We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

On our fifth day of a road trip, we arrived at the Samoset very late. It was the most expensive hotel on our trip, so we had high expectations. Unfortunately, this hotel is terrible, absolutely terrible. It was two stars, at best, and, as other reviewers have mentioned, the website is completely dishonest. When we arrived, we could get no assistance with our luggage but our room was at the very end of a very long hallway (it reminded me of a Vegas hotel). The front door to our room was hardly shut (the hinge broken) and the carpet at the entrance was duct-taped down. The room smelled moldy, and we even saw some mold on the exterior of the building. We actually had to purchase a candle from the gift shop to mask the smell. The room was extremely old, dark, and dirty, and everything was covered in a thick layer of dust. Two of the lamps didn't even work. The bathroom was also very dirty and extremely small. We went back to the front desk in an attempt to move, but after waiting for awhile for someone to return, exhaustion set in and we returned to our room. We ended up sharing the room with a couple flies all night, even though we didn't even open the window. All of this, and we paid four star prices!

As for the food, order Dominos pizza from down the street; it's much better than their food and much cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrewP988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    282
    93
    29
    23
See reviews for
429
550
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
stevel71
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the Samoset Resort during the off season, specifically Sat Feb 27 2010 to Sat Mar 06 2010. Our Room 803 was a RCI time share condo. I gave this resort 4 stars out of 5, if I based it on just the condition of the hotel it would probably get 3.5 out of 5. The ameneties and activities I would give 4.5 out of 5, thus the score of 4 out of 5.

The condo needs some maintenence updates, The first thing I noticed as I was unloading the car was on the stairwell, the wall paper was blistering, in our room the air vent was separated from the wall ( not as bad as it sounds) and a peice of tile was broken beside the dish washer. So if you are looking for a perfect room, you might want to stay in the hotel versus the condo's. The rooms were very clean and the king size bed was extreamlly comfortable. The pull out couch is good for kids, but not made for heavy set adults ( I slept on it the first night as the kids wanted to sleep with mom and it was a back breaker. Kids never complained though). The room was tastefully decorated and well appointed. We especially loved the two flatscreen tv's. All in all the above mentioned faults with the condo and room did not detract from the positive experience we had staying in the room.

The indoor pool is the best thing about this hotel. It is big and warm. My kids loved it! They also have a nice hot tub were you can relax and watch the kids play in the pool. There is also a steam bath in the change room and the showers are to die for, 5 shower heads to clean you from different positions. The excersise room is huge and has everything you could imagine. There is free coffee and hot chocolate at the sports desk.
The resort also has an outdoor pool (seasonal) basket ball courts, tennis courts, and of course a chompionship golf course.

We were fortunate enough to have the Break Water cafe open up do to a convention and it was a real treat. The Maple Bourbon ribs are the best I ever had and the taste of Maine sea food plater was also excellent. It is not cheap 3 adult meals, 1 kids meal, 1 beer, 1 virgin daquari, no desert and it was $88.00, but the food was amazing and you won't leave hungry. I would hate to see what Marcels charges but again this is a vacation.

Rockland/Rockport has everything you need with in a 2 min drive. Shaw's groceries, Walmart, KFC, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Mcdonalds, Burger King, Gas Station with Circle K convienence store, 2 banks.

All in all this is an excellent family resort, you will never be board, even in the off season. We walked to the beautiful Break Water light house, skied at the Camden Snow Bowl, shopped in Freeport 1.5hrs away, and swam in a great pool, ate great food, and relaxed in our room. Summer will bring even more activities. The staff is extreamly friendly and helpful.

Great place we will be back

Thank you Samoset for a great vacation.

Helpful?
1 Thank stevel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Our stay at the Samoset was good but could have been better. The rooms were clean and as described in the hotel's web-site. After a day of travel with three kids we decided to eat at the hotel rather than load everyone in to the car on a rainy night. We felt very neglected at the Breakwater Cafe. Our waitress had a large party to tend to and we watched as other diners ate their dinners and came and went before we even saw our dinners. Our waitress checked on us once before delivering our check. I do have to say that my salmon was cooked well but the rice pilaf that came on the side was a gelatonous blob. I would suggest that resturaunt management step in when waitresses are in over the heads. I would also recommend that complimentary coffee be offered in the lobby rather than in the exercise facility. Finally, the walls between the room are pretty thin. We could hear one guest next to us snoring and the guest on the other side of us listening to a home improvement program.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccermom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Let's say, 3.5 stars. I stayed at the Samoset Resort for two nights on business in the fall and it was a pleasant experience. I found my room to be very clean and cozy, with the added bonus of a harbor view. The beds were super comfy, with feathertop mattresses and plush pillows.

The resort didn't offer much in the way of entertainment outside of golf, but the scenery was very pretty and a path on the grounds led to a rocky strip that went straight out to a lighthouse.

The staff members I encountered during my stay were all friendly and helpful. The more casual restaurant at the resort was very good. The banquet services department took care of everything in the exhibit hall, from consistently refreshing coffee stations to making sure all shipments were taken care of. Overall, it was a nice visit and a great location for a small to midsize conference, or a quick getaway.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_in_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We came to Samoset for a short stay in late October. It was a bit hard to find in the dark even with the Sat Nav.

Overall, The Samoset feels a little tired. The main problem seems to be that the Samoset is riding on its sea front location and could benefit from a makeover. The general decor is all a bit bland. The room decor is was good, but bathroom lighting was dark. During our stay Marcel's was closed and we had to eat dinner at the Breakwater Cafe. Although the service was good, the food was average. Strangely, Marcel's is open for breakfast - very good even though it's a bit pricey (a la carte menu for about $20 per person).

The grounds are lovely and the sea view rooms are great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I decided on a whim to go to The Samoset around Labor Day weekend. We've been there many times before and always enjoy it. It is really relaxing to show up at a place and have all services right on site. We enjoyed a few drinks poolside in the sun overlooking the ocean, and then headed up to our room to relax and get ready for dinner...and then head to Marcel's for a great dinner. The rooms are nice, the amenities are great...we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is not a super-luxurious resort and the furniture and fixturesare getting a little old. That being said, it's well-maintained and I certainly did not lack for any conveniences. The golf course is great, the scenery is spectacular and the grounds are beautiful. Whatever Samoset misses in a comparison with other 'luxury' resorts, it more than makes up for it in character. It's a gracious old lady that needs to be excused the occasional eccentricity. And I would revist tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
148 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing