We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific property good value good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2010

terrific hotel good staff good food good golf course great weather what else could you want

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
There are newer reviews for Samoset Resort On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

We experienced superior service, second to none, while staying at the Resort in July.
The staff is welcoming, friendly and pleasant to be around.
Our room, 2 Queen Ocean View on the 3rd floor, was clean, appointed well and in excellant shape with a fabulous view.
It appears as though the hotel has recently remodeled to keep ahead of wear and tear and the harsh ocean environment. This ongoing maintenance gave us the feeling that the resort is interested in maintaining comfort as well as quality.

The property is located in Mid-coast Maine and is rather convenient to get to and this allowed us to take in the local sites quite easily. The breakwater and beach area are also available.
While at the resort kids, adults and families will have many activities to choose from including the anticipated golf cart tours our kids loved!

The new outdoor pool, hot tub and lounge is phenominal and appears well received by the guests. This new addition has a wonderful ocean view, many chairs and even outdoor couch set-ups, it was really nice to say the least.
Guests still have the option to use the indoor pool, hot tub and steam room.
It was fun to "bounce" back and forth between indoor and outdoor pools.
We recommend a call to the resort to explain all the activities.
The golf was fun to watch from our room, however we don't play so I have no comment on that.

The last thing we did was Sunday brunch after check out and were very impressed with the food and presentation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saandslbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

One of best vacations of my life was had in July 2010. Samoset has spectacular views of the water and golf course from most rooms. This is a well run resort. Well staffed and well trained. Service was perfect The sunrises are spectacular. The pool area has a large pool and hot tub overlloking the water with a bar area, This area has stunning views of the water and gold course. Golf course was in perfect condition and was fun to play. Pro shop very accomadating. Play after 2 for big discount. Spactacular views from almost every hole. This resort is not cheap but represents great value. Book using Maine Summer packages and you can reduce cost drastically. Simply out Samoset was perfect !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfandrelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

If you want the perfect resort and location for a wedding or family gathering, I highly recommend the Samoset Resort. 180 family and friends enjoyed a long weekend to celebrate my daughter's wedding. There was not one complaint! The staff, food, facilities, golf course etc. etc. were all wonderful. A magical place to go!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We recently had our wedding at the Samoset and had an excellent experience. The location is breathtaking. The staff and food are amazing. We had an fantastic experience and highly recommend the Samoset. The outdoor pool was a great venue for the rehearsal dinner as well as for leisure before the wedding. The golf course was fabulous as it runs along the seacoast. The Knox County Ballroom was both romantic and fun for our one hundred and eighty guests. Each guest room has a beautiful view overlooking the golf course to the sea. Our friends and family are still talking about what an awesome place the Samoset is for a wedding or large gathering. We cannot wait to go back for more fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Samoset for the two night his/her golf/massage/dinner/ breakfast package. We selected the hotel based on the positive reviews and were very happy that we did. The hotel is attractive and well maintained. The pool and grounds are groomed and the staff is accomodating. The rooms were quite nice, the beds very comfortable, the bathroom was large and all marble/ceramic. All rooms have ocean views. My husband said the back nine holes on the golf course were amazing. We ate at Marcels for dinner and had great lobster and wine, although the desserts were nothing special. My massause was attentive to my aches and knots. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendybell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This resort is the nicest resort on the coast of Maine that we have stayed at in several years, with a perfect location in mid-Coast Maine, with a beautiful oceanfront golf course surrounding the entire resort. We had a minor reservations mix-up at check-in which may have been our fault, but was promptly resolved in a very generous way by the General Manager of the resort. The accomodations were great, with new bedding and furniture in the units. There were two very good restaurants on the premises, one casual, one formal, and the best pool area I have seen in any resort for a long time, apparently new as well. The nearby town of Camden is a great place to visit for lunch, dinner, or a cruise, but there is everything you need on this property in the event you just want to relax without having to get out and drive for meals and activities. I see why they call the golf course at this resort the Pebble Beach of the East....it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKDS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
220 reviews
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $186 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing