We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to The Samoset with our son and grandson. We had not been to the Samoset for a number of years. Pleased to see some of the upgrades. Had lovely rooms with the same nice balcony. So nice to have a Keurig and complimentary water. The golf course was VERY wet because of all the rain they'd had recently, but that spectacular ocean view is what we went for we didn't mind getting our feet wet. This is the most beautiful golf course in New England.
We enjoyed drinks, coffee and dessert in the lounge. I've never had such a BIG delicious Tiramisu the Creme Brulee was also very good. Had to ask for napkins that is the only complaint we have

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Doris S,
Thank you for staying at the Samoset Resort last month with your son and grandson. I am pleased to hear your positive feedback of the many renovations completed over the past few years and the new in-room amenities you mentioned.
I apologize the weather did not cooperate during your stay, but glad to hear you were adventurous enough to still get out and enjoy the spectacular ocean views. Many thanks for your compliments of our grounds team’s diligent effort to enhance our golf course and oceanic setting.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed drinks, coffee, and dessert in the Entoeca Lounge. The Tiramisu and Crème Brulee are certainly guest favorites. Our apologies for the oversight of napkins that should have come with your dessert and we certainly look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!
With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Big, clean, comfortable room. Nice amenities...Keurig, shampoos, robes. Great view from the balcony. Complimentary water, which is a nice touch. Comfortable bed. Perfect place for a retreat any time of the year.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roadtrip091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Roadtrip091,
Thank you for staying with us at The Samoset Resort.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations and in-room amenities provided for your convenience and comfort. The oceanic scenery provides an unmatched luxury to our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed the views. Many thanks for your recommendation as a retreat destination anytime of year!
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were at the Samoset last week for two nights for a reunion. Setting is gorgeous, accommodations were very nice, and staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. We had arranged for finger food/cash bar for one night, and a real buffet dinner/cash bar for the second night.
Food at the dinner was good, bartender very accommodating.
Some of the people attending played golf, and thought the course was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plainfieldnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Plainfieldnh,
Thank you for visiting the Samoset Resort for the Colby College Tau Delt reunion.
I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and oceanic setting. Your kind words of our staff are very much appreciated as our teams work diligently to provide the highest level of hospitality for all guests.
Our catering team is extremely talented in providing memorable events for our groups and we are pleased you enjoyed your special occasion.
We look forward to hosting you again soon for another event or leisure visit.
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the resort for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. The resort is located between Camden and Rockland which both towns offered great shopping and restaurant selections. The staff at the resort were happy to assist with all our requests and provide us good direction as to where to go and what to do. My wife and I travel a lot and the staff at this resort were among the best we a pleasure of visiting. I also complement the chef on the wonderful breakfast buffet as well as all the great meals we enjoyed.
Oh, by the way the golf course was fantastic!!
Thank you to the Samoset family for making our stay enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

AJK,
Thank you for spending a long weekend with us at The Samoset Resort.
I am delighted you were able to enjoy the numerous local attractions available in our region. Your kind words of our staff are much appreciated as our teams pride themselves on provided the highest level of hospitality for all guests.
We are very proud of the talents of our Executive Chef and his highly skilled team. Thank you very much for your compliments.
We look forward to hosting you and your wife again soon!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Samoset for the second time. This is one of the best resorts I have been to in the country. Its stunning views and atmosphere are second to none. That floor in the lobby is certainly one of a kind! I would recommend this resort to anyone without hesitation. The staff here go above and byond expectations and make you feel like you are home. A great experience and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloorGuy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Tubguy101,
Thank you for visiting The Samoset Resort again this June.
You kind words of our staff are very much appreciated, as our teams work diligently to maintain the highest level of comfort for every guest.
We are very proud of our beautiful and incredibly unique lobby floor, made of repurposed beams from a historic Portland granary.
We greatly appreciate your high recommendation and look forward to hosting you many more times!
With Hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we just drove there since i wanted to surprise my husband for his bday and the lady at the desk was really nice to upgrade our room for the same(though she was reluctant at first and i had to plead her couple times for a nice room,since i didnt want to spoil the surprise). I am glad she did and the room she gave had beautiful views of the breakwater int the ocean with a balcony and a very nice spacious bathroom. The bell man and the housekeeping lady were both very good and pleasant.even the golf course is very beautiful and the pros who teach there are very knowledgeable. my husband took a class there and was very happy.both the restaurants there are good,the pizzas are really good.but we did experience bad service on our 1st night and were bit disappointed. the outdoor pool and other actvities only open from memorial day so we cudnt enjoy them,but the indoor pool and hot tub were good.overall a nice place for relaxing with the nature. guess would be more pleasant to visit in summer with the outdoor sitting.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms on 1st-2nd floors in the corner have breakwater views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

H B,
Thank you for staying at The Samoset Resort this spring.
I am pleased you were able to enjoy one of our Deluxe guest room accommodations as a complimentary upgrade for your husband’s Birthday. Our Front Desk staff works diligently to meet all requests based on availability. The Rockland Breakwater is a significant asset to our oceanic scenery and I am delighted you enjoyed viewing it from your private patio.
Your kind words of our bellman, housekeeping, and golf staff members are much appreciated, as our teams prides themselves on providing the highest level of hospitality for all guests.
Our La Bella Vita Restaurant and Enoteca Lounge have become local favorites because of their delicious Italian fare, especially the hand-made, wood oven fired pizza! I apologize that the service on your first night did not meet our usual high standards and have provided our Food & Beverage Director with your comments for immediate resolution and training opportunities.
I apologize that our zero-entry outdoor pool was not open during your visit. The outdoor pool opened Memorial Weekend and will remain open throughout the summer season.
We look forward to hosting you again soon to enjoy all we have to complement a beautiful Maine summer!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great weekend! The weather couldn't have been better and the resort staff more friendlier! We had a problem with the porch at the unit we were first assigned. The clerk at the desk reacted instantly and offered us keys to look at another room. We loved it and the change was made easily. Our porch looked out on to the ocean and the grounds were so beautiful!!! The only problem we had with the resort was the restaurant. We couldn't understand what restaurant was what and where. When we finally managed to figure it out, helped by another very friendly staff member, we dined at the more casual restaurant, had a really great Blueberry Martini, and enjoyed a great sandwich and Margarita pizza!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Janice W,
Thank you for visiting The Samoset in May.
We appreciate your kind words of our hospitality, as our teams pride themselves on providing the highest level of comfort for all guests.
I apologize that there was a maintenance issue with your initial room and have notified our Director of Engineering for immediate resolution. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your new accommodations and view of the ocean from you patio.
I regret that you found the restaurant arrangement unclear, but am happy to learn our staff was able to point you in the right direction to enjoy our delicious brick-oven pizza and martinis. We provide property aps included in each check-in booklet for our guests convenience.
We look forward to hosting you many more times!
With hospitality,
Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $126 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing