We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, fun getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, Maine
1 review
“Relaxing, fun getaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a sisters overnight to celebrate birthdays and had a truly wonderful experience. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean and the views over the golf course and breakwater were spectacular. We enjoyed the spa, having nails done and massages -- they brought us drinks and snacks. Dinner that evening at La Bella Vita was most enjoyable. I am gluten free vegan which they accommodated most graciously and I had a delicious meal. The Tuscan Pear Martini was exquisite! Everyone at the resort was very friendly and helpful and seemed to really care that we had a positive experience. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 674JoannaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
674JoannaJ,

Thank you for hosting your sister’s birthday celebration at The Samoset Resort.

Your kind words of your relaxing day in the spa are appreciated, we are glad you had the opportunity to relax.

We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant La Bella Vita. Our hospitable staff takes great care to ensure all our guests have a premier experience such as yours.

We look forward to hosting the next birthday celebration.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    280
    93
    29
    23
See reviews for
427
549
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston burbs
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed with 8 friends from the East and West coasts during late June, and they have done a fantastic job with updating this property.

We had fabulous rooms overlooking the golf course and the water. Enjoyed the walk to the lighthouse at the end of the breakwater.

The pool is zero entry and the pool bar is wonderfully situated with views over the water as well.
Lastly, one night we ate at the on site Italian restaurant and the food, service and ambiance were truly distinctive and wonderful.
A very chic and enjoyable experience overall!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
SDtransplant,

Many thanks for visiting The Samoset Resort.

We appreciate you noticing all our marvelous updates, including our popular restaurant La Bella Vita.

It is wonderful you were able to enjoy the beautiful zero entry outdoor pool overlooking Penobscot Bay.

We hope to host you for another girl’s getaway soon.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Even in April, the Samoset was the perfect night away for our family! Beautiful views, a warm indoor pool, friendly staff--it is well worth the visit! Great local restaurants to visit as well! We will definitely be returning to this resort (during the off season) when it is quiet and affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WTORCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
WTORCA,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset this April.

We are pleased you were able to visit for a quiet, relaxing stay.

Our staff appreciates your kind words of our hospitality, and we are happy you enjoyed our many amenity options on property.

We look forward to hosting you again.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My three sisters and I decided to get away for a short visit at the Samoset and found ourselves in the most gorgeous rooms with views that made you feel right on the edge of the ocean. The room I was in looked out both to the east and the south over the Bay. There's a breakwater at the mouth of Rockland Harbor, and my sisters' room looked right out over it. As girls will do, we spent the late afternoon at the spa and felt so rejuvenated and spoiled - it's an excellent spa and we will go back! I worked out at the fitness center and was impressed with the size of it and all that was available. We ate at the restaurant and had terrific meals. Two of my sisters had the steak-lobster combo platter and I had fish - we all enjoyed our meals very much and it was so nice to be able to leave our cars in the parking lot and simply go downstairs for this wonderful meal.

One of my sisters has booked the very same room for a return visit even before she left the hotel!

Room Tip: Corner suites have views that can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Karen B,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset for what sounds like a delightful stay.

Your kind words of our accommodations are much appreciated, and we are pleased you enjoyed your sweeping views of Penobscot Bay and the Rockland Breakwater.

Our Spa team looks forward to ensuring our guests are relaxed, revitalized, and rejuvenated. We hope you had the opportunity to try one of our specialty spring treatments; the Rose Revitalizing Facial has received much favorable feedback.

It is wonderful you were able to stay comfortable at the resort, and dine in our restaurant La Bella Vita for such a special experience.

We would be happy to host another girl’s event soon.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Samoset for our 1anniversary year anniversary. We had a wonderful time! The room was gorgeous with a magnificent view of the sunrise over Vinalhaven in the morning through one window and looking out to the Breakwater through the other window.
We ate in the bar and had awesome appetizers and pizza!! We would go back just because of the food. Service was great as well.
overall it made our anniversary very special

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbeylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Abbeylem,

Thank you for choosing The Samoset for your one year anniversary!

We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodations with magnificent views, and our lounge with delicious pizza.

We hope to host you for your second anniversary.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a night at the Samoset this January with family. Nice to go someplace so close to home that feels like a real escape. Rooms were incredibly comfortable. Loved the ocean views. Excellent fitness center with very professional staff. Didn't try the meals on site because Rockland has so many great restaurants, but peeked in at a wedding that was going on and the food looked great. I'm sure this place has an entirely different feel in the summer, but the winter experience was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Meg M M,

Thank you for spending your winter getaway at The Samoset.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the health club and our professional and friendly staff. We hope you were able to relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, and steam saunas as well.

We look forward to your next visit.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We can't say enough about the way the Samoset helped to make our anniversary weekend very special. From the attentive staff to the beautiful suite overlooking Penobscot Bay our weekend was perfect. I'm not sure how they arranged it, but the sunrise over the bay on Saturday was spectacular. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Papalermo.

Thank you for visiting The Samoset for your anniversary weekend.

We are pleased you enjoyed one of our eighteen beautiful suites, and the sunrise over Penobscot Bay.

Our staff appreciates your kind words, and is pleased our premier hospitality contributed to a great stay.

Happy anniversary, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing