We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of the Maine Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
403 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Gem of the Maine Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in a 1-br timeshare unit and it was really nicely appointed except the tiny kitchen which was as expected. The view from our unit was unbeatable and we loved every minute sitting on the balcony taking in the historic Breakwater and Owls Head Light beyond the golf course. We have stayed there when it was so foggy the fog horn sounded constantly but the last few times we've been there it was beautiful and clear. They do a mid-week housekeeping which is unusual in a timeshare. I was surprised by the reviewer who had a bad experience trying to make a reservation because everyone was eager to please and acted like they were glad to see us. The concierge, Nina, was particularly helpful in suggesting day sails and restaurants we hadn't tried.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Breakwater. Some hotel units have a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear AnnC576,
Thank you for staying in our timeshare condominiums this last month, we appreciate your numerous visits as a valued repeat guest. The one-bedroom timeshare units are offered in multiple configurations, so I would recommend requesting a unit that features a larger kitchen during your next stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the views of the Rockland Breakwater and Owls Head lighthouse from your balcony without any fog during this visit. The local fog horns certainly illustrate a piece of Mid-Coast Maine’s charm. Thank you for your kind words of our reservations and front desk teams. Our goal at the Samoset is to provide exceptional guest service and Nina is consistently recognized for her knowledge and charisma. We look forward to your return visits!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    263
    82
    25
    21
See reviews for
388
511
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
749 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just stayed here for second time. The resort is truly lovely. Set on the waterfront with beautiful views, including a jetty that one can walk out on. Also has golf course views. A perfect setting for weddings. Lots of facilities, including indoor/outdoor pools, health club, and more. Lobby has beautiful, rustic wood floors and ceiling and large fireplace. Rooms are large and comfortable. Restaurant has a nice variety of food in a beautiful setting with great service. The weak spot for the hotel is the valet parking. It is included in the $25 per night resort fee. The parking lot is close to the entrance to the hotel, but valet service is helpful with bags and when weather is bad. Problem is, no valet is ever present, despite a valet desk/podium at the entrance. You have to go to the desk in the lobby and they sometimes have to find someone to go fetch your car. That's no help when checking in, and the check-in desk does not tell you about any of this - you have to ask. The hotel needs to improve this service, or at least post a sign that explains how the service works.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear CTManny,
Thank you for your return visit to The Samoset Resort and for your feedback regarding your experience. I appreciated your complements of our oceanic scenery, golf course, Health Club facilities, lobby, room accommodations and restaurant. I am pleased to know you were able to enjoy all these amenities that our teams work so hard to offer. I apologize that the valet service was challenging during your stay. There was a large wedding in house putting our property at full occupancy during that weekend, and keeping our bell staff very busy. The front desk is always happy to take your keys and have your car valeted when the next staff member is available. We also encourage guests to call from their room to have their car brought to the front ready and waiting for them when they come to the lobby. I regret that no one explained to you that valet is always available. I assure you that during your next visit the front desk team will be ready and waiting to attend to your requests.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well I have never been to this resort so I called with lots of questions, the first person I spoke with didnt get her name she was ok not great, the second person seemed annoyed and stated he could not hear me I had to call back because my confirmation was not what we had spoke about
The Third person was Justin and he was just plain rude, I cancelled our reservation if you cant get good customer service just over the phone and paying over 300 per night I was just not willing to take the risk too bad....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jenee22,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with the Samoset’s reservation department. I apologize that your interactions with us lead to your cancelling your reservation.
Since you were trying to obtain information about discrepancies contained in your reservation confirmation, I can understand your frustration at having to call back because of a poor connection. I apologize if our approach was less than sympathetic to this challenge in trying to reach us.
I will personally follow up with our reservations agents to provide feedback regarding your experience. While we cannot tell from your review the specific agents with whom you spoke other than “Justin”, it will be a good reminder of the importance of first impressions with our potential guests and how the guest’s experience begins before even arriving at the property.
I hope you will change your mind about coming to visit us in the future. We would look forward to welcoming you to the Samoset and sharing our hospitality with you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Samoset Resort in Rockport, Maine offers a beautiful location and a level of service tuned to what the experienced traveler has come to expect. Living in Maine, we stayed at the Samoset for one night to celebrate our anniversary and dine at nearby Primo. The Samoset grounds are spectacular. The golf course places you in a seaside setting that ranks among the best. The beautiful pool similarly overlooks the ocean. With a range of family, group, and couple activities available, it’s easy to envision the Samoset as the perfect base for exploring Maine’s Midcoast Region and all it has to offer. Before dinner, we socialized with other guests while enjoying drinks and a delicious antipasti suggested by Chris, our affable and capable server. The Samoset Resort has been around for a while and has seen some higher and lower points. The “feel” that a visitor now receives is that the Samoset is in a good place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear BillMuldoon,
Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your anniversary here with us at The Samoset Resort. I am pleased you enjoyed the recommended antipasti and atmosphere of Enoteca Lounge before your dinner with Melissa Kelly, James Beard Award winning Chef at Primo. Thank you for your kind words of our food service team, Chris is consistently recognized for his exceptional guest service and I appreciate the affirmation of your feedback. The Samoset has seen many renovations and improvements in the last few years and I am pleased that as a repeat guest you feel that we have reached a place of high standards and guest service. We will continue to work towards blending the highest levels of both comfort and luxury with our planned improvements for this coming off season and we hope you return soon to experience those enhancements.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

spent a weekend and it was wonderful! great views, clean rooms and luxury resort amenities, highly recommended and the golf course was one of the nicest we ever stayed near. Dont forget to walk out to the lighthouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitchypotchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pitchypotchy,
Thank you for spending a weekend with us this summer and thank you for your complements of our accommodations, amenities, and golf course that our teams work consistently to maintain at high standards for our guests. I am pleased you were able to take in the oceanic views from our facility and the historic Rockland Breakwater. We look forward to luring you from New York for another weekend getaway soon!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 3 days/2 nights at Samoset with my family (Dad, Stepmom and Sister). It was absolutely wonderful, and highly recommend. The views are amazing, and the services was wonderful. Every staff member was friendly, efficient and really took great care of us. The pool is just amazing--brought a book to read at the pool and I just kept looking at the view. We had dinner the 1st night in the Restaurant--- it was really, really good. Food was delicious, and well prepared. Service was excellent as well.
Plan to visit- you will be glad you did. Great sidetrips to Camden, Rockport and Rockland too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Puppysmiles,

Thank you so very much for your kind words of our views, services, pool, and restaurant. The view from the pool is definitely a guest favorite! I am pleased you and your family were able to enjoy all we work diligently to offer, as well as the local side trips to Camden, Rockport, and Rockland. Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!

With hospitality

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The resort is a wonderful retreat for anyone looking to decompress from a hectic lifestyle. Although it is tucked away in Rockport, the quaint town surrounding the resort is wonferful to explore. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SARossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear S. R,

I am pleased you enjoyed a relaxing retreat to unwind from the pressures of a hectic lifestyle. I appreciate the time taken to complement our views, cuisine, and accommodations. Exploring the surrounding towns of Rockland, Rockport, and Camden as they have so much to offer and can be such a treat; I am pleased you were able to enjoy them. We look forward to your next visit and recommend many more trips for decompressing.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing