We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Maine getaway-location, view, and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Maine getaway-location, view, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 3 days/2 nights at Samoset with my family (Dad, Stepmom and Sister). It was absolutely wonderful, and highly recommend. The views are amazing, and the services was wonderful. Every staff member was friendly, efficient and really took great care of us. The pool is just amazing--brought a book to read at the pool and I just kept looking at the view. We had dinner the 1st night in the Restaurant--- it was really, really good. Food was delicious, and well prepared. Service was excellent as well.
Plan to visit- you will be glad you did. Great sidetrips to Camden, Rockport and Rockland too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Puppysmiles,

Thank you so very much for your kind words of our views, services, pool, and restaurant. The view from the pool is definitely a guest favorite! I am pleased you and your family were able to enjoy all we work diligently to offer, as well as the local side trips to Camden, Rockport, and Rockland. Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!

With hospitality

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    243
    81
    24
    21
See reviews for
368
473
9
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The resort is a wonderful retreat for anyone looking to decompress from a hectic lifestyle. Although it is tucked away in Rockport, the quaint town surrounding the resort is wonferful to explore. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SARossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear S. R,

I am pleased you enjoyed a relaxing retreat to unwind from the pressures of a hectic lifestyle. I appreciate the time taken to complement our views, cuisine, and accommodations. Exploring the surrounding towns of Rockland, Rockport, and Camden as they have so much to offer and can be such a treat; I am pleased you were able to enjoy them. We look forward to your next visit and recommend many more trips for decompressing.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed previously at the Samoset, and always had a great experience, but this particular visit was by far, the best, and the most relaxing.......

We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages, right on the ocean and golf course. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to unwind for a few days.

Sitting on the porch, you would have no idea there was a large resort hotel on the property. The quiet and peaceful cottages on the property allow you the best of both worlds.....a private cottage on the Maine coast, complete with the benefits of a resort property.

The cottages are completely furnished, modern in every way, and decorated in such as way that you instantly feel comfortable just plopping down in the living room complete with a fireplace, or lounging around the grounds. A full kitchen made for a great opportunity to make breakfast without ever having to leave the cottage. Room service for meals and drinks we didn't want to prepare ourselves, seemed almost instantaneously delivered. As always, the food at the Samoset is varied and great, along with the rest of the accommodations, including the new pool area.

But the front porch, is by far, the best room in the cottage.

Having the opportunity to experience the solitude of the cottages, overlooking the golf course and Rockland harbor made this a truly unique experience, that I have never found before on a resort property. Usually to have this experience, you also have to be prepared to be "roughing it" a bit more in the state of Maine, but not here.

Three days in these cottages, and you will leave in a completely different frame of mind.

I would highly recommend the Samoset in any event, but these cottages are something very special....

Room Tip: Pick a cottage on the property.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHWanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear RHWanderings,

Thank you for your continue patronage and kind words of your previous experiences. I am very pleased to know this visit was the best and most relaxing you’ve had, so far. I would agree that the Wind Drift Cottage, opened in 2011, has a spectacular combination of design, comfort, and features to provide a unique blend of cottage privacy and resort luxury. Our La Bella Vita in-room dining staff consistently strives for superior efficiency and service, so I am pleased to know that your dinning expectations were continually fulfilled. Our new zero-entry outdoor pool has quickly become a guest favorite for its innovative design and sweeping views, but the view of the Rockland Breakwater from the screened porch is unmatched elsewhere. I am glad you didn’t find anything “rough” about your cottage or stay with us and we look forward to continually raising the bar each time you visit!

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle sackville,N.S.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As a first time traveler to the Samoset in June we decided to spend a few days at the end of summer for a little relaxation. In June we rented a time share which we were extremely happy with. This time we stayed two nights in the hotel.We were not disappointed. The rooms are large and well appointed. The furnishings depict the time period in which the hotel was built. Beds are comfy, lots of space to move around and the keurig coffee maker in the room is a great bonus.
The staff at the resort are very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a place to visit that has great scenery, a resort feel and all the amenities this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Cathy L,

Thank you for returning to The Samoset Resort again this summer! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the timeshare and hotel accommodations during your visits. Thank you for you complements of our spacious rooms, amenities, sweeping views, and friendly staff. We look forward to hosting you and your family again!

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were very impressed with the Samoset Resort during a recent stay. Had visited several years ago, however the improvements to the rooms and facilities will have us anxious to return. The golf course is in excellent condition and worth what some would consider expensive. The dining facilities are very load with average food. There are several wonderful restaurants close to the resort.

Room Tip: The rooms 222 and 223 have great ocean and golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Bill V,

Thank you for returning to the Samoset and taking the time to share that the renovations have been successful in fulfilling your expectations and making you anxious to return. I am glad you enjoyed the golf course thoroughly, and apologize that the same satisfaction wasn’t found in our restaurant. I have provided your feedback of the noise and cuisine to our Food & Beverage Director for his consideration. We are also anxious for you to return for another weekend with your family soon!

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our children gave us an inclusive two night stay at the Samoset Resort in Maine. It was one of our best vacations ever. The ocean setting is gorgeous, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent as were the rooms. Plus I must mention the golf course and pool as perfect.

Room Tip: Select an ocean view for seeing the Atlantic, the golf course, plus the rising sun and moon in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Robert988,

Thank you to your children for sending you on an Anniversary Get-A-Way to the Samoset Resort! We love to help our guests build memories while celebrating those special moments in life, and we’re pleased to be ranked among the best in your vacation experiences. Your kind words of our oceanic views, friendly staff, golf course, pool, and La Bella Vita cuisine are greatly appreciated. We hope your children send you to our resort for many more anniversaries to come!

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can tell from the title of this review where my priorities lie! Seriously, this is a wonderful hotel! Huge rooms, fabulous views of the bay, excellent food, delightful infinity pool even if it is a bit chilly in July, super clean - just a mid-coast classic! The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I did not want to leave in the morning and returning to bed in the evening was like sinking back into heaven! Samoset is a one of a kind place that just keeps getting better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Laurie K,

Thank you so much for bringing your family to The Samoset Resort this past July. I am very pleased you enjoyed our Englander “Plush” beds and down pillows so much it was hard to leave! We appreciate your complements of our views, food, and zero-entry outdoor pool, as well as the continuous renovations and improvements. We’re holding a bed open just for you, so make your next visit soon!

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 6 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
1.6 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing