We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishermen Forum visit and stay at the Samoset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed as exhibitors for the Fishermen's forum at the Samoset. Rooms very nice and beautiful view. Employees very helpful and accommodating throughout the hotel. Room service, dining staff and housekeeping staff were very nice. Enjoyed the experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Alice W,

Thank you for your supportive review of the Samoset. It is always a pleasure to welcome attendees and vendors back to the annual Fishermen’s Forums each spring. We hope you return someday when you won’t need to be working while visiting.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at the Samoset for [3] three days and my Grand Daughter had her wedding there. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The views from all rooms were overlooking the water and the sunrise was spectacular !!! The food served in the dinning room and room service was very good and the staff was very cordial and very friendly. I was very impressed with with the Samoset and will stay there again and often !!! They did a GREAT JOB for my Grand Daughters Wedding !!!

Room Tip: With a room with water view you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Lee B,

We love watching families and friends plan and then enjoy weddings at the Samoset Resort. It is always such a wonderful time of celebration and we are honored to be trusted with helping everyone’s dreams come true. We are very glad that you enjoyed your granddaughter’s wedding so much and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was the worst meal I have ever had put down in front of me. A little piece of beef ?, nasty scallops and dry rice. First time ever I refused to eat the meal. Must say the pizza at the bar was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank lobcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear lobcarl,

I regret your individual experience did not match that of the other attendees at the 39th annual Maine Fishermen's Forum. We received overwhelming positive feedback concerning this year's event, including many specific accolades about the meals offered to the attendees.

Had you brought your displeasure to any one of our staff's attention when you were here, we would've taken immediate steps address your concerns. Our goal is to consistently exceed our guests' expectations and I apologize if we fell short of the mark in this particular instance. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

When I checked in at the Samoset in Rockland I was a bit nervous as there was a large convention in progress. I didn't know if we were going to be comfortable with all of the people in the lobbies and food service areas. As I was about to get my room key, the manager, Mr Russell, recognized me from a previous visit and took the time to ask how I had been doing since the last time we were there. It made my wife and I feel quite special given the large amount of people milling about the hotel. He got an attendant to park our car and had our bags brought right to the room. We had a terrific week end, a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant and even saw the Governor for the State of Maine wandering down one of the halls discussing business with one of the delegations present that day. How cool is that? The view from our room was spectacular. We are planning a summer vacation on the Maine coast and will certainly stay at the Samoset again. Frederick Pooler

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fpdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear fpdurango,

It was my personal pleasure to recognize you and your wife during check-in and welcome you back to the Samoset. We were very busy and I am pleased to know the 39th annual Maine Fishermen’s Forum simply added to your enjoyment of visiting with us. We look forward to seeing you again during your summer visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My son's hockey team stayed at the Samoset over the weekend during a tournament. 17 rambunctious, energetic, mini-hockey playing kids can get loud and bothersome (and so can their parents). Samoset moved the kids to their own banquet room for playing mini-hockey, and gave the parents their own room to congregate and socialize. The rooms were impeccably clean, well decorated, despite the slightly aging décor and building. Staff was so kind, helpful, and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Beth R,

We are glad to read howyou and your “rambunctious, energetic, mini-hockey” group enjoyed your stay with us during one of our hockey tournament weekends. Sounds like everyone had a lot of fun! We look forward to seeing you return next year.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the resort during school vacation and overall found it amazing. It started with an early checkin being available as well as a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view room. Yeah. We went skiing at the camden snow bowl and had a great time. Buying half price tickets at the hotel was great. The ice skating rink looked amazing. The buffet breakfasts and one dinner was amazing. At dinner we were stuffed and then the dessert arrived. Wow. The pool was nice but is starting to look tired. Too much standing water on the deck - yuck and the steps in the hot tub looked dirty. In the evening it is so dark - definitely need some more lights. Some simple crafts for kids activities would have been fine instead of all the sugary food - decorate a cupcake, make a candy necklace, candy apples - yikes. Ping pong table and board games are great. Truely though - we were expecting more of a babysitting service like there is in the summertime where parents can drop kids off as long as they stay on the resort. Instead we were surprised that there was a sign saying parents had to stay in the room unless the kids were 14 (our kids were 7 & 9). The movie room is a good idea but the tv is kinda small for such a big room and no one was ever there for the 9pm movie. Our kids just watched Netflix in the room instead. The wifi was adequate but really wish the cellular coverage was better at the samoset. There were several dead spots especially by the kids activity room. Our second night there was a group partying in the hall - I called the front desk and they sent someone promptly. I was very pleasantly surprised to see a $40 credit on our bill a few hours later. Overall had a great time and hope to come back for two or even 4 days for April vacation.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear M T,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade, half-price tickets for skiing at the Camden Snow Bowl, and the wonderful food served in La Bella Vita.

We are currently reworking our Samoset Kids Club vacation activities and appreciate your suggestions for future improvements. While I am sorry to read some of our other guests disturbed your evening, I am glad that we were able to promptly and correctly address the situation for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in April.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in room 411 for two nights. Suite with king bed and large private patio. Beautiful ocean and golf course view, even in the dead of winter.

Check in was easy and pleasant. No offer to help with bags. Ate in restaurant twice and had room service twice - food was good, not great. Room was clean and bedding was good quality. Not enough plugs for electronics, but it's not really a business hotel. Room service menu states that breakfast is served all day - but person taking order said that's a misprint. Bummer.

It was school vacation week and there was a wedding, so it was much busier than expected for Maine in February. The place was teeming with kids, but once in our room we heard nothing.

The TVs (2) are flat screen, but pretty small by today's standards. There's a Keurig coffeemaker + small fridge which is always appreciated.

Had two treatments at the spa. The treatments were v. good but the spa is really small. So you can hear people in the waiting room while getting a massage, even if they're being quiet. Not ideal. And the waiting area is super small, too, which was awkward.

All in all a lovely minbreak in a Maine winter that won't quit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear MaineIzzy,

Thank you for travelling up the coast and visiting with us at the Samoset in February. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your beautiful ocean view, clean room and quality bedding, in addition to the room amenities of a Keurig coffee maker and refrigerator.

Your review also contained important information for us to share with our management team. It’s apparent, while you enjoyed your visit overall, there were details which were lacking and some of our efforts missed the mark. We do not want any of our guests to walk away with such an impression. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and your concerns will be addressed.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $126 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing