We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you ever wanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

If you are looking for the perfect vacation, please book time at the Samoset Resort on the Ocean. It has everything you have ever wanted on a vacation. The resort is beautiful and on the Ocean. It has a wonderful golf course and the facility is maintained beautifully. It has a wonderful health club, pool. steam room and a pool. They are renovating the restaurant, but offered wonderful food at the golf course. The service is #1 and every employee is wonderful and hospitable. One of the best vacation my wife and I have taken.

Room Tip: Every room there is BEST. You do not have to ask.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsquare045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCo4886, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you very much for your spring visit with us, and for your compliments regarding our facility and staff. Your choice to vacation at the Samoset means a lot to us.

The Clubhouse Grille is still open for lunch with our new full service restaurant, La Bella Vita and Enoteca Lounge, now open in the main building.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future, so that you may enjoy our new amenities. Thank you again for your business and kind words.

Best regards,

Cornelius J. Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for Samoset Resort On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

Beautiful place! Let me start by saying I was very happy with the service at the resort. The hours they kept facilities open and the parking situation due to the number of people staying was rough. Only other complaint was it was very easy to hear through the walls so when someone was talking or on the phone you had to turn the tv on to drown out the sound. I purposely arrived a day earlier than I was supposed to so I could get a room with a view. There was next to nobody in the whole place but did I get a good view? No. I was put on the South outdoor pool side where you can't see a thing so a little disappointed with that. In hindsight, I should have asked for a decent view. Make sure you request to be on a higher floor in the middle of the complex.

Great views of the golf course (played it and it was amazing) and the ocean from the lobby and viewing areas between the buildings. Conference facilities were somewhat dated but really nice considering the large number of people there. Take the time to walk down to the lighthouse and make the walk very interesting as there are a lot of birds and good views of Rockland. The pool and the hottub closed very early each night and those working (younger employees) in that area seemed to be bothered by questions and by anyone wanting to swim or come later than 7:30p. The front desk staff in comparison was great and VERY helpful. The steam room was nice and the locker room was better than average. Overall I give it a thumbs up and would say with some small changes it could be a super place.

Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are less than 2 hours away and are well worth the drive. Drive in from Portland airport is very easy and non-stressful. If you are looking for restaurant ideas there are many good places to eat in the general vicinity and I reviewed a number of them. Good travels!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the middle on the 3rd or 4th floors.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have been fortunate to stay several times at the Samoset through timeshare exchanges. The staff is friendly and knowledgable, the units clean and well-supplied, the golf course and surrounding grounds well-kept, the area full of options for dining, recreation, sight-seeing, shopping, and gallery hopping!
The Farnsworth Museum is a local treasure with many exhibits to see. The Owl Head Light wink at you from across the bay. Fog horns wake you to another enjoyable day on the Maine Coast!
Check out Cappy's in Camden for chowder and the Cellar Door Winery for tours and locally produced wines. Find Eric Hopkins Gallery in Rockland. Drive to the top of Mount Batty to get a good view of Camden Harbor and Curtis Light. If it's summer, buy berries or freshly caught fish along the roadside near Strawberry Hill. Walk the breakwater out to Rockland Harbor Light. Grab a cruise on a windjammer. Have breakfast at the Brown Bag in Rockland.
What's not to love about Rockland/Rockport/ Camden and the Samoset Resort?!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just one over night bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is our first visit to Samoset. Being a timeshare and resort hotel, note that I can only speak for the timeshare section.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit overlooking the ocean. The room was nicely appointed with a living area, bedroom, adequate bath and a small kitchenette with everything but an oven (a toaster oven was provided). Everything was nice, but not exactly exceptional. The king-size bed had very nice coverings, but inexpensive pillows. There is only one heating/cooling unit, which is located in the bedroom, but the control is in the living area and there is a small duct connecting the two rooms. It works well enough, just don't close the doors between the them.

Our one complaint is the amount of noise transmitted from the upstairs halls and rooms. We can hear footfalls, doors, drawers and water running which can get excessive. However, that is a good excuse to get out and explore the quaint communities of Rockland and Camden. I am hoping to post some restaurant reviews for your pleasure.

All in all, the Samoset is nice and if you were able to secure an upper floor room, you would probably have an incredibly restful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowellandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed at one of the time-share condos recently. We weren't surprised to find the golf course closed in February but we were a little dismayed that the restaurant and lounge weren't open. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area, as well as convenient grocery stores, so we didn't go hungry. It was quite stormy for most of our stay, so it would have been nice to not have to drive to eat. Other than that, the room was immaculate when we checked in; an outstanding view of the ocean, comfortable seating, pretty furnishings, a well-equipped partial kitchen, and ample storage. The health club was open during our stay and had plenty of modern equipment and a very clean locker room. We would recommend to everyone and we're planning to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This resort has a uniquely gorgeous setting on the ocean, and the lobby is stunning. We've hosted events here many times over the years - service in general is good, though they do get overwhelmed sometimes by the crush of guests coming and going to events. Very helpful, friendly staff and lovely meeting rooms, some that overlook the ocean. The lobster rolls and salads in the restaurant are excellent, as is the morning breakfast and Sunday buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineBiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked our room for three days. Check in was at three and we hoped to get in earlier but they had a business seminar and we didn't get our room until 4:00. We ended up at probably the best room in the place. The room was nothing special for the price but the view was absolutely gorgeous. Not a hyperbole! The golf was great even if the sun didn't shine all the time. The pool area was beuatiful but the weather didn't allow for us to abide. We were disapointed in the on grounds food although breakfast was good and the view couldn't be beat. We were shut out of the retauraunt for dinner due to a large influx of business travelers so we opted for the adjacent diner. Not what we had in mind. Over all the visit was great and I would book it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatshisnameToledoOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
1.7 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
220 reviews
6.4 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoset Resort On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range: $197 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing