We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
augusta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas vacation”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We rented out two oceanfront rooms for Christmas with the family. It has been many years since I have stayed at the Samoset. What a treat! Rooms are deeply discounted this time of year but service is beyond measure. Love the open spaces and plenty of room for the kids to burn out some energy. Loved the pool and the kids room filled with many activities. Food was great and when staff noticed we had a large group, they gave us our own private area to eat. The building is beautiful and so very clean. We plan on returning soon since they allow cross country skilling on their grounds. What was must impressive is how they provided all the lineworkers a place to stay and had special treats for them. (we got hit with a massive ice storm)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear pippenAugusta,

First, please allow me to thank you for your support of the line crews that were staying with us while they worked so hard to assist our area during the recent ice storm. Our guests during those few days were so very kind and encouraging of the hard work those teams were doing. It was heartwarming to see the friendly waves of our guests and hear them say “Good luck out there!” as the teams prepared to go out each morning.

Thank you for also writing your kind review. It sounds as if you were able to enjoy many aspects of our resort’s winter activities such as the indoor pool, the kids Rec Room, outstanding guest service, and the delicious food in La Bella Vita.

We look forward to your return visit when you can enjoy some cross country skiing on our property.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    281
    93
    29
    23
See reviews for
428
549
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I live close to the beach.
Still i felt it is very beautiful view from the window.
Nice and friendly service anywhere. The food at the main restaurant was delicious. Specially sea food stew was amassing. I am very picky for seafood.

Only negative side was swimming pool. I felt a little too much chlorine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1961CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear 1961CN,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Samoset Resort. Your words complimenting the food in La Bella Vita and our beautiful views are appreciated.

Our resort’s Certified Pool Operators monitor and test our pools and hot tubs continuously throughout the day to ensure the water is maintained at the required levels. These protocols are followed to ensure our guests’ safety and comfort. Your comments about the chlorine have been shared with our pool staff.

We hope to see you again for a return visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benning, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Samoset Resort one bedroom timeshare condominiums for one week. Prior to our visit I called a few times and always encountered a helpful person on the phone. If they didn't know the answer, I was put on hold while they found the answer.

Checkin was a breeze. The lobby was warm and inviting. It was all decorated for Christmas.

The one bedroom condos are very nice. The small kitchenette has granite counters. There is a dishwasher, two burner stove, microwave, toaster oven and a medium size refrigerator with a small freezer. The kitchen is fully equipped and has everything you need to cook and serve a meal. I was surprised at everything that was available.

The living room has comfortable furniture. Slightly worn but not shabby. We are a family of four and comfortable with the amount of space. Plenty of places to sit, and a table with four chairs to eat at.

The bedroom has a kingsize bed. Both rooms have screen doors opening to an expansive balcony with an incredible view.

The resort amenities include indoor pool and fitness center, ice skating rink and larger grounds. Plenty of snow for cross country skiing and snowshoeing. There is a sporting good store down HWY 1 which rents skates, Xcountry skis, and snowshoes.

Overall great place for a family vacation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegschalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear pegschalet,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Samoset. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our 72 timeshare condominiums. Your review mentioned many features such as our well-equipped kitchens, enough space for your family to be comfortable, our helpful staff, and our winter activities which are all important to other travelers considering staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime for a return visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I celebrated her birthday by visiting one of our favorite escape havens.
Upon our arrival, the outside world disappeared. The seasonal decor transformed our visit instantly as we entered the foyer. The smell of hot cider, mixed with the warm fireplace was amazing!
Our greeting at the front desk was even warmer. Dinner was spectacular and every staff member welcomed us back as though we stayed there more often than we actually do.
Thank you

Room Tip: You have to overlook the harbor and lighthouse-WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Lee S,

How thankful we are to read your review describing Samoset as a perfect place to escape the outside world. We enjoy thinking of the extra touches such as hot cider and a roaring fire in the lobby fireplace to welcome our guests this time of year, so I am glad you appreciated our efforts. We look forward to again welcoming you to the midcoast whenever you choose to return.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, even in the mid-winter!!! Rooms are excellent and the restaurant serves great food. Will be going back for a third visit next year! The staff are very helpful, and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but ask for a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear maisielove,

Thank you for the kind words you wrote in your review of the Samoset. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time next year and plan to again exceed your expectations.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My family and I just returned from a weekend at the Samoset Resort. As one of my favorite places in the world it never disappoints.....service is the best. ...view is amazing. So comfortable and convenient ...kid friendly. Best Cosmo I ever had. Everything is spectacular can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Had a double. Queen ocean view i highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Patricia E,

Everyone at the Samoset extends a warm thank you for your review stating we are one of you “favorite places in the world”. Although we can’t take complete credit for the view of the sunsets, we do make every effort the ensure that all our guests have the same kind of experience as yours. Our skilled Enoteca staff will continue serving our wonderful Cosmos and sunsets for your enjoyment when you return.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have family in the Rockland area and stay at the Samoset several times a year. It is always perfect....no matter the season. In the summer, the pool, tennis and golf are awesome. Great kids activities too. Over the holiday season, the decorations, ice skating and indoor pool are perfect. Wonderful kids stuff too. Rooms are very nice with extra comfy beds. Restaurant has the great combination of excellent food (but also "kid friendly"). We always look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Spa looks great but never used...yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Julie D,

It was with great pleasure that I read your “Another wonderful stay…” review of the Samoset. Since you return to us several times throughout the year when visiting family in the area it is reassuring to know your experience of our amenities, dining, kids’ programs, recreation activities, and guest service are consistently exceeding your expectations.

I will be sure to share your review with our associates. Hopefully your next visit will include a visit to our wonderful spa that you mentioned as it is truly a wonderful place.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing