am I think)
- There are 3 golf courses in the immediate vicinity: Samoset Resort which is a beautiful course with breathtaking seaviews... A bit pricey, but a must-play for the avid golfer. GooseRiver which we also played 9 holes at, and Rockland which we did not get a chance to play, but which is quite close to the hotel as well.
- There is a Shaw's grocery store within 1 mile of the hotel as well as a Walmart and a big TJMaxx. I was able to walk to these from the hotel one beautiful morning while my boyfriend played golf @ Samoset.

Must eats in the area:
- Dinner @ Miller's Lobster Pier: delishhhh, affordable, authentic.
- Dinner @ Waterfront Restaurant in Camden: lovely patio, great food
- Dinner @ Rustica in Rockland: center of town, great service
- Lunch @ Archers in Rockland: beautiful patio on a sunny afternoon, great lunch menu

Must do's in the area:
- Sailing!! We HIGHLY recommend Buffelhead and her Capt.Bennett: beautiful sailboat, safe, comfortable, intimate (6ppl max) and best prices.
- Visit the Forrest Gump lighthouse in Port Clyde
- Stroll Rockland and Camden, such cute towns.
- Play 18 @ Samoset
- Hang out by the pool at Ledges. Beautiful view, comfortable pool recliners, and the pool is big & heated.

If you have any questions about our stay, just let me know! :)

Room Tip: All rooms have great view of the Bay! Only difference between Deluxe and Superior is deluxe have fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlee327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here last year, just outside of Rockland. I hate Camden, it's too tourist focused, and has been overrun by out of town people from Boston and NYC boating clubs, ruining the local culture. I grew up in Maine (Bangor area), and do everything to avoid Freeport, Camden, and Bar Harbor.

I placed the reservation 6 weeks in advance, knowing that this is the busy season, and would need to get in early. Anyone who doesn't do this is an idiot, and deserves whatever headaches they get. I knew I would be coming in late the first night, far after the night time check in time, so I called ahead 2 days beforehand to setup alternate accommodations. Basically they leave an envelope outside the front-desk office with your name on it, and your room key.

We pulled in on Friday around midnight, having spent the evening with friends in Portland. We couldn't find the envelope, so we slept in the vehicle. No other place nearby had vacancies (it's tourist season!), so we toughed it out. Luckily the hotel management was very accommodating, didn't charge us for that night, and took 10% off the remaining nights. Apparently a new staff person started a week ago and was unfamiliar with the last night checkin process. Things happen, and they resolved the situation, so I was happy. Plus it makes for a good story to tell. ;)

The rooms are clean, fast wifi, heated pool, amazing view overlooking the bay, it's right next to Rockland, great prices vs. Camden (for the rich yuppies) and even downtown Rockland. The hotel staff are awesome, very polite. We got a simple breakfast above the office every morning. The highlight was definitely the cat Miya, belonging to the owner. She is very friendly and really makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Apollo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
20.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing