We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ledges is top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ledges is top quality”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I just spent the weekend in Rockport Maine, and we stayed at the Ledges. The room was neat, clean and quiet. The coffee was very good, and there was heat in the bathroom!
The beds were the most comfortable I have ever seen in a motel.
Finally, the price was very affordable.

We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 15. Beautiful view of Glen Cove. A bald Eagle seemed to like the view also. I app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarnspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    358
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
242
682
76
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My GF and I decided to stay in the area at the last minute and we were surprised. At first glance Ledges looks like your normal over priced tourist trap, boasting good views at a good price. Normally my GF and I would call a place like this camping as, they are good for a place to just to crash and move on. The staff was polite, and friendly, and the room was very clean! I we had a bay view, with our own patio, and electronic fireplace. While we stayed in the winter and couldn't take advantage of the "in season" things, (heated pool, and breakfast) we still enjoyed the room. The mini fridge was better then the regular fridge in my first apartment. In short this room was perfect, quiet, VERY CLEAN, and beautifully decorated.

I'll stay here over the Samoset any day of the week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroostook County, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful picturesque view from slider leading to balcony in this end unit #10. Very very clean too. That is always much appreciated! Large bathroom with large handicap shower with seat and bars and excellent showerhead! . Only a desk chair in room though so when I got into the ROCK HARD bed, there was not a soft chair and ottoman as an alternative to sleep in regretably! Actually sleeping on the carpeted FLOOR would have felt the same.I certainly did NOT get a good nights sleep either of the 2 nights as I knocked my SI joint in Right hip out tossing and turning trying to find a comfortable position. I had to get adjusted by chiropractor on Monday. I strongly advise this establishment to purchase 2 1/2 inch thick memory foam for all their mattresses if they are all exactly like the bed mattress in #10. The room was good size and attractive but certainly NOT decorated by a professional interior designer.
When I was ready to depart,

I went to front office for 2 reasons. #1.. Return Key. #2. Get change for a $10. bill so I could go back to room and leave the housekeeper a gratuity. There was a gratuity envelope on desk as a reminder but no comment card. There was NO bible in the night stand draw either but there was a telephone book.

The front desk receptionist could NOT make change for $10. but the chambermaid was there and kindly offered to make change for me. I was very surprised that the desk clerk did NOT have a small cash bank. They had postcards for sale too! I wondered how many sales were lost because they had no $$$ for making change. I was extremely surprised that the receptionist did NOT ask me how my stay was? Having just attended the Governors Conference on tourism, I could not help but think that this establishment would benefit from the WELCOME ME free training program by the Maine Office of Tourism for FRONT LINE employees! I received an email from the manager about a week later and I asked that he call me or I would call him at his convenience as I wanted to discuss the above concerns with him. To date he has not responded! I stayed over on Jan 30 and 31. Today is Feb. 10, 2013

Room Tip: Room #10 great for handicap person or person with trouble walking distances.. Close to office! Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonna_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledges_1, Manager at Ledges By the Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and bringing your concerns to our attention... We consider all comments (positive or negative) important to the success of our business regarding our operations and facility.

I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay at the Ledges.
With that being said the bed in our handicapped unit #10 is on the harder side. Many of our repeat guests that request this room have expressed an interest in keeping this bed harder. If we had been notified of your discomfort after the first sleepless night we would have done anything to make sure you were comfortable the second night.

Having said that, we realize expectations are important and we are concerned about your disappointment in your stay with us. We try to minimize any problems or issues with our guest rooms or service at all times and if there is a problem we only ask that the guest inform us and we will gladly do what we can to make the situation right. Obviously, problems can arise from time to time and we would have certainly worked to resolve these particular concerns had we known there was an issue.

Again, thank you for your time and feedback... It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

For what we got, I would have expected to pay a lot more.
Very clean, very comfortable, and beautifully decorated room (not to mention the pillow top bed), overlooking Penobscott Bay.
Staff were all incredibly helpful and could not have been any nicer.
Can say enough about this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bensalem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After the first time I stayed here I have not gone to any other place People are great rooms fabulous view wicked All in all wondeful time plan to do again and again. Convenient to everything stay away from the places in rockland very touristy and run down

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very inviting...front desk lady was pleasant and helpful with information. Rooms are large and some of the cleanest I've ever been in. Sliding doors to outside...gorgeous ocean view. Room had frig and microwave. Tv's a little old but work fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Reasonable prices for a nice room with good views. Room was clean and well-maintained. Staff was helpful. Location was good for the Rockland/Camden area. Bed was comfortable. It was my third stay there and I'll probably be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.2 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
5.0 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
359 reviews
2.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Property: Ledges By the Bay
Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing