We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Crest Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,428)
Filter reviews
1,428 results
Traveler rating
978
300
95
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
300
95
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursela bellahealth clubhot tubthe general managerpebble beachthe wait stafftime sharekids clubtennis courtsindoor poolrockland harborenoteca loungetimeshare unitsgift shopfitness centerlight house
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,428 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

while driving down the coast Maine we stayed only stayed at this hotel for one night. The property is gorgeous. We took the golf course tour at 7 pm which was beautiful at dusk. There is this pure, serene, shadow of peacefulness that is draped over the entire property. They have a lovely heated pool and hot tub, as well as volleyball nets, basketball courts, and much more. The rooms were lovely, and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel restaurant, La Bella Vida, was perhaps the best meal we've had this whole trip. A musician who sang and played the sax walked around playing songs that were great for all ages. We are healthy eaters and they had many healthy and even vegetarian options. Friendly and efficient service staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Epw1234,

If you were only here for one night and were able to experience the golf cart sunset tour then you truly were able to see the outdoor beauty which is the Samoset. Thank you for your review letting other travelers also know about the delicious food in La Bella Vita, our zero-entry heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and the selection of outdoor sports games found at the Ultimate Backyard. I do hope you are able to return again for a longer stay.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I might be a bit biased because I've been coming here for a weekend every year for 21 years (and I'm 21 years old). Even if I was new, I would fall in love.
There's nothing better than waking up in the biggest, most comfy feather bed ever, getting out of bed and going to sit on the patio, and looking out over the super green golf course and over the ocean.
The rooms have a great kitchen, a huge bedroom, a pleasant bathroom, a great sink/mirror area, a good-sized closet, and a very comfy living room.
The rock beach is amazing, almost entirely consisting of smooth stones and little shells.
The arcade is fun and is great for kids (and some adults too!) to hang out in.
The work out area is well-kept and has a lot of things to work with.
It's close to town so anything you'd want is only a few miles away.
The pool room and the pool itself are always clean and relaxing. And if you're not a pool person, there's a hot tub!
The walking paths and breakwater nearby is always worth a visit.
Even the lobby is beautiful; the wooden floors, cute gift shop, and great restaurant are worth seeing.
And the service people are always super nice and informative!
All in all, I couldn't ask for anything more! Love it here so much

Room Tip: Any rooms with a patio are great for the view! And if you have a big family, or are staying with friends, there are rooms with a downstairs as well to suit those needs. Sometimes, depending on if it's kid week or not, the ceilings can leak a bit of noise through, but getting a floor higher up will usually lower this chance.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Simone S,

We enjoy seeing many return travelers come back year after year to the Samoset, but it’s rare to have a traveler tell us they have been here once a year for their entire life.

Thank you for returning each year and allowing us to grow up with you. Your review contains wonderful information about the property such as the rock beach by the Rockland breakwater, the walking paths, and our location close to the towns of Camden or Rockland. Thank you also for the kind comments about our indoor pool area and the cleanliness and variety of fitness options found in The Club. We look forward to seeing you for trip number twenty-two.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had two lovely days and nights here. We had our 8 yr grandson with us and was so happy to have a heated pool for all of us to enjoy. There was lots of yard games to play as well. Inside, we found games like chess and checkers to enjoy in front of a fireplace while have a wonderful tray of snacks. When it began to rain, we traveled to the indoor pool and he also found video games to enjoy during the rain.

Rooms were comfortable with a great view of the water and golf course there.
We will return there someday.

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Alice S,

Thank you for letting us know about the nice time you had while visiting the Samoset with your grandson. He must have kept you busy with trips to our indoor and outdoor pools, playing lawn games, and checkers by the lobby fireplace. We hope you are able to return someday for another visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The resort is lovely. Appeared clean, although there was a small toy under the bed that was not ours, so not sure under the beds was vacuumed before our arrival :-)

Unfortunately the weather wasn't in our favour for our 2 night stay, but we managed a short swim. Pool area was clean. Was disappointed that even after the rain, when the weather cleared up, the pool bar did not open.

Unfortunately, even hours after the rain had stopped, water was pouring off the roof and onto our balcony. No idea where all that water was coming from! It meant even once the sun came out, we were not able to sit out.

Best thing by far on this trip was the photography tour. A young man took us in a golf cart round the resort grounds. It was very misty and drizzly, but we got some really unique shots.

I wish we'd had better weather. There was lots to do on site for your resort fee but we didn't get to try most of it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Anita N,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read how much your enjoyed the photography tour as this is a new activity we added this year. I was also pleased to read you enjoyed the zero-entry outdoor pool and hot tub despite the rainy weather since they are both heated. I will be sure to share your feedback about cleaning under the beds with our Executive Housekeeper and her staff.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the Samoset this summer. We had a time share unit. The unit was nicely decorated, clean and contained all the items needed for a lovely family stay. The rooms are good size and have a beautiful view of the ocean and manicured grounds.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the ocean. Not sure all rooms over look the mile long Rockland Light and Breakwater. Can't go wrong either way, but if available ask for a Breakwater view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Pat L,

Thank you for your review of our timeshare condominiums and letting us know you had a lovely two weeks with your family. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews