We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$119
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Towne Motel(Camden)(Great Value!)
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
966
297
95
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
297
95
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursela bellahealth clubhot tubthe general managerpebble beachthe wait stafftime sharekids clubtennis courtsindoor poolrockland harborenoteca loungetimeshare unitsgift shopfitness centerlight house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I decided at the last minute to go away the weekend before Christmas for a little rest and relaxation. We booked a King deluxe room overlooking the water/lighthouse. It was located at the end of the hallway far away from the elevators. A perfect room. When we arrived we went downstairs to the bar for drinks and a few munchies. The bar area is great with couches surrounding gas fireplaces and high-top tables. The pizza was yummy and the drinks perfect. We had dinner there that night and it was fantastic. The wait-staff were attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. We had the breakfast buffet which was filled with a wide variety of items. You could also have an omelet or french toast made to order. The resort is located a short ride to Camden which is a great destination for shopping and restaurants. The Samoset is a resort to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Roberta W,

Thank you for visiting the Samoset and sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read reviews which include words such as perfect, yummy, fantastic, and attentive. We look forward to your visiting with us again and again.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We lucked out and were able to book one night at this lovely resort on our trip down the coast of Maine. You could not ask for a more luxurious room and view. We did not eat here, as we came in later in the evening, but went down for drinks and were just in awe of the gorgeous bar area filled with cozy nooks and crannies. Walked that evening and the next morning out on the golf course paths. Stunning!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamildh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear hamildh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Samoset. I was glad to read of your appreciation for the scenery on your morning walk, your luxurious room, and our cozy Enoteca lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully for a longer stay.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a meeting in Augusta and decided to ad a trip to the Samoset. We same in the paper that they had an Ice Bar. The accommodations were superb. Clean, great views, great staff and wonderful location. I would suggest getting a package that include breakfast. We also included tickets to the Farnsworth Museum. The ice bar brought in crowds of people on Friday evening. About 32 years ago when my future wife and I got together we took a downeast Maine trip and the Samoset was one of our stops. Just as I remembered.

Room Tip: Ocean views are nice but cost a little more.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Jack M,

We are so glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Samoset enough to share it with others here. It seems you had a great weekend seeing lots of what we have to offer-Glacier ice bar, the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland, and a great breakfast in La Bella Vita. We hope we see you again before another 32 years goes by!

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a great resort. Food was outstanding as well as service. Had a beautiful suite with a deck facing the ocean. Package included $100 Spa credit, breakfasts and 2 3 course meals. Will go back in the summer for certain.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Bernergal,

Thank you for letting me know about your enjoyment of our winter packages. We have many packages to choose from and are glad you found one that offered everything you wanted. We look forward to seeing you this summer.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

While most of my past trips to the Samoset Resort have been in Spring / Summer / Fall seasons, they have found ways to make Winter inviting to the property as well. We made plans to attend the 2nd Annual "Ice Bar" event and it was absolutely a stunning sight to see. The place was buzzing with activity, great jazz in the lounge and the dining room filled for the evening. Stepped outside on a crisp winter evening to find people enjoying a festive atmosphere on the deck and grounds. Beautiful ice sculptures, a Martini Bar totally made of crystal clear ice, benches with sheep skins, fire pit and beautiful/functional heaters. Had a blast, stayed overnight in their lovely accommodations - no worries about driving after enjoying the festivities.
We look forward to next year's annual "Ice Bar" event ... hope to see you there ... Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Joyce L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your weekend at the Samoset. We are so glad you’ve discovered we are a great winter getaway, full of fun events and wonderful hospitality. Our Glacier ice bar, as you saw, was both stunning to look at and buzzing with activity. A short walk back to your lovely accommodations to drift off to sleep makes it a perfect evening.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews