We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After reading many negative reviews and comments of The Samoset Resort, its front desk staff, lack of housekeeping, poor service at their Bella Vita Restaurant, and more, on tripadvisor.com, I was very hesitant to keep our reservations 10/20 - 22. One of the many repeated complaints that bothered me most were the many guests that said they booked directly through Samoset reservations one type of room and paid for that particular room type, but upon check-in they were downgraded, as they said they were told resort was oversold / overbooked.

Pleasantly surprised with just about everything regarding our stay @ The Samoset EXCEPT never receiving the courtesy of a reply to my email sent directly to The Samoset, requesting a response back in time to cancel our reservations if decided to. Lack of response set the expectations low. Against my better judgment at the time, decided to keep our confirmed reservations, and much to my surprise, glad we did so.

Front desk staff were all professional, pleasant, helpful, and treated us very nicely throughout our stay. Also received some great recommendations for a place for breakfast and dinner from front desk personnel. We checked into our deluxe king, waterview, rooms that we had booked and they even honored our request for 2 rooms close to each other. Bathrooms had recently been updated and were beautifully done - great huge separate shower. Only item missing was a night light. Views of the golf course and the water were spectacular. Comfy beds and lovely linens. Found the common areas, as well as, the guest rooms to be very clean, and housekeeping worked hard and long to keep everything in good order. The lobby areas were decorated tastefully with beautifully carved pumpkins (done by head chef) and lots of fall decor.

Had a fabulous dinner at Bella Vita Restaurant on the property and everything including the food, ambience, and service. were outstanding. So much so, tried breakfast there also before checking out and found the same to be true.

All in all - very relaxing resort especially off-season - in very convenient location near to Camden and Rockland. Every person on their staff we came in contact with - professional, friendly, most accommodating, and eager to please. Suggest splurging for larger, waterview, room, as well worth the difference. We were lucky enough to take advantage of special Maine Resident rates, which were a definite bargain. Many more special rates to come, I suspect, as this will be the 1st year in past 4 that resort will stay open all year round.

Room Tip: Waterview, larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssilcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    280
    93
    29
    23
See reviews for
427
549
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel looks like a motel on stilts. Very ordinary exterior - that provides an overwhelming number of rooms with wonderful views of the ocean. Just off one side of the resort is wonderful breakwater that provides a one mile walk out to a lighthouse. An amazing experience on a nice day. Room decor was clunky - a little outdated- but very clean and comfortable With an amazing view of the sea.. Had dinner in the restaurant - it was extremely good. A nice feature after a day of traveling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our yearly trip to Maine would not be complete with out a stay at Samoset. It was a pleasure to be greeted this year by a wonderful employee named Faith. A warm, friendly, and sincere greeting set the tone for a great stay. Faith welcomed us back and went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was special. Thank you Faith and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Bill & Kristi Lewis
Colorado

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swingtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Swingtime,

Many thanks for another successful visit to The Samoset, we appreciate being part of your Maine vacations.

Our team looks forward to positive feedback such as yours, and Faith is no exception. It is great to hear Faith made such a positive influence on your stay and executed her usual exemplary customer service.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Maine.

Sincerely,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here as a family group, which included a one year old. He actually slept through the night here!! The views of the ocean were wonderful. The onsite restaurant was very chic and the food was great. You are a little secluded here, but town is a short drive away. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Beautiful views from course. Pools were also very nice. Would have like to visit here in summer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Altrose,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset for a fun family getaway.

We are pleased to hear everyone had a restful stay, and enjoyed the accommodations and views.

We are also delighted you enjoyed our restaurant La Bella Vita, and it’s modern décor.

We look forward to hosting you again in the summer when the entire family can play in the zero entry outdoor pool and take advantage of our full service restaurant and Splash bar.

Sincerely,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a large resort with gorgeous views. The breakfast in room dining was delicious and the spa was everything you would want it to be. The staff makes you feel that you are important to them and the rooms have been updated nicely.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
JJWin,

Thank you for your visit to The Samoset, and great feedback.

We hope you had your in room breakfast while relaxing and enjoying the sweeping ocean views from your guestroom.

Our staff takes great pride in executing our Standards of Excellence, and is excited to hear they made you feel welcome and important.

We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Maine.

Sincerely,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nicely updated in the past year, the restaurants are excellent. A spa has also been created for all those essential relaxation therapies. Beautifully landscaped surrounded by their golf course and with great ocean views. The outdoor pool is a delight and there are very good gym facilities to work off all the excess energy and calories. Sunday brunch is recommended with a large choice of breakfast through dinner items and lovely desserts. Lobster rolls are available all day in the restaurants. Lobster bake is great.

Although busy with conferences it was never crowded. The staff are extremely responsive. A great base to explore the surrounding area by car including Bar Harbor, Camden Hills, the fall foliage and Freeport

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourCruiseAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
YourCruiseAdvisor,

Many thanks for your recent visit to the Samoset. We appreciate you noticing all of the fantastic changes we have made.

We are pleased you enjoyed our esteemed Sunday brunch and its endless options as much as we do, and hope you join us again to dine and enjoy the sweeping ocean views.

It is great to hear you were able to enjoy our property including our state of the art health club.

We look forward to hosting you for another successful trip.

Sincerely,


Cornelius J. Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

After hearing many wonderful things about Samoset, my husband and I traveled there for a week away. From the moment we pulled up we were impressed. Our trip was delayed and we arrived around 1:00am. We never felt like we were putting anyone out by arriving at that hour and we even received a personal escort to our room just to ensure we didn't get lost. The room was spotless and well appointed. The best surprise came in the morning when the sun was up…what a beautiful view. Samoset is the perfect location to unwind from a hectic life and to just regroup.

Because it was October we did not use the outdoor pool but if it were warm enough we would have been in it everyday. You can literally float in the pool and stare out at the ocean. In addition, because of the time of year, we did not see any children but it appeared that there was a conference going on during our stay. The resort is big enough and situated in such a way that you never felt that "conference" feel.

If you are able to make the walk you should take the stroll out to Breakwater Lighthouse. It is not a difficult walk but for anyone with a mobility issue they should avoid it. The walk is just shy of 1 mile in each directions and there are spots where there a cracks so watching your footing is critical. For anyone who should make the trek it is worth the trip. We went out on a cool breezy morning and it was terrific. Along the walk you can see the lobster traps from the local fisherman, many birds and of course, an amazing view of the landscape. Keep in mind that until you reach the lighthouse there are no seats or restrooms so factor that into your walk.

I highly recommend a visit to the bar at the restaurant on property. While it was a little on the pricey side, the food was worth it. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers and the food was delicious. There are many local restaurants in the area that are definitely worth venturing out and finding. We enjoyed dinner at Rustica Cucina in Rockport and can't wait to go back.

Thanks Samoset for a much needed relaxing week!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingLion08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
RoamingLion08,

Thank you for visiting The Samoset this fall.

It is great you were able to relax and truly enjoy your vacation. Our Enoteca lounge has become
a guest favorite for reasons similar to what you mentioned, including our delicious wood fire pizza.

Many guests enjoy the walk to the Breakwater Lighthouse as it is conveniently situated along the edge of our property and provides some of the best views in Maine.

We hope during your next visit you will be able to use the Zero Entry Outdoor Pool or our indoor pool and hot tub.

We look forward to hosting again in beautiful Rockport Maine.

Sincerely,

Cornelius Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Property: Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing