We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun birthday night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun birthday night”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My best friend and I spent the night in March 2014 for my birthday. We had a blast! The room was clean and comfortable with great views of the ocean and the islands in Penobscot Bay. We had drinks and dinner at the restaurant. We sat at the bar and had great service. The food and drinks were amazing. We did not use the other facilities that the Samoset has to offer, but would have had we had more time. Overall, it really was an enjoyable experience. I am going to go back in the summer to play a round of golf as the course looked amazing from the room we had. Have fun with your stay!

Room Tip: The views from the top floor are amazing! But there isn't a bad view from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jaimee W,

We love celebrations at the Samoset. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your birthday and sharing your experience with other travelers. Great dining service along with amazing food and drinks are what we strive to deliver every day. We look forward to your return visit so you may enjoy the many other amenities at our resort.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    280
    93
    29
    23
See reviews for
427
549
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My best friend had just been though a rough spell and I hadn't had a night to myself in almost two years. We are local ladies who just needed a night away for some girl talk, some yummy food, and maybe a few cocktails. We were delighted with the amazing room with an even more amazing view. Yes, it was March in Maine, but the view over Penobscot Bay is always beautiful. Upon arrival I immediately felt like I was on a retreat. It was quiet and beautiful and warm enough to hang out on the deck for a few minutes to get some fresh air. I got there first. And thanks to the mini fridge in the room, I was able to throw together a fancy little happy hour for my friend. After some girl talk, we decided to go down to dinner where we had decadent scallops for an appetizer with sangria made right there, followed the BEST pizza in the world. No, I'm totally serious. Get the Umbria pizza or any of the others made by hand right in front of you and cooked right in the brick oven. After we were way too full, we brought our leftovers back up to our room and enjoyed the rest of our evening followed by the best night sleep I have had in years. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the room was quiet. We both slept in until 8am which is about 3 hours past out normal wake up time. We were revived, relaxed, and ready to face the world again. I highly recommend the Samoset for a one night away girls night, a long weekend, or a family retreat. There's something for everyone!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view if you can, or even one with a hot tub on the deck - that's what we'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 524Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 542Christine,

I read with pleasure your glowing review of the Samoset. Your enthusiasm indicates we were able to exceed your expectations for dining, luxury accommodations with many amenities, and a perfect view of Penobscot Bay. I’m pleased we were able to offer the two of you a much needed respite and you both felt refreshed and ready to face the world again after staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you for a return visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We have a timeshare and we wanted to stay within driving distance from where we live when we were looking at places. We came across this place in the RCI book, we tried booking it in May but the only week available was the last week of March. The resort is very nice with awesome views from the rooms of the bay. The bed was comfy and it was clean. The few things I didn't like was the fact that the lobby and restaurant are not open from M-W because they're on "winter" hours, it seems that the grounds keeper must not start cleaning until the summer also since there were piles of sand and dirt on the walkways leading into the building along with misc. stuff on the ground. If you need something since no ones at the front desk you have to call the fitness center. It seems to me at a place that's supposed to be a 4 diamond resort that the grounds would be in better shape and that if you have guest they staying at the resort everything should be as if it was in season and not partial shut down for half the week. You have no choice but to go else where if you want to eat or even hang out at the huge lobby with the fireplace that you can't use for half the week? We had no idea that it was like this and if we did we would have picked another place, I'm sure when their in full season that it's a lot different, I recommend that you wait to stay here until at least May.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHNNYB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear JOHNNYB17,

Thank you for your recent feedback and letting us know how much you enjoyed your comfy bed, clean rooms, and awesome views of Penobscot Bay during your visit.

Samoset and RCI work together closely to ensure our mutual guests are aware of our seasonal winter availability. RCI sends an email to existing reservations confirming this information and their reservation agents also receive alerts during the reservation process reminding them to explain this information concerning the lobby, restaurant, and front desk availability to anyone booking a week at the Samoset during our seasonal winter dates.

The effects of a long, icy, and snowy New England winter can result in unavoidable sand and grit residue by March. We have had an unusually long winter this year with accumulating snow and sleet still falling as late as last week. We’ve hopefully rounded the bend, however, and since we take great pride in the cleanliness of our resort the clean-up and sweeping efforts are underway resort-wide to put all that wintery weather behind us.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Samoset right after Christmas for a long weekend. This was our first time there. VERY nice. Room was clean and comfortable and the food was very good. We booked the room and breakfast package and it was a great deal. The breakfast was incredible. The resort is very close to skiing, etc. Camden Snow Bowl very close too and is fun to go to even if you don't ski. Got some hot chocolate and watched everyone else. There is also candle pin bowling near by and is very inexpensive because they do not have any fancy equipment. Like it was years ago-you even have to keep your own score on paper. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear k9crazy7,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience from visiting with us this winter. I was glad to see on top of wonderful food and lovely rooms you were also able to enjoy some of the many activities available in our area. Skiing and bowling make a great combination!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our family had a mini "stay-cation" at the Samoset during school vacation week recently and were extremely happy and impressed with the resort and its staff. There were plenty of children's activities -- including an indoor petting zoo! -- as well as amenities for adults. Highlights for our daughter were the indoor swimming pool, kids' game room and several room service meals; for the adults it was the hot tub on our deck overlooking the ocean and a soothing spa massage. To top it off, the non-peak rates made it a very affordable getaway. We had so much fun that we're already talking about a return trip in May!

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor corner/end room facing the breakwater lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Scott T,

Your review details a wonderful “staycation” experience and I appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Samoset. Children’s vacation activities, swimming in our indoor pool, delicious room service and dining, a hot tub suite, and massages at the spa. Wonderful! We just hope you didn’t go home too tired from all the fun you had on vacation.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife Elizabeth and I spent this past weekend at the Samoset Resort. Each time we visit the resort we continue to be impressed with the attentive and friendly staff, luxurious accommodations, great food, and an amazing array of amenities. The resort's GM, Mr. Russell goes out of his way to make sure we enjoy our staff.
Cannot wait until our next visit,

Room Tip: the rooms are all excellent with views towards the Ocean. We love the suites... particularly for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBaldacci2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Rbaldacci,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Samoset resort and your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you back. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife again for a return visit in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for six nights. I got a great deal, so even though Maine in March is not the best timing, we decided to go. It's been a while since I stayed right on the coast during winter. The weather was relatively mild.
For the resort, we stayed at the timeshare part. We stayed at the 700 building. So there are hotel part which is with the main part. The timeshare buildings are short walk from the main building. There are three building. We stayed in room 703, which is in the lower floor.

Our unit. The good; the unit is tastefully decorated much better than what the outside and hallway looked. Has a small kitchen with two small stove top, and small toaster oven, has a dishwasher, and everything you can ask for. One bedroom unit with king bed. Bed was comfortable. there is a little balcony that looks to the golf course and the ocean. f
The bad; I am being picky because the place is pretty nice, It would have been nice if there was in-unit laundry. also there is a DVD player, but they didn't have the right cord, so all DVD comes in really crappy like you are watching black and white TV. the clock's battery was dead. Also, I feel like the parking lot was small, I don't know if we would have found a space during the high season.

Main building: The good: First, the main building is beautiful. The vista is stunning. Check in was quick. I called before and let them know that I was coming on Sat, instead of Fri (since for time share you do for a whole week). And also asked them about pack and play, which they had and placed into our unit. The club was great. Nice swimming pool which we uses almost daily. Has a hot tub. Also there is a gym with weights, machines and even classes. The locker room even has a steam room that my husband used multiple times. is also small arcade and activity room with games, ping pong table. We can also borrow movies (limited selection, more for kids movies), Wii games, and skates.
The bad: the restaurant, which I did know before getting there, spa (which I wanted to use while I was there because I did not know it was closed), and gift shop is closed during the week for the winter time.

It was a nice place. One of the better timeshares I've been to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear mjczoey,

Thank you for your review of the Samoset. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our timeshare units and using our fitness facilities in The Club at The Samoset. This time of year the hot tub, indoor pool, and steam rooms really feel wonderful.

I apologize for the poor performance of the DVD player in your unit, as well as not notifying you about the main resort outlets such as the spa and restaurants being partially closed in winter. We will take steps to address this communication opportunity with our Timeshare Manager.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing