We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent 3 days in August during the hot muggy Summer in Philly and we absolutely loved this place. Pool weather during the day and cool and refreshing at night. Great restaurant at the facility and nice outdoor seating with a fire pit as well. Great eating and wonderful scenery. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had my mom's 80th birthday with people who have never stayed there. Every interaction with staff was superb and they allowed us to make memories that will never be forgotten. Everyone we came in contact with was attentive flexible and truly wanted everyone to feel comfortable. The rooms (especially the beds) were comfortable spacious and attended to the small details...example, free large poland spring waters, deep bathtubs with easy in and out access, cushy towels, and Keurig coffee makers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I attended the Samoset for the weekend of the ice bar with another couple. What an event!!! We have been to the Samoset many times in the summer, and it is always a great experience. We went up and spent the night and had a wonderful meal at La Bella Vita. The room was great as always as was the service. Going up for the winter ice bar event was a wonderful new experience and I would highly recommend the event and the Samoset to anyone looking for a place to stay with great food, great rooms. and great service!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Samoset is not only a beautiful place in the summer months... Imagine a fully equipped bar made merely of ICE!! This hotel is top notch and has become my new destination when traveling in the Camden/Rockland area.

I stayed for one night with my girlfriend and had an unforgettable experience. The staff was extremely friendly, yet professional, and were able to accommodate all of our needs and requests. Our room was clean and crisp with the bathroom flooded with marble and chrome; we felt like royalty!

The food at La Bella Vita was not typical for a hotel restaurant. The quality was out of this world and I can still taste the flavor of the enormous meatball appetizer and white pizza topped with truffle oil.

At this point, I cannot put into words the value that I feel received for such an unforgettable, elegant night out. To add to the efforts of the Winter Ice Bar that was launched for the first time this year, I have heard that next year they will have THREE on the patios overlooking the ocean! Trust assured, we will be booking for next year if the word hasn't already spread and there are still rooms available to book. THANK YOU, SAMOSET!! Pictures from stay are attached.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSHAW2868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been to the Samoset during all seasons of the year and they never cease to impress me! From the outdoor pool and lounge in the summer to the ice bar in the winter there is ALWAYS something to do. Luxurious spa, Beautiful rooms, great staff, and great food as well! Great place to bring the kids and the husband as the Samoset has the most beautiful and scenic gold course on the east coast. A destination to be taken for sure!

Room Tip: any room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Seanna K,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset during all four of our beautiful seasons.

We appreciate you recognizing our activities throughout the year including our new prized Ice Bar. We look forward to January 2014 for the next ice event.

It always pleases our staff to hear such wonderful feedback.

We look forward to hosting you any time of the year.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russsell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Samoset for this past New Year ’s Eve. Our room was in pristine condition and was most welcoming. The room was clean, spacious, warm and the view was spectacular. We celebrated with dinner at La Bella Vita restaurant and drinks in the Enoteca Lounge with friends. The food and service were fantastic. We are really fortunate to have such a first class facility right here in Mid Coast Maine.
One cannot say enough about the staff at Samoset Resort. Every one that you encounter is real welcoming and seem to take extra pride in their resort. We feel strongly that it is because of quality leadership at the Samoset.
We hope to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Gyrl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Travek_Gyrl207,

Many thanks for visiting The Samoset for New Year’s Eve.

We are pleased you chose to celebrate the holiday with us. Thank you for your great feedback of our La Bella Vita and Enoteca lounge. We hope you had the opportunity to try the Mionetto Passion Fruit Bellini a Samoset signature cocktail with Mionetto Prosecco and delicious juices.

Our staff is a proud team, and is always pleased to provide the warm Maine hospitality our guests look forward to.

We look forward to hosting you for another holiday event.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We travel quite a bit throughout the year, and we have stayed at the Samoset a number of times, even though we live in Maine. We decided to spend the night there on New Year's Eve, following a great dinner in the new restaurant. As expected, and as always, everything was wonderful. It was good to have the resort open at that time of year, after it had been closed for the past couple winter seasons. Our kids also gave us a weekend for our anniversary last year, and we took advantage of it in July. There is nothing quite like sitting by the outdoor pool, overlooking the golf course and the ocean! The Samoset is a special treat!

Room Tip: No need to ask, because, I think, all the rooms have a view of Penobscot Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outsiderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Outsiderin,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset as your local vacation destination.

We are thrilled you were able to visit The Samoset for New Year’s Eve. We are delighted to be open for the winter holiday again, and look forward to many spectacular celebrations to come.

I am pleased to hear you were also able to join us during the summer months and visit our outdoor pool and Splash pool bar. We have had fantastic feedback of our Splash bar and its sweeping views of Penobscot Bay in the beautiful warm sunshine.

We look forward to hosting you for another special occasion.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
6.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
642 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $126 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing