We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$119
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner Bay Motor Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Towne Motel(Camden)(Great Value!)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
966
297
95
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
297
95
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursela bellahealth clubhot tubthe general managerpebble beachthe wait stafftime sharekids clubtennis courtsindoor poolrockland harborenoteca loungetimeshare unitsgift shopfitness centerlight house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been to the Samoset during all seasons of the year and they never cease to impress me! From the outdoor pool and lounge in the summer to the ice bar in the winter there is ALWAYS something to do. Luxurious spa, Beautiful rooms, great staff, and great food as well! Great place to bring the kids and the husband as the Samoset has the most beautiful and scenic gold course on the east coast. A destination to be taken for sure!

Room Tip: any room with an ocean view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Seanna K,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset during all four of our beautiful seasons.

We appreciate you recognizing our activities throughout the year including our new prized Ice Bar. We look forward to January 2014 for the next ice event.

It always pleases our staff to hear such wonderful feedback.

We look forward to hosting you any time of the year.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russsell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Samoset for this past New Year ’s Eve. Our room was in pristine condition and was most welcoming. The room was clean, spacious, warm and the view was spectacular. We celebrated with dinner at La Bella Vita restaurant and drinks in the Enoteca Lounge with friends. The food and service were fantastic. We are really fortunate to have such a first class facility right here in Mid Coast Maine.
One cannot say enough about the staff at Samoset Resort. Every one that you encounter is real welcoming and seem to take extra pride in their resort. We feel strongly that it is because of quality leadership at the Samoset.
We hope to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Gyrl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Travek_Gyrl207,

Many thanks for visiting The Samoset for New Year’s Eve.

We are pleased you chose to celebrate the holiday with us. Thank you for your great feedback of our La Bella Vita and Enoteca lounge. We hope you had the opportunity to try the Mionetto Passion Fruit Bellini a Samoset signature cocktail with Mionetto Prosecco and delicious juices.

Our staff is a proud team, and is always pleased to provide the warm Maine hospitality our guests look forward to.

We look forward to hosting you for another holiday event.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We travel quite a bit throughout the year, and we have stayed at the Samoset a number of times, even though we live in Maine. We decided to spend the night there on New Year's Eve, following a great dinner in the new restaurant. As expected, and as always, everything was wonderful. It was good to have the resort open at that time of year, after it had been closed for the past couple winter seasons. Our kids also gave us a weekend for our anniversary last year, and we took advantage of it in July. There is nothing quite like sitting by the outdoor pool, overlooking the golf course and the ocean! The Samoset is a special treat!

Room Tip: No need to ask, because, I think, all the rooms have a view of Penobscot Bay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outsiderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Outsiderin,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset as your local vacation destination.

We are thrilled you were able to visit The Samoset for New Year’s Eve. We are delighted to be open for the winter holiday again, and look forward to many spectacular celebrations to come.

I am pleased to hear you were also able to join us during the summer months and visit our outdoor pool and Splash pool bar. We have had fantastic feedback of our Splash bar and its sweeping views of Penobscot Bay in the beautiful warm sunshine.

We look forward to hosting you for another special occasion.

With hospitality,

Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went here for a long weekend getaway and wanted to love it. It is in a beautiful location and the resort itself is very nice. But we just had some logistical issues that made our stay just average. I think part of the issue was that everything in the resort (including the front desk) closes on Sunday afternoon and doesn't reopen till Thursday.
-We had arrived on a Saturday morning and were planning to make spa appointments for Sunday, but we found out too late that the spa closed Saturday evening till Thursday. Our fault for not checking the hours but a disappointment all the same.
-We had to pry open the front doors of the lobby by hand on our way to checkout Monday afternoon.
-The restaurant is beautiful but the service was rushed and confused, although nice. For the price and the ambiance, you would expect to have a flawless meal but we had a few issues (food temperature, couldn't get refills, meal came with item that had been asked to leave off, etc.).
Overall, we'd still recommend the Samoset but we agree that they have some work to do to get to four or five stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skm1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in late November 2012 with our young grandson for a weekend getaway so we could visit the Owls Head Museum. We were upgraded to an ocean view room compliments of the hotel. The service and staff were very gracious and accommodating. The hotel property has great views out to the ocean. The rooms are very spacious, clean, updated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The hotel was tastefully decorated for Christmas including a huge gingerbread house.The bright dining room has great views as well and the buffet breakfast had anything you could possibly want including made to order omlettes. They even offered to make, (without us asking) special pancakes for our grandson because the ones on the buffet had blueberries which he did not like. The large indoor pool was great to have since he loves to swim. even at this time of year the hotel grounds were fun to explore, there is a walking trail down to the rock jetty leading out to a lighthouse. I can imagine that during the summer months with all they offer for outdoor activities it would be a great place for families to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DD5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

DD5358,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset this past November.

We appreciate your feedback of our accommodating staff and spacious rooms.

The Samoset is always proud to display our Holiday décor, and we are pleased you recognized our efforts. Our eight foot tall gingerbread house was created by our very own talented sous and pastry chefs.

It is wonderful you enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet; we hope your grandson loved his special pancakes.

We are happy to hear you were able to walk to the breakwater lighthouse and enjoy the sweeping views of Penobscot Bay. Our pool is a favorite for many of our guests and it is fantastic to hear your family was no exception.

We look forward to hosting your family again soon,

With hospitality,


Cornelius Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews